User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 114
  2. Negative: 19 out of 114

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Great game to blaze up to and get completely lost in. Scope is much larger than the first game. Combat can get a bit repetitive, and the game could use more combos, counters, move sets, etc, but other than that, recommended!
  2. May 2, 2013
    10
    Its got one of the most unique worlds in any media and that for me is enough to completely outweigh any flaws it has. The game is beautiful, disturbing and full of more unique content than any other game out there. I really enjoy how ACE expanded the combat. It's great.
  3. May 1, 2013
    9
    If you liked the first one, you will LOVE Zeno Clash 2. It has more of the good stuff and the less good stuff (combat) has been considerably refined, although if you didn't care about all the art and story in the first one, you probably won't find much here to like either.

    This time the world is actually open, with day/night cycle and lots of things about the nature of Zenozoik and its
    inhabitants are revealed, so if you're fan, this is going to be just as great adventure as the first one and I really wonder where ACE could go with the third one, because this level of epicness may not be sustainable, given the circumstances. Combat is no longer frustrating, but I woldn't call it great either. There are collectbles with rewards, stats to upgrade, some (very simple) puzzles to solve and more. I did encounter a few bugs, but none of them were gamebreaking. ZC2 could still use some more polish, but does not really need it. Expand
  4. May 4, 2013
    10
    I love it! If you like the first then you will love this one:D I love the openess of this one compared to zc1. Combat is improved. Devs brought a patch out for FOV as people asked within a day or 2 of launch. It's very pretty to look at and story is twisted and awesome just like the first:D If you are buying to play co-op I would wait a few days as they are bringing out a patch with some co-op fixes hopefully in the next week. I have had 3 very small problems in co-op but since they do not happen constantly I don't have much of an issue playing co-op right now but some people are a little more fussy. Possibly a syncing issue more than bugs?

    Don't let this one pass you by if you like weird and wonderful games it is worth every penny:D
    Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    Warning: this is not a game for everyone. This is the most against the grain indie title I've played to date, with an incredibly distinct and weird (yet wonderfully surreal) art style. It's combat is still a wee bit floaty, but is vastly improved over the original. The world is left open for you to explore this time around, meeting all kinds of weird characters while completing strange side quests. All of it is incredibly endearing though, no matter how strange it gets. If you're looking for something wildly different from the same old same old, look no further than Zeno Clash 2. While it's not a masterpiece, it's hardly forgettable and will be one of the most loved indie series' in my mind simply because it dares to be completely different from anything else, and it (most of the time) succeeds! Expand
  6. May 2, 2013
    3
    I had no idea how to review this game. It's not fair to give it a zero, because it seems like it would be fun if I could play it. The fact is that I can't play it for more than half an hour without feeling extremely sick. The FoV in this game is so extremely low in combat that it makes me dizzy. I don't know what the actual FoV number is, but if I were to guess I'd say 50-60. I can play comfortably on 90+ but prefer 100+. 50-60 IS CRAZY. I would not recommend this game unless they put an FoV slider in. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2014
    5
    This sequel ends up being pretty much the same quality as the original. There are plenty of new ideas that have been thrown into this game but all of them are poorly fleshed out or terribly implemented. They added a leveling system, but the only way to level is to find hidden totems throughout the world and you'll get a skill point. This system would have made much more sense if they gave you XP for killing an enemy, finding collectibles and maybe a big boost for finding these totems. This poor system intertwines with the terrible health system. You no longer regain health naturally, you have to get weird health-replenishing items that rarely drop from enemies but can be somewhat commonly found in random cheats placed throughout the world. Since there is absolutely no benefit to killing enemies, and you'll pretty much only lose health you won't be able to regain back by fighting them, your best bet is to just run through the level, bypassing every enemy you aren't forced to fight. The combat is more complex than it was previously, but it is also terribly clunky, slow, and unresponsive. Combos are now a big part of combat, but your character takes a second before he replies to your inputs. So, you have to input the keys you want to use first and then the character will do them a second later. But guess what, if your enemy moves away before you can input all the keys, you lose all the stamina because you missed those hits. Stamina, also a mechanic that makes absolutely no sense. You lost stamina for hitting an enemy that is blocking or missing when trying to hit an enemy. But you lose no stamina when you successfully land a punch. Hit detection is bad and the lock-on system is worse than it was previously. The game however has good textures and optimization and the same fantastic art design that was in the previous game. Also, they really made an effort to improve the story telling and you'll definitely have an idea of whats going on this time around. However, these few improvements are not enough to outweigh the drastic failure of all the new systems that have been implemented. Zeno Clash II is without a doubt worse than its predecessor. Expand
  8. May 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I've played in years! The game play is delicious and unique, the art is so weird and crazy it will blow your mind, and the epic story will blow whatever remains of you're mind. Oh, not to mention the amazing sound track!
  9. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Awesome game, even better since they added open world. You can tell the developers really care about the happiness of their fans, as they've systematically addressed almost every common complaint from Zeno Clash 1.
  10. Mar 17, 2014
    8
    If you liked the first one you will love this one. It's really similar but deeper and more open. The best feature in this game is its amazing unique environment and creature. The gameplay is solid, probably the best melee FPS system I experienced. The only issue would be the short campaign but the challenge mod increase the lifetime of the game. Another downer is that even it is an open world, you can't really wander around and often have to follow one track. Expand
  11. May 26, 2013
    6
    This game.....it's just a major DISAPPOINTMENT...really SHALLOW....I DON'T recommend you this game except you really love their art style or this series....if you want to try the best one try the Zeno Clash 1 it 's cheaper and better
  12. May 2, 2013
    3
    ACE Team's follow-up to their cult brawler is well-intentioned, but punches outside its weight. The game's scope is broadened in relation to the first, so progression is slightly less linear. But the gist of the game remains the same, with the player traveling between areas searching for items to collect and enemies to beat up (and occasionally shoot). The game has pacing problems and the combat feels worse than it did in the first one. The storytelling and world-building, which many consider the stronger point of the first game, are also less impressive this time around. Since this game doesn't necessarily do anything different from the first game, all the extra running space feels like it has no real purpose: If the intention was to foster exploration, it was not a huge success, as it looks considerably worse due to its larger areas, and that fact greatly undermines any sort of touristic pleasure. In addition to that, the rewards for exploration are poorly hidden, so you never really feel you found anything special, just another conspicuously placed power-up. I have a hard time recommending Zeno Clash II to anyone. I feel it is not nearly as good as its predecessor: It's ugly, clunky and unnecessary, and sure to be forgotten. Expand
  13. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    What am I doing? Why am I doing this? These are questions I asked myself during Zeno Clash 2. It is truly a wonderful and unique experience, and a beautiful game. I liked the combat flow but the story was very hard to follow and the game is short, length-wise (I got to 8 hours). Characters are neat and very inventive. The settings (my favorite is Rath-Bird Fields) look like Dr. Seuss places. Very interesting. There are guns and grenades plus a hammer to hit with. I never used the grenades. Some parts of the game are completely hard. Like I was in the End-World and I didn't know what to do at all. You have to shoot stuff at the sun, use green gas to connect orbs, light candles with moving spheres-- it's all extremely weird and hard without a Walkthrough (recommend GameSpot's). It gets pretty intense. I loved punching enemies off of cliffs and stuff. The guns are unlike the ones in a modern fps game. Pistols have no more than 12 bullets. A shotgun would surprise me if it had that much. The missions are a hit or miss. I was sometimes stuck not knowing whether to go to the cave or the End-World, canyon, or both. Some glitches here and there (I could see through protagonist's shoulder when he swung a hammer at a bird). Boss battles are a hit or miss. Sometimes very hard, sometimes easy. In the final boss battle I couldn't really tell what was going on. There are a lot of combat-combos. I can never memorize them all in games. Sometimes I just marveled at the developer's creativity. Like seriously, if there was a creativity award it would go to the Zeno Clash series. Birds hooked to a string used as beacons for fast travel? That's pretty cool. Overall an 8, this is the most amazing world I have ever experienced in a game. Expand
  14. May 1, 2013
    8
    The second game in the series, with an even better combat mechanic. This game has one of the best melee system for an fps in a game. Combat is varied, you can unleash different combos and throws to your enemies and it all feels right and not clunky like in Skyrim. The graphic is ok, though there are some parts in this game where the environment is beautiful. Storywise it continues after the first game and you have to play the first game to understand it. Voice acting ranges from ok to pretty much bad, but after a couple of hours into the game it gets better. Must be me adjusting to the crappyness. The game is open world this time around, so there's plenty of locations to visit. You have a map, but there's no mini map, it's all just layouts of which part of a large area you are in which makes navigating around to quest spots annoying. Overall it's ok. Expand
  15. May 7, 2013
    10
    a well written story. beautiful visuals, and unique game play. includes multilayer now. Music reminds me a lot of the finial fantasies before 10. This is a unique game, that improves a lot from the first one. However, it is a unique game, and i recommend demoing the first one if you are not familiar with Zeno clash, as it may be too weird for some. It includes one of the most unique game play mechanics i have ever seen, a weapon that depends on the position of the sun or the moon, meaning that this games day/night cycle is an important part of the mechanic and fighting!!! Expand
  16. May 2, 2013
    9
    The main problem with this game is that it feels like a beta. There are many glitches (most annoying being the map telling you to go to the wrong places for quests), and some sequences feel clunky, like many of the melee combos. I didn't let that get to me though. Battles are still lots of fun, and better than they were in the original(less tedious feeling). The story of Zeno Clash gets exponentially better as you progress through the game, which really helped drive me to finish the game in one sitting as I did. The open world environment isn't as open I interpreted from ACE's booth at E3. My best comparison would be that it is about as open as any of the 3D "Legend of Zelda" titles. Zeno Clash 2 has a way of fast-traveling though, so you don't have to run through half of Zenozoik just to get into town. The campaign is around 2x~ larger than the first, and paces itself just right to keep you going. The visuals are about the same quality as Skyrim, but the art style makes very beautiful levels, not as boring as Skyrim's half-forest-half-mountain environment, which barely ever changes outside. The shadows are very good and the day-night system is fun to see. Being a huge fan of Zeno Clash 1, and having waited for this game some time, I have to say I am not at all dissapointed. The developers stayed true to the original and didn't try to completely mess with the feel of the series (Portal 1 to Portal 2). I do not regret getting this game. If you liked the original, just get it now. If you're a skeptical RPGamer, buy it on sale or wait for a few bug fixes. Expand
  17. May 3, 2013
    8
    Game industry needs more games like this, especially nowodays.

    PRO: unique, interesting world with weird habitants; beautiful views of landscapes & cities and often interesting details such as furniture or ornaments; funny voices and nice music; fightings are fun sometimes

    CONTRA: some bugs; maybe boring for different kind of gamers; gameplay is pretty repeatative
  18. May 5, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to the "professional" reviews. This is a fantastic game that's only a little rough in a handful of spots. The combat is satisfying, the characters and lore of the game's universe are both substantially expanded from the first game, and co-op with a buddy makes it easy to ignore any minor (current) issues with the game.

    As always, ACE Team intends to devote months and months
    of support for the title in the form of patches AND new content down the road, all for free!

    It's despicable how publications like IGN give this a middling score and yet every rehashed COD game (w/ 6 or 7 multiplayer maps & a 5 hour singleplayer) is always guaranteed at least a 9 every year. Could it have something to do with Atlus not "buying ads" for their site and other gaming sites like it? I wouldn't doubt it one bit.
    Expand
  19. May 5, 2013
    10
    The epitome of innovation, art, and style.

    To anyone one on the fence that isn't afraid of trying something new I implore you to try out Zeno Clash. There is absolutely nothing like it. The fact that people have to reach as far as the melee in Condemned or Chronicles of Riddick to describe what kind of game it is is self-explanatory on the unique flavor the game brings. It's nothing
    like those (apart from punching) either.

    It's a shame that reviewers do not realize or emphasize on that point. Not only is it something brand new; it's done very, very well. The work presented (especially in Zeno Clash 2) seems to have more work put into it than many AAA studios are able to put in. And this is only at $20, another point reviewers seem to forget. There are hundreds of different Characters you encounter that add a spice of life and immersion. From complete and awe-inducing variation of environments to unique weapons and abilities never thought of before, it's something I wish more studios would at least take a little inspiration from.

    The lore and story are destined to be a cult classic. Zeno Clash 1 creates many questions. Zeno Clash 2 answers them and leaves more. At face value it seems to be intelligible with no depth. You need to pry it open to realize exactly how much was put into it. The dialogue (Especially among Zenozoiks) is cryptic yet simple for a reason. Many are plagued with habits, deformities, and behavior that can be understood at least on a basic level.

    Please, please, PLEASE support this kind of innovative entertainment from a company like this. It pains me to see the poor reception and likely lack of sales from them when it feels like they are focusing on the game entirely wrong. Technical aspects are talked about and quite frankly are poorly researched. Complaints of locking on, when the option to do it automatically can be turned off. The AI fits the behavior of the world. Sometimes hitting eachother to get them out of the way, but also working together enough to put up a fight. It honestly doesn't feel broken or bad as some reviews have stated. It feels real and the feedback of fighting is fantastic.

    Anyone who has capability to understand what a game is portraying and looking beyond the face-value mechanics will find this game beyond exceptional. If you're the type of gamer who simply wants to play another game to waste time and kill things, ignore story and message, and rush through things then please save it. Your criticism is drawing away from those who will have one of the best gaming experiences in a long time.
    Expand
  20. May 6, 2013
    8
    Zeno Clash 2 is a great and unique game filled with crazy looking cretures that you can punch in the face. Which is really enjoyable. The art style is awesome and creepy sometimes, its like developers were on shrooms, but it's a good thing in this case imo.

    The game got a few minuses though. Combat system is not always work the way you want it to, some moves are very hard to do, some
    are limited, tutorial could be better and the game is buggy. But im sure it will be sorted out. From what i have seen ACE team is very attentive to community and they treat players with respect. Expand
  21. May 13, 2013
    0
    This game is the worst i have ever played, don't stop to develop but such games are like useless things. Sorry for this comment but it's really true!!
  22. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    Zeno Clash 2 is a very unique and different first person fighting game with lots of areas to explore and enemies to fight. The combat is very smooth but I would have liked some more variation in weapons. And some of the puzzles can be very confusing when you first encounter them. But the art style and fighting are so good that the flaws aren't very noticeable when you are playing.
  23. AWG
    Aug 2, 2013
    6
    Mmh... what? This game is way too weird for my taste. And too frustrating. There are too many combos to learn and if you don't learn them you end up punching and punching and punching and... well you got the drift.
  24. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Better in an every way than the first game. Better interface, better controls, better fight system (it's not a clusterf*ck anymore), underpowered fire weapons (finaly!!!). The plot is more about the world which is even more amazing and surprising. Great side missions (moth collector). Much better engine than valve's, which grew old very fast.
  25. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Really unique game, and a helluva good time if you know what you're doing. It seems like a lot of "professional" critics couldn't figure out how to string along a decent combo and use the space to move around, i.e. sucked at the game and got mad, subsequently punishing the game for actually requiring a neuron or two to generate a spark by giving them an "OK" score. This game is far from OK. This game is symbolic of the unperturbed vision an artist conceives. It represents the hard work and dedication of artists trusting in the purity of that vision and following through on it.

    What you get is an incredibly fun, simple game with a decent amount of depth, and amazing ambience, all for 20 bucks. Oh and I forgot to mention, it's open world. A simple open world, but still breathtaking in places, with plenty of little nooks and crannys to hide things.

    Be warned, the game is a trip
    Expand
  26. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Outstanding visuals, strange and beautiful world, great music, well-written plot and never-getting-old face punching what else can you wish from a game of that kind? Not for those who like non-stop action, certainly, but if you like to dive into the game's atmosphere and seek something strange and unusual you will definitely love this game.
  27. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    The bizarre Story of ZC is finally continued.
    The iconic gameplay is still there, as it was in the original, fueling the whole game and making every fight feel fresh and challenging the visuals are excellent. The RPG elements feel out of place to me and I'd prefer a linear game to the open world game, although that’s a personal preference.
    Critique:
    - Sound Design was pretty bad

    -Having your allies disappear for travel sequences and magically reappear on cut scenes, was just poorly designed
    -Ambient Occlusion is under sampled and/or badly filtered, no options to change it, resulting in a lot of AO flicker here and there (PC, minor complaint)
    The first ZC was a completely new and very underrated experience. The second can’t quite live up to the original and the story is VERY hard to pick up, when you missed out on the original.
    I say:
    Play the original, and then buy this one.
    Either way, to me, this was a very good game.
    Expand
  28. Aug 7, 2013
    7
    Zeno Clash II does everything the developers want it to do and everything they wanted to do with it's predecessor, but at the cost of quality and the player's sense of connection with the world. That aside, it has a unique concept and is overall a decent brawler, but those who have not played the first game will find themselves lost within the bizarreness of the world and the motives of the characters. Expand
  29. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    Zeno Clash diverge from the prequel for some aspects, but for others it's a "more of the same". If you liked the first Zeno Clash, you'll like it: the complex fights dynamics make it one of the best melee-combat games on the market. VIRTUALINN.IT
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    70
    Zeno Clash II, like the original, is an interesting game. It falls slightly flat in the gameplay, but it's largely balanced by the world being so damn interesting to experience and wander around in.
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    67
    Confusing, disoriented, and with less focus on the crisp Faust ballet.
  3. 40
    A surrealistic action game is extended, with freedom of movement. However, it has lost its ability to hide the flaws. Zeno Clash II knows how to entertain, but at the same time it's terribly stupid. [Issue#231]