You Are Empty PC

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 64
  2. Negative: 23 out of 64
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Warmonger
    Nov 20, 2007
    6
    I can understand all the negative reviews but you know what? I've seen worse! This game actually has a creepy atmosphere and music that sort of sucks you in (love the cinematics)... no the graphics are not spectacular and the game does have it's flaws but in all fairness.....it's not as bad as everyone makes it out to be!
  2. ReviewedMan
    Dec 4, 2007
    0
    Con: Awful quality, gamplay, repetitieve, doesn't scare, not worth the money, poor plot, glitches, buggy, busted, broken, and downright awful Pro: No one is making u by the game.
  3. MakoI.
    Nov 30, 2007
    8
    You are Empty is a generic first person shooter. You shoot bad guys, clear a room, and repeat, until you have found the exit. But this game is still pretty fun. The weapons are all pretty neat, like the nail gun, electric shock cannon, and that submachine gus with a drum mag. The enemies are pretty diverse and interesting, like this half human half helicoptor guy who flys into the air and You are Empty is a generic first person shooter. You shoot bad guys, clear a room, and repeat, until you have found the exit. But this game is still pretty fun. The weapons are all pretty neat, like the nail gun, electric shock cannon, and that submachine gus with a drum mag. The enemies are pretty diverse and interesting, like this half human half helicoptor guy who flys into the air and tries to spot weld you. Also there is leaning, if that helps. Just don't expect half-life2. Expand
  4. PL
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    Great level design, great gloomy atmosphere, great soundtrack, very arty and very well done movies in between levels. Game mechanics are a bit clunky but this is not really annoying. Enemies are also anything but smart but they're definitely fun. Though primitive in it's game design (shoot everything that comes in your way), this game somehow manages to be addictive, mainlyGreat level design, great gloomy atmosphere, great soundtrack, very arty and very well done movies in between levels. Game mechanics are a bit clunky but this is not really annoying. Enemies are also anything but smart but they're definitely fun. Though primitive in it's game design (shoot everything that comes in your way), this game somehow manages to be addictive, mainly because of the gloomy stalinist-totalitarian atmosphere. Expand
  5. TheDecider
    Nov 2, 2007
    3
    I don't know what Mariusz is on about, but this game is horrendous, regardless of setting and timeframe.
  6. Valyo
    Nov 10, 2007
    1
    It's a waste of time.
  7. AlexM.
    Nov 10, 2007
    1
    One of the worst games I have ever played. All enemies are stupid, lame, and all look the same. NO real plot, graphics are horrible (except for the cinematics) AVOID at all costs!
  8. MariuszO.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    The atmosphere of this game .. I know that technical level is at bad level. Lot's of mistakes and bad model of movement. But the feeling of Russia in early 60's, the wind of Stalin's secret services. The movies during breakes are a good idea. Soc-realism.
  9. Jul 30, 2012
    4
    You are empty is without a doubt a below average fps.The gameplay feels clunky, the AI is kind of bad, the weapon and enemy variety is kind of lacking and the game is visually outdated. But the game does have atmosphere. And the atmosphere was so thick is some areas that i forgot its shortcomings. The game has flaws, plenty of them. But for those who can see past those flaws, there is aYou are empty is without a doubt a below average fps.The gameplay feels clunky, the AI is kind of bad, the weapon and enemy variety is kind of lacking and the game is visually outdated. But the game does have atmosphere. And the atmosphere was so thick is some areas that i forgot its shortcomings. The game has flaws, plenty of them. But for those who can see past those flaws, there is a quite alright game somewhere in You are empty. Expand
  10. Oct 2, 2012
    7
    Not a bad game. It definetly didnt deserved such a low score. It is a fun game. This is a typical fps game where you shoot everything that moves and in your entire playthrough you will encounter only 3 friendly NPC`s ( the voice acting is terrible ). You basically go from room to room killing badguys and collecting healthpotions, ammo and keys to unlock locked doors so that you can proccedNot a bad game. It definetly didnt deserved such a low score. It is a fun game. This is a typical fps game where you shoot everything that moves and in your entire playthrough you will encounter only 3 friendly NPC`s ( the voice acting is terrible ). You basically go from room to room killing badguys and collecting healthpotions, ammo and keys to unlock locked doors so that you can procced to the next level. The enviorments are awesome. You visit a hospital, a farm, metro station, an old spooky town and so on. The level of detail of these enviroments is amazing. The graphics are average. The story was good too but the translation from russian in english is pretty bad so you wont understand the whole plot but that doesnt matter because this game is all about shooting, exploring and enjoying the great and bizzare enviroments. You should try the game it isnt that bad as the reviewers say. It has average graphics, not so many weapons, dumb AI , no multiplayer and a slow paced gameplay but I enjoyed it. Expand
  11. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    I like this game, it's more of a "indie" horror game, with a touch of a mindless person.
    The thing that makes me like it is perhaps that i'm mad or just the loneliness feeling I don't know, I just fancy this game alot so I bought it for 99 Kr.
  12. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    It's not that bad. It was quite a weird game. If it hadn't exaggerated with some parts, like the huge chickens, it would have been better.

    The story was ok. Fighting your way through was kinda repetitive, but scenery made you ignore that. The ending was interesting, too. Some levels were really hard. I got lost in the tunnels of the metro level. Technically, it isn't
    It's not that bad. It was quite a weird game. If it hadn't exaggerated with some parts, like the huge chickens, it would have been better.

    The story was ok. Fighting your way through was kinda repetitive, but scenery made you ignore that.

    The ending was interesting, too.

    Some levels were really hard. I got lost in the tunnels of the metro level.

    Technically, it isn't mind-blowing, but I am a guy which likes the story most than the gameplay or any other features.

    Indeed, the dark atmosphere, the random notes about the event, all these helped the story.

    Overall, it was a strange experience.
    Expand
  13. Jul 13, 2011
    7
    The game is pretty good but I'm having graphic issues running it on a new system with 11.6 drivers. It says to install the ones on the disk but uh, I don't think my card came out in 2007 (4890)
  14. Nov 18, 2012
    1
    Imagine a game where you mix the "shoot hordes of mindless enemies" gameplay of Serious Sam and Painkiller with a movement speed that makes Condemned feel fast paced. Imagine a game where the loading screens promise far greater graphical fidelity than the engine provides because at some point, the developers disabled the HDR, Shaders, and Normal Mapping and broke their functionalityImagine a game where you mix the "shoot hordes of mindless enemies" gameplay of Serious Sam and Painkiller with a movement speed that makes Condemned feel fast paced. Imagine a game where the loading screens promise far greater graphical fidelity than the engine provides because at some point, the developers disabled the HDR, Shaders, and Normal Mapping and broke their functionality entirely. Imagine a game where more effort was put into "arthouse nonsense" cutscenes that fail to make any reasonable amount of sense than was put into the game. Imagine a game where the only remotely interesting components are the run-down Soviet-era locales, existence of a nice, if unrealistic, physics engine, and the fact that the menu UI looks like it was stolen directly from the (exponentially better) first entry in the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. series. Imagine a game where you're more likely to fall asleep while playing than to finish it. This is that game. Expand
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 12 out of 14
  1. The glass isn't 'half empty,' it isn't even 'not full.' It's a soundless, hateful asphyxiating void. [Oct 2007, p.74]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    36
    Why am I empty, then? Perhaps because this crass, banal, unchallenging belch of a first person shooter has left me that way, groaning and giggling like a mental patient. [Nov 2007, p.72]
  3. 40
    Unfortunately, the graphics just aren't up to snuff, the character models, aside from being horrendous, repeat often and your character moves with all the zip of a drugged elephant.