Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 6 out of 10
  1. May 3, 2013
    85
    It aims for fun, and it sure achieves it. There are lots of new features on PC, so those who missed it first appearance should go and check it out.
  2. May 7, 2013
    82
    Take a very good old school 2D platform and make an overhaul in the parts where it needs. The result? An even better game, that's Zack Zero in this PC version, whose gameplay and graphics feel and look better with the new improvements. One of the best indie platformers of 2012, this made in Spain Zack Zero is still too short, but a game all 2D platformer lovers should not miss on Steam.
  3. May 9, 2013
    81
    A great homage to the classics platforms games visually stunning, challenging and very funny. It's not perfect, but is a great opportunity to revive the typically adventures from the past.
  4. May 9, 2013
    65
    Zack Zero is a decent game with some technical and design issues. I love what the team is attempting to do here, and perhaps with time they will perfect it. If anyone enjoys the style of game, there is a solid experience beneath the rough exterior, albeit a little short. For $10 it is hard not to recommend, as long as you know what you are getting into.
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    45
    It’s not a new Rayman or even half of Ratchet & Clank. Kids should not burst our crying if you give them Zack Zero to play but why would you do that if there is plenty of other, better platformers? [CD-Action 08/2013, p.85]
  6. May 3, 2013
    43
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    40
    Overall, this is a good attempt on the part of Crocodile. Unfortunately, the combination of frustratingly hard boss fights and cheap traps lets it down. I can’t help but think this would have been a great game with better execution.
  8. May 9, 2013
    40
    Zack Zero could have shot for the star of “inoffensive mediocrity” and gotten higher marks for the effort. What’s on display here, however, is the product of a game development fiasco that dragged some seemingly good people through a gauntlet of emotional and financial insanity.
  9. May 16, 2013
    35
    However, in the case of Zack Zero, rest assured, no such grace need be afforded. It is a convoluted mess, it is not fun to play most of the time, and its many sins overwhelm its scant virtues.
  10. May 6, 2013
    20
    A game this broken doesn’t warrant a playthrough of any kind and is the sort of purchase that fills one with regret instantly afterward.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. May 4, 2013
    9
    Zack Zero brings back the magic of old school retro classic platform games I have always loved. Glad to see there is still developers and gamers that really care about this game genre. The game is utterly brilliant and visually gorgeous. Game-play wise is carefully crafted and balanced, nice controls puzzles and thrilling combat. If you enjoy platform games Zack Zero wont disappoint you, it will amaze you!! Hat off to Crocodile guys! So now just go and get it! Full Review »
  2. May 4, 2013
    9
    I'm always searching on Steam for this kind of games, I love the platformers. Some months ago I got Gianna Sisters and had fun with it, a good platformer. And now Zack Zero appears, got it in the launch sale and it's great! It reminds me that old Sega Genesis platformers: Aladdin, Hercules... Great visuals, nice control and charming music. Full Review »
  3. May 4, 2013
    8
    Plays reminiscent of oldschool 16-bit sidescrolling platformers. While it doesn't make much of an attempt to innovate the genre, the game has solid gameplay. Clearly one of the best platformer choices one can make nowadays. Highly recommended game. Full Review »