Zeno Clash II PC

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 124
  2. Negative: 23 out of 124

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    7
    Zeno Clash II does everything the developers want it to do and everything they wanted to do with it's predecessor, but at the cost of quality and the player's sense of connection with the world. That aside, it has a unique concept and is overall a decent brawler, but those who have not played the first game will find themselves lost within the bizarreness of the world and the motives ofZeno Clash II does everything the developers want it to do and everything they wanted to do with it's predecessor, but at the cost of quality and the player's sense of connection with the world. That aside, it has a unique concept and is overall a decent brawler, but those who have not played the first game will find themselves lost within the bizarreness of the world and the motives of the characters. Expand
  2. May 26, 2013
    6
    This game.....it's just a major DISAPPOINTMENT...really SHALLOW....I DON'T recommend you this game except you really love their art style or this series....if you want to try the best one try the Zeno Clash 1 it 's cheaper and better
  3. AWG
    Aug 2, 2013
    6
    Mmh... what? This game is way too weird for my taste. And too frustrating. There are too many combos to learn and if you don't learn them you end up punching and punching and punching and... well you got the drift.
  4. Feb 16, 2014
    5
    This sequel ends up being pretty much the same quality as the original. There are plenty of new ideas that have been thrown into this game but all of them are poorly fleshed out or terribly implemented. They added a leveling system, but the only way to level is to find hidden totems throughout the world and you'll get a skill point. This system would have made much more sense if they gaveThis sequel ends up being pretty much the same quality as the original. There are plenty of new ideas that have been thrown into this game but all of them are poorly fleshed out or terribly implemented. They added a leveling system, but the only way to level is to find hidden totems throughout the world and you'll get a skill point. This system would have made much more sense if they gave you XP for killing an enemy, finding collectibles and maybe a big boost for finding these totems. This poor system intertwines with the terrible health system. You no longer regain health naturally, you have to get weird health-replenishing items that rarely drop from enemies but can be somewhat commonly found in random cheats placed throughout the world. Since there is absolutely no benefit to killing enemies, and you'll pretty much only lose health you won't be able to regain back by fighting them, your best bet is to just run through the level, bypassing every enemy you aren't forced to fight. The combat is more complex than it was previously, but it is also terribly clunky, slow, and unresponsive. Combos are now a big part of combat, but your character takes a second before he replies to your inputs. So, you have to input the keys you want to use first and then the character will do them a second later. But guess what, if your enemy moves away before you can input all the keys, you lose all the stamina because you missed those hits. Stamina, also a mechanic that makes absolutely no sense. You lost stamina for hitting an enemy that is blocking or missing when trying to hit an enemy. But you lose no stamina when you successfully land a punch. Hit detection is bad and the lock-on system is worse than it was previously. The game however has good textures and optimization and the same fantastic art design that was in the previous game. Also, they really made an effort to improve the story telling and you'll definitely have an idea of whats going on this time around. However, these few improvements are not enough to outweigh the drastic failure of all the new systems that have been implemented. Zeno Clash II is without a doubt worse than its predecessor. Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    Zeno Clash diverge from the prequel for some aspects, but for others it's a "more of the same". If you liked the first Zeno Clash, you'll like it: the complex fights dynamics make it one of the best melee-combat games on the market. VIRTUALINN.IT
  6. Aug 8, 2013
    0
    What am I doing? Why am I doing this? These are questions I asked myself during Zeno Clash 2. It is truly a wonderful and unique experience, and a beautiful game. I liked the combat flow but the story was very hard to follow and the game is short, length-wise (I got to 8 hours). Characters are neat and very inventive. The settings (my favorite is Rath-Bird Fields) look like Dr. SeussWhat am I doing? Why am I doing this? These are questions I asked myself during Zeno Clash 2. It is truly a wonderful and unique experience, and a beautiful game. I liked the combat flow but the story was very hard to follow and the game is short, length-wise (I got to 8 hours). Characters are neat and very inventive. The settings (my favorite is Rath-Bird Fields) look like Dr. Seuss places. Very interesting. There are guns and grenades plus a hammer to hit with. I never used the grenades. Some parts of the game are completely hard. Like I was in the End-World and I didn't know what to do at all. You have to shoot stuff at the sun, use green gas to connect orbs, light candles with moving spheres-- it's all extremely weird and hard without a Walkthrough (recommend GameSpot's). It gets pretty intense. I loved punching enemies off of cliffs and stuff. The guns are unlike the ones in a modern fps game. Pistols have no more than 12 bullets. A shotgun would surprise me if it had that much. The missions are a hit or miss. I was sometimes stuck not knowing whether to go to the cave or the End-World, canyon, or both. Some glitches here and there (I could see through protagonist's shoulder when he swung a hammer at a bird). Boss battles are a hit or miss. Sometimes very hard, sometimes easy. In the final boss battle I couldn't really tell what was going on. There are a lot of combat-combos. I can never memorize them all in games. Sometimes I just marveled at the developer's creativity. Like seriously, if there was a creativity award it would go to the Zeno Clash series. Birds hooked to a string used as beacons for fast travel? That's pretty cool. Overall an 8, this is the most amazing world I have ever experienced in a game. Collapse
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    70
    Zeno Clash II, like the original, is an interesting game. It falls slightly flat in the gameplay, but it's largely balanced by the world being so damn interesting to experience and wander around in.
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    67
    Confusing, disoriented, and with less focus on the crisp Faust ballet.
  3. 40
    A surrealistic action game is extended, with freedom of movement. However, it has lost its ability to hide the flaws. Zeno Clash II knows how to entertain, but at the same time it's terribly stupid. [Issue#231]