User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 7 out of 16

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JimmyM.
    Aug 21, 2006
    2
    EA games are usually great, and I've really enjoyed previous versions of FIFA, but FIFA 02 Major League Soccer is probably the worst game I've ever tried to play on my PC. The game engine is lame, the AI is about the most predictable thing I've ever played against, and the game seems to choose where to pass the ball regardless of what direction I attempt to send it in. EA games are usually great, and I've really enjoyed previous versions of FIFA, but FIFA 02 Major League Soccer is probably the worst game I've ever tried to play on my PC. The game engine is lame, the AI is about the most predictable thing I've ever played against, and the game seems to choose where to pass the ball regardless of what direction I attempt to send it in. I'm waiting for a few years to buy another version, because I really can't stand this one. Collapse
  2. TysonB.
    Feb 12, 2004
    7
    Fifa soccer 2002 is a solid game but Fifa soccer 2001 still is a little better.
  3. BazzZ.
    Sep 16, 2002
    0
    Pro Evo is the king and this miserable game is its slave!
  4. ZiggyStardust
    Aug 13, 2002
    4
    On it's own it's not terrible, but considering it's basically fifa 2002 except with a bunch less gameplay modes, and options world cup is a huge rip off. while i like the direction the fifa series is going on the whole (more realism... less magnetic ball to foot physics). again it's just fifa 2002 at more than double the price with less features.
  5. DavidH.
    Aug 2, 2002
    8
    Great game, and the World Class level is much more challenging than in prior FIFA games. Many players actually look like the real ones. The graphics are great, but the game sort of moves kind of slow at times when the ball is in the air. A must buy if you don't own FIFA 2002 already.
  6. KristoferH.
    Jul 28, 2002
    10
    This game is the bomb.
  7. JoeJ.
    Jul 11, 2002
    9
    What are these people talking about! This game rocks, as have most of them except 2001.
  8. Garrydef
    May 30, 2002
    1
    Pro evo need'nt worry.
  9. AndrewA.
    May 26, 2002
    7
    Enjoyable but not pro evo.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. By focusing on the Michael Owens, EA've forgotten the Gary Nevilles - capturing the magic, but fluffing the basics. [PSM2]
  2. The lack of depth makes it a tough buy.
  3. I’m sorry to say but FIFA World Cup 2002 is game to catch consumers when they get cup fever rather a game to provide the ultimate World Cup experience.