Ys Origin Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ys Origin is a game that takes place 700 years before the events of Ys I & II.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    85
    Outside of hating action RPGs or not having $20, I can't think of another reason to pass on this game.
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    It's not perfect and certainly has its share of hiccups, but if you go in expecting to tear up some mean guys and rock out to some great music, you'll definitely be happy. And with a $20 price tag, you really can't go wrong.
  3. Jun 11, 2012
    80
    Ys Origin is a very tightly crafted experience. Considering that a single playthrough with one character will only take about six to seven hours, it's amazing how much story is packed into that amount of time.
  4. Jul 10, 2012
    80
    Between the two Ys games released on Steam this year, I feel that Ys Origin is just that bit better than Ys: The Oath in Felghana. Both are great titles, but Origin builds on the formula with a solid, constructed experience from start to finish that never gets stale, great pacing, multiple and distinctive characters and a fast, in your face combat system. For £12.99 on Steam, you seriously cannot go wrong with checking out this top action RPG.
  5. Aug 12, 2012
    71
    A cute, quirky anime dungeon crawl that will cheerfully kick your arse until your nose starts bleeding. [Sept 2012, p.84]
  6. 70
    We are deep in fan-service-territory with this one. (…) Y´s Origin is a small nerdy pleasure for everyone who misses the 16-/32-bit era, but does not want to resort to going completely retro.
  7. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    Six years after Ys Origin was published in Japan we can finally enjoy it in English. It's not beautiful, it doesn't sound good and doesn't offer an exquisite story. What it does offer is tons of fun. [August 2012, p.63]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    I noticed not many people are capable of writing a proper review, so I had to chime in. Ys Origin is NOT a console experience. Ys Origin is aI noticed not many people are capable of writing a proper review, so I had to chime in. Ys Origin is NOT a console experience. Ys Origin is a PC exclusive. Although Falcom has recently turned to the psp and vita after they lost their PC distributor, they developed almost exclusively PC since the early 80s. The Zelda feeling people are getting should be flipped: the Ys series, which branched off from Dragonslayer, began in 1987. The first LoZ was released in 1986. Dragonslayer began in 1984. The modern day Zelda experience is absolutely nothing like Ys, and serves as a horrible comparison. Ys is traditionally known for its music and difficult boss fights. The composers are from the jdk sound team, which is the remnants of the jdk band from the early 90s. Their primary genre was metal. The boss fights and general gameplay is often cited as using button mashing. Unless you want to die every time, you won't use button mashing. Most boss fights have patterns and tiers, so you can't just inflict massive amounts of damage all at once. Many people also tend to think the gameplay requires grinding. Since levels only affect your base stats, this statement is false. The stages within boss fights do not allow you to do any more than a set amount of damage, so all grinding helps you with is staying alive longer if you get hit a lot. In short, grinding is only necessary if you're bad.

    A single playthrough on Nightmare takes about 30 hours the first time through. There are 3 playable characters with different stories and boss fights, so a full, 100% completion of the story could take you 70 or 80 hours to complete. There is also a time attack mode for boss fights, which helps to add a bit more replay ability to the game. For $20, this is a great game that everyone should consider trying.
    Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    One of the best dynamic action RPG imo. My personal GotY 2012
    Thanks Falcom & Xseed for the Steam portage. Old school RPG, with cool manga
    One of the best dynamic action RPG imo. My personal GotY 2012
    Thanks Falcom & Xseed for the Steam portage. Old school RPG, with cool manga style characters, superb OST, THE BEST vilain introduction music.
    Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Let me start by saying, I am not a long term Ys fan. How could I be? Ys was criminally neglected back when I was a kid, I never had aLet me start by saying, I am not a long term Ys fan. How could I be? Ys was criminally neglected back when I was a kid, I never had a Turbografx and therefore never got to experience it. Years later, with the internet I was able to learn about this series. I love it. Both the classic games and the newer ones. Let me explain why this game almost objectively deserves a 10. First, you need to play on nightmare. Nightmare should actually be the normal mode, as it's not actually that hard at all. All enemies are unique, and all have different attacks and patterns, which on nightmare, you will have to put effort into dodging. The bosses are guaranteed to kill you multiple times, and require you to learn their patterns and practice, which are exactly how bosses should be. You will have grind, but you'll have to do very little of it, even on nightmare. In fact, just by exploring you should be fine to face the bosses. If you realize you're too weak, do 5 minutes worth of grinding and you'll be good. On lower difficulties, which were probably used to review the game, Ys: Origin probably came off as not much more than a button masher where you can safely tank everything with little worries. The gameplay is almost perfect, and is extremely elegant in its simplicity. The graphics are great, 2D sprites on a 3D polygonal environment. The artwork is all top notch, with the women not being sexualized (which is a good thing, trust me). There's some really nice areas in the game, especially the water sections. The game has really low spec requirements, and it's a steal at $15, let alone $7.49 when it's on sale. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    Great Game for 20 bux well worth it. Play it on hard for extra fun. Can't give a 10 cuz its not perfect something's missing. but damn close toGreat Game for 20 bux well worth it. Play it on hard for extra fun. Can't give a 10 cuz its not perfect something's missing. but damn close to it for an indie game. Great boss fights. Fun game mechanics. Haven't beaten yet about 3/4 of the way up the tower with both the beginning characters (i know waiting on Claw, too). This game is like Zelda meets Castlevania ( GBA and DS) with Megaman X music (which is awesome). Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2014
    9
    This game or "Oath in Felghana" is a good introduction to the Ys series for new players. I absolutely loved it. The challenge is high inThis game or "Oath in Felghana" is a good introduction to the Ys series for new players. I absolutely loved it. The challenge is high in this one, though slightly easier than Felghana on nightmare. Any fan of ARPGs should check this out. There is a high replay value as there are three different character story lines to follow. The boss fight mechanics are outstanding and vary between difficulties AND characters...not just in hit points, but tactics required. The Ys series is underrated IMO and deserves more recognition. Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    This is a fun, neatly-made little ARPG with combat that requires more than repeatedly hitting the attack button. Use of a gamepad isThis is a fun, neatly-made little ARPG with combat that requires more than repeatedly hitting the attack button. Use of a gamepad is preferred. I picked it up during a Steam Sale and am very satisfied with the purchase.

    It’s a dungeon crawler (or in this case: climber) that manages to keep things fresh enough so that it doesn’t get boring. It also has some very entertaining boss fights. The graphics will remind you of a few old SNES games, but despite that are very sharp and hi-res. Environments & visual effects are also very nice and there are a few anime cutscenes thrown in for good measure.

    The weakest part is the story, which is a bit blah. Not as bad as other JRPGs I’ve played, but still has that overall unserious feel (e.g. demons are taking over the world and only the axe-wielding, 12 year old girl with the oven mitts can save us) as well as the sometimes spotty dialogue. Additionally, you can play through the game as three different characters, but your experience will be pretty much the same each time aside from different attack methods, so there isn’t much reason to.

    From a pure gaming standpoint, though, this one’s worth at least one playthrough.
    Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Finally a YS game I actually liked and they had to f*** it up. The game was a very enjoyable mix of rpg and platforming until I reached THE F****** CREEPER BOSS. NOT ONLY DID THEY MAKE ALL OF HIS ATTACKS COVER THE ENTIRE AREA BUT THEY MADE THOSE F****** EYES KEEP MULTIPLYING AND HEALING HIM. THERE IS NO WAY IN HELL I CAN KILL THEM ALL AND KILL THE THING BEFORE I DIE. I'm sure some hardcore freaks like that kind of thing but I'm not one of them. Oh and the game has a tendency to crash occasionally as well. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews