User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 71
  2. Negative: 15 out of 71

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2010
    4
    Repetitive and boring. The missions in Story mode are usually slight variations of the same thing. Slaughter (a.k.a. Survival mode) isn't much better and the camera is often proves to be not your friend. Most of the weapons are either Awesome but Impractical or are just plain useless. What's amazing is that the game lacks any kind of a Free Roam mode, despite the game is clearly built for one. Even though my system is above the recommended specs, the game just crawls. It almost feels like the game isn't that well optimized.

    Not worth even the $10 price tag. Or $2.50. Or anything really.
    Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    1
    A cut down version of GTA I with zombies instead of pedestrians and the chance to upgrade your vehicle and your vehicles' armaments. If you enjoy doing nothing but running over pedestrians in the GTA series, this game is for you. Everyone else, stay away. Poor performance on high-end systems and esoteric options in the configuration menu that can only be accessed outside of the game aren't helping either. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    3
    Repetitive, Bland, Boring. Top-down games should be 5$ not 10, even though I paid virtually nothing for this game. It's not worth your time. The game is just boring
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    4
    Bought this on sale real cheap from Steam; I enjoyed the game. I personally have a hard time getting used to the camera view, but thats only because I'm used to games like GTA. Overall, it's a fun game... although not much depth. However, if you like killing zombies and this is a good buy for a couple bucks.
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    9
    The hate this game gets is beyond me-I bought it for 2.49 and I love it. If you pay more than ten for this I guess you could gripe a bit. It is Death Race with Zombies. Play this game loud and with a couple of beers it is even better. That can lead to drunken facebook posts about your game score since the game allows you to post to facebook.

    The art and sound has a solid feel to
    it-the environments and cars look polished and play well against each other visually-however it do not understand how you can destroy a light post but not a tree??the different game types (3) and the variation in the arenas with the multiple cars make it very replayable. Of course the missions are very similar but that is why you have different cars and different secondary objectives. I do enjoy the silly/stupid things the survivors say when you pick them up. My favorite is the racing mode-the game shines with all the carnage. i WISH it had multiplayer because that would make the race mode or co-op slaughter mode amazing.

    I'd give a 10 but I am knocking off 1 point since you can't play against other people online.
    Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2013
    2
    Could not play this game pass the hour mark as it is a complete waste of time. Terrible mechanics and boring gameplay. Avoid at ALL cost. Free or paid, your time is just wasted by this terrible game
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    This game is simple is awesome! I have several friends who play and leader board competitions between friends keeps me coming back to defend my scores. The graphics are well done and the physics are excellent. Playing with a controller makes the game more enjoyable as well. Hoping for Zombie Driver 2 with multiplayer.
  8. Jul 21, 2012
    6
    Some users say its repedative, borring, and bland. I agree, and the soundtrack is nothing special. BUT this game i find entertaining. Its a game you can only really play for maybe an hour before playing something else and come back to it from time to time. Theres really not much to this game except the driving aspect which i like, the controls are fun for the driving part (basic, but gameplay is solid for the driving) and it plays smoothly and graphics are decent for this type of game (guess it depends on your comp, and there is no vid options to change anything). The missions are pretty much all the same, the games ok, fun for what it is. This games normally $10 off steam, i got it off a 75% off summer sale for $2.50 so i cant complain. All in all a decent game, not sure if id pay $10 for it though. So i give it a 6.5 not a 7 so guess 6 is what it is since metacritic doesnt do .5's Expand
  9. Dec 30, 2010
    8
    I rated this game as an 8 but it is a solid 8. Playing this took me back to the early days of the grand theft auto series which was also top down and gave rewards for running people over. The only reason I didnt rate this higher than 8 is because the game is relatively short, however for the price tag it is still good value & you can always try to outdo your scores in the other game modes.
  10. Nov 17, 2010
    8
    Great fun game for short durations. It's not a game for the long term, but the great support and patches and new game modes that are released regular make up for that!
  11. Feb 18, 2011
    8
    I don't know what it is about running over people and causing massive chaos while driving, but it sure is fun as hell. Watch out Mario Cart! Blood Race mode is a blast. Props to EXOR on this simple but addicting arcade-style driving shoot 'em up. Two thumbs up!
  12. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Really cool game. It provides much fun. I don't get all of that haters. It's actually one of the best indie games I've ever played. It has everything, just sadly no any option of multiplayer or coop. But singleplayer modes are very good anyway. I can recommend it.
  13. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    I must say I agree with what digimortal81 had to say. I'm not sure why this game has a lot of negativity. I purchased this game through steam as part of a bundle and only paid 2.50. I think the graphics are better than a lot of other indie games that I've played and the overall game is very polished. Sure it would be better if the mission had better variety and multiplayer would be totally awesome. But the variences of game types and leaderboard aspect gives players a little more to play. This one definitely gets my vote! Expand
  14. Jul 6, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Das Spiel ist grafisch sehr simpel... Aber wer bei diesem Spiel fantastische Grafiken vermisst, der hat sich im Vorfeld einfach nicht informiert. Die Missionen sind für dieses Spiel, das etwas für zwischendurch ist, gelungen. Es macht einfach nur Spaà Expand
  15. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    Very cool game. If you ever played death rally back in the day, it has a similar feel to it. Weapons, weapon upgrades, a handful of cars with different attributes and upgrades and lots of zombies to run over or shoot. Physics are good and the handbrake makes for the ability to control the car quite precisely once you get the hang of it.

    The story mode is ok but not great, I think the
    slaughter and blood race modes are the most fun, they have leader boards so you can see how you compare with other players. Blood race has a tourney style system a little like mario kart and you get to race/shoot other AI controlled cars. Steam achievements are all obtainable, managed to get them all after about 30 hours of play.

    Judging by the update history, the slaughter and blood race modes didn't exist on the game's launch, which would probably explain the low ratings given by others. I probably would agree with some of the other reviewers if the game had nothing but story mode and some technical issues upon it's release, but looks like the game improved significantly after a few patches.

    The developers have done a great job for a
    Expand
  16. Jul 2, 2012
    7
    pretty decent game for a price of 1 euro ( on discount) but not worth its full price of 8 euros. game is quite fun but ur eyes will just hurt from camera if u go fast thats main issue in my oppinion
  17. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    Got this game some time ago with a Steam bundle sale. In fact it's a mix of Carmageddon with GTA 1, so yes it's top down view but still there are 3D effects and the physics engine makes killing zombies and crashing the environment very rewarding.

    The upgrade system for the cars is ok, however the weapon system is super, they are varied, and with full upgrades they deliver heaps of
    mayhem.

    Add to that the Blood Race mode, which can be quite challenging if you're an achievement hunter like me and you got a very fun game.

    But on top of that you also get Slaughter mode, the ideal mode when you got some time to kill and don't mind killing hordes (like several thousand) zombies.

    Get it.
    Expand
  18. AWG
    Jun 17, 2013
    6
    I got this game and played it a couple of times and then the HD version came out. Not a very long run.
    Still, I got to appreciate the simple-but-compelling gameplay (think about a mashup between GTA II and the zombie mod of Carmageddon) and the good graphics.
  19. Aug 20, 2013
    8
    The game is really good as an indie game!
    If you have some little time to spend, like 30 minutes or less, and you love smashing zombies then this is the game for you !
    Funny and with the right level of difficulty!
  20. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    At first I never thought I would get into this game because the camera angles and the general perception of the game was so nauseating, in a literal sense… However I must have got used to it as I did manage to complete the game! For all I finished the game, it was far from an interesting story and the entire thing consisted of shooting zombies, clearing areas and fetching survivors to bring back to a base… That’s pretty much the extent of the game and frankly it just wasn't that substantial or satisfying... Admittedly it holds your attention but I have a feeling there are much stronger titles out there! Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Ultimately, this is what you need to know: for ten bucks, you can buy the videogame equivalent of a bag of Cheetos and a porno mag, except the Cheetos are zombies and the naked people are driving cars with flamethrowers attached to them.
  2. Beyond being needlessly repetitive, there are some issues with the presentation that make Zombie Driver feel a bit unfinished or, at least, untested.
  3. Zombie Driver isn't a bad game, but given the number of similar games on the market, there isn't really much to recommend it.