Zombie Driver PC

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 77
  2. Negative: 15 out of 77
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnS
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    The recent patch has alleviated almost all of the issues that this game had at launch, playing it with a controller is much more enjoyable than with the keyboard. All thats needed is a free-roam game type and I'll be completely satisfied.
  2. Andrewk
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    I liked it a lot. It's cheap, looks great, and it's really fun. Yea, it's short, the camera's a little wonky, and the only thing there really is to do is drive around killing zombies in a bunch of different vehicles with cool weapons attached. But if that sounds fun to you, then you won't be disappointed.
  3. AlexanderB
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    Very good game with its only flaw being that it is a bit repetive. However that is not such as a bad thing seeing how fun it is. It is great in short busts and thats how I think you should play it. Overall for $10 it is definatley worth buying.
  4. Dec 30, 2010
    8
    I rated this game as an 8 but it is a solid 8. Playing this took me back to the early days of the grand theft auto series which was also top down and gave rewards for running people over. The only reason I didnt rate this higher than 8 is because the game is relatively short, however for the price tag it is still good value & you can always try to outdo your scores in the other game modes.
  5. Nov 17, 2010
    8
    Great fun game for short durations. It's not a game for the long term, but the great support and patches and new game modes that are released regular make up for that!
  6. Feb 18, 2011
    8
    I don't know what it is about running over people and causing massive chaos while driving, but it sure is fun as hell. Watch out Mario Cart! Blood Race mode is a blast. Props to EXOR on this simple but addicting arcade-style driving shoot 'em up. Two thumbs up!
  7. Jan 3, 2011
    9
    The hate this game gets is beyond me-I bought it for 2.49 and I love it. If you pay more than ten for this I guess you could gripe a bit. It is Death Race with Zombies. Play this game loud and with a couple of beers it is even better. That can lead to drunken facebook posts about your game score since the game allows you to post to facebook.

    The art and sound has a solid feel to
    The hate this game gets is beyond me-I bought it for 2.49 and I love it. If you pay more than ten for this I guess you could gripe a bit. It is Death Race with Zombies. Play this game loud and with a couple of beers it is even better. That can lead to drunken facebook posts about your game score since the game allows you to post to facebook.

    The art and sound has a solid feel to it-the environments and cars look polished and play well against each other visually-however it do not understand how you can destroy a light post but not a tree??the different game types (3) and the variation in the arenas with the multiple cars make it very replayable. Of course the missions are very similar but that is why you have different cars and different secondary objectives. I do enjoy the silly/stupid things the survivors say when you pick them up. My favorite is the racing mode-the game shines with all the carnage. i WISH it had multiplayer because that would make the race mode or co-op slaughter mode amazing.

    I'd give a 10 but I am knocking off 1 point since you can't play against other people online.
    Expand
  8. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    This game is simple is awesome! I have several friends who play and leader board competitions between friends keeps me coming back to defend my scores. The graphics are well done and the physics are excellent. Playing with a controller makes the game more enjoyable as well. Hoping for Zombie Driver 2 with multiplayer.
  9. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Really cool game. It provides much fun. I don't get all of that haters. It's actually one of the best indie games I've ever played. It has everything, just sadly no any option of multiplayer or coop. But singleplayer modes are very good anyway. I can recommend it.
  10. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    I must say I agree with what digimortal81 had to say. I'm not sure why this game has a lot of negativity. I purchased this game through steam as part of a bundle and only paid 2.50. I think the graphics are better than a lot of other indie games that I've played and the overall game is very polished. Sure it would be better if the mission had better variety and multiplayer would be totallyI must say I agree with what digimortal81 had to say. I'm not sure why this game has a lot of negativity. I purchased this game through steam as part of a bundle and only paid 2.50. I think the graphics are better than a lot of other indie games that I've played and the overall game is very polished. Sure it would be better if the mission had better variety and multiplayer would be totally awesome. But the variences of game types and leaderboard aspect gives players a little more to play. This one definitely gets my vote! Expand
  11. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    Very cool game. If you ever played death rally back in the day, it has a similar feel to it. Weapons, weapon upgrades, a handful of cars with different attributes and upgrades and lots of zombies to run over or shoot. Physics are good and the handbrake makes for the ability to control the car quite precisely once you get the hang of it.

    The story mode is ok but not great, I think the
    Very cool game. If you ever played death rally back in the day, it has a similar feel to it. Weapons, weapon upgrades, a handful of cars with different attributes and upgrades and lots of zombies to run over or shoot. Physics are good and the handbrake makes for the ability to control the car quite precisely once you get the hang of it.

    The story mode is ok but not great, I think the slaughter and blood race modes are the most fun, they have leader boards so you can see how you compare with other players. Blood race has a tourney style system a little like mario kart and you get to race/shoot other AI controlled cars. Steam achievements are all obtainable, managed to get them all after about 30 hours of play.

    Judging by the update history, the slaughter and blood race modes didn't exist on the game's launch, which would probably explain the low ratings given by others. I probably would agree with some of the other reviewers if the game had nothing but story mode and some technical issues upon it's release, but looks like the game improved significantly after a few patches.

    The developers have done a great job for a
    Expand
  12. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    Got this game some time ago with a Steam bundle sale. In fact it's a mix of Carmageddon with GTA 1, so yes it's top down view but still there are 3D effects and the physics engine makes killing zombies and crashing the environment very rewarding.

    The upgrade system for the cars is ok, however the weapon system is super, they are varied, and with full upgrades they deliver heaps of
    Got this game some time ago with a Steam bundle sale. In fact it's a mix of Carmageddon with GTA 1, so yes it's top down view but still there are 3D effects and the physics engine makes killing zombies and crashing the environment very rewarding.

    The upgrade system for the cars is ok, however the weapon system is super, they are varied, and with full upgrades they deliver heaps of mayhem.

    Add to that the Blood Race mode, which can be quite challenging if you're an achievement hunter like me and you got a very fun game.

    But on top of that you also get Slaughter mode, the ideal mode when you got some time to kill and don't mind killing hordes (like several thousand) zombies.

    Get it.
    Expand
  13. Aug 20, 2013
    8
    The game is really good as an indie game!
    If you have some little time to spend, like 30 minutes or less, and you love smashing zombies then this is the game for you !
    Funny and with the right level of difficulty!
  14. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    12/19/2010: A long time ago I played a little game called Death Rally. It was a top-down combat racing game with great music and fast action. Zombie Driver took that, threw in some updated graphics and a whole lot of zombies and eventually a racing mode of it's own. Zombie Driver is for the little kid in all of us who played violent videogames without knowledge of their parents. It's a lot of fun.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Ultimately, this is what you need to know: for ten bucks, you can buy the videogame equivalent of a bag of Cheetos and a porno mag, except the Cheetos are zombies and the naked people are driving cars with flamethrowers attached to them.
  2. Beyond being needlessly repetitive, there are some issues with the presentation that make Zombie Driver feel a bit unfinished or, at least, untested.
  3. Zombie Driver isn't a bad game, but given the number of similar games on the market, there isn't really much to recommend it.