User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 11 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    0
    Point n' Click adventure games have been my thing since I started using computers. My very first was Monkey Island, back when DOS was an operating system and Windows 3.1 was the next big thing. I've played classics like The Dig, all of the Monkey Island series, Sam n' Max classics, some of the Leisure Suit Larry classics, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis. Modern ones like Gemini Rue and Yahtzee's Trilby/5 Days a Stranger series. To put it simply, I know Point n' Clicks. To put it simply, Yesterday was a waste of time. I was wary of Pendulo for some reason, and now I know why. The game is entirely too short, the plot and the way it progresses is ridiculously fast and feels contrived. I literally felt like I missed the first half of the game and felt no emotional connection to any of the characters. There was a little bit of reasonable humor, but it was brief and overshadowed by both the dark story and the overfast pacing of the game. INCREDIBLY overpriced, not even getting started on that. Pass this up and go play a classic, like Day of the Tentacle - now there's a real gem of point n' clicks. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2012
    3
    Pendulo should take one more year to develop this game, maybe the story is good, but the game is too damn short. The music and the dubbing are for the most part nonexistent. There are so many bug on the subtitles ( for a point & click it's just a joke ). If u ( like me ) love all the pendulo's game, avoid this one !
  3. Jul 19, 2014
    0
    I love Pendulo Studios for making Runaway 3: A Twist of Fate and The Next Big Thing, they are absolutely great games, but Yesterday is a bitter disappointment. I really don't know what they were thinking when they made this, usually Pendulo games are joyful and charming games with funny characters that are really lovable but in this game they are trying to be gloomy and serious and it's just not their style. The story is weak and way too short to get into. The characters in this game are all boring and weak, especially the dialogs and all the endings are completely awful and short and I really dislike the comic style they have chosen for this game. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    2
    It is unreal how short this game is. I have played previous Pendulo games and generally enjoyed them, not sure what they were going for here.

    The story itself is mildly interesting but lack any real direction. There is too much bouncing around or at least bouncing around in a way you don't get until the end. There is also too much hand holding. This is one of the first adventure games
    that basically gives away the clues to every puzzle. Extremely disappointed. High points were graphics and voice acting. Lowe points, playing the "game". Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    55
    You have to admire Pendulo Studios for surviving 18 years by making adventure gamers, but Yesterday is a truly lackluster example of the genre. The writing is consistently awful and the puzzles are annoying and illogical. [June 2012]
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    52
    Unluckily, it costs 20 quid, which is significantly more than it's worth. [July 2012, p.99]
  3. May 16, 2012
    70
    The first gaming slap in the face of the year. Expectations grew as we learned news during its development as well as the early gaming experience. Alas, we are let down by a very low difficulty level, a very short gaming duration as well as bad story narration. All the major plot elements are revealed too soon, the game rushes to its finale and we are not met with the anticipated climax. [May 2012]