You Don't Know Jack (2011) PC

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
Buy On
  1. Feb 16, 2011
    84
    The essence of You Don't Know Jack is playing with friends, having fun, and getting a good laugh. The little changes of gameplay in comparison to other entries, especially the ability to allow everyone to answer a question, make for a better experience.
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    80
    You Don't Know Jack is proof that games don't need to be excessively complex in order to be fun.
  3. Feb 9, 2011
    70
    Though it has some shortcomings, You Don't Know Jack does deliver on quantity and quality for a reasonable $19.99, making it very appealing for those who like to test their knowledge and have a few laughs while they're at it.
  4. PC Gamer
    Mar 24, 2011
    61
    This version is fine for a single-player quiz, but it's no party. [April 2011, p.75]
  5. Feb 11, 2011
    60
    The episode setup makes each show feel fleshed out and interesting, the way questions are phrased keeps you on your toes, and the content is really well-written. The trouble is that the PC version is such a lonely endeavor. I want to play with a lot of players; the limited local co-op and lack of online functionality make that impossible.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. C_J
    May 5, 2011
    3
    By including only 2-player support for the PC version along with zero DLC and - to a lesser extent (because it's not as good as having matesBy including only 2-player support for the PC version along with zero DLC and - to a lesser extent (because it's not as good as having mates playing together in the same room), no on-line play, Jellyvision pretty much alienated a huge number of their existing fans. ~~~

    I UNDERSTAND that the adjusted format makes it tough to fit everyone around a single keyboard - but there are NUMEROUS solutions that would have been really easy to implement. Let us plug in gamepads! Or let us customize the keys! Jeez, for a fraction of the cost of the game, we could buy a second keyboard and have them both plugged in simultaneously. All of the above would have been really easy to add, so their absence just comes across as complete contempt for their PC customers. ~~~

    As a person who's happily purchased 7 or 8 YDKJ titles in the past, I'm sadly passing this one by. I haven't given this the lowest rating possible because the quality of the content seems to be a good return to form - but I do hope that a revised edition some day gets released for PC - one which I'll once again happily buy. Until then, there are plenty of other titles that I'll be buying instead (and I'll potter about on YDKJ: The Ride, if the urge really takes me). ~~~

    It's been said by others - and now it'll be repeated by me: a party game for just two players is no party.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    1
    Awful. This game takes the worst of previous JDKJ games and makes them worse. There is a 2 player limit. That means this is no longer a partyAwful. This game takes the worst of previous JDKJ games and makes them worse. There is a 2 player limit. That means this is no longer a party game, it's more like a game that you play when you're alone or bored and have only 1 friend.

    The inter-question cutscenes are painfully long, repetitive and unskippable. Often both players will know the answer before the announcer has finished reading the question and be madly hammering their buzzers because you can't buzz in until the question has finished being read.

    The questions are easy. Anyone with a college education should have no trouble getting at least 3/4 of them correct. I'm no trivia buff, but this really does seem to only try to appeal to the lowest denominator of person. If you like interesting factoids, TV Game shows like Jeopardy! provide much more interesting content. Previous games at least let you choose each question from a list of topics.

    There are 73 "episodes", each with 10 questions. Many of the achievements rely on you completing at least half of these. If you want a sense of accomplishment, prepare to spend some hard time working on to get these.

    Overall, if you want a fun trivia/party game, don't get this. Get one of the older YDKJ games.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 15, 2013
    6
    To start off this review, I'm going to address the elephant in the room that the PC version of this edition of YDKJ has: that's right, theTo start off this review, I'm going to address the elephant in the room that the PC version of this edition of YDKJ has: that's right, the limitations in multiplayer and the lack of DLC support (not helped by the tweets I've read about). Yes, this is precisely the reason I'm not giving this game any higher than a 7. It's been two years since this game came out, THQ is dead and Jellyvision went on make a Facebook app for this game, so there's no chance of this getting an update, or at least not much of one, sadly.

    Okay, with that out of the way, it still can be pretty enjoyable, although I've heard that the older versions are particularly better, and I have seen gameplay footage of the older versions (and I personally hope to get them at some point in time). At 73 "episodes" lasting around 10-12 minutes each, there are plenty of questions to get to every now and then alone or with a friend, and there's still some good humor although some jokes can fall flat, but based upon what I've seen of the older games, it felt more simplified.

    To anyone at Jellyvision, at a quite unlikely event that you'll come across this review, and if you are contemplating another retail release, all I ask is that the PC version of that next edition at least include online multiplayer, support for controllers/additional keyboards and DLC support. Not saying it should be superior to a console version in any way, but I'd really appreciate it if PC ports are not watered down.
    Full Review »