User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 13, 2014
    9
    Another awesome game in the underrated Ace Combat series. The game serves as a prequel to Ace Combat 5 (15 years prior). You play as a pilot only known as "Cipher", flying with his wingman "Solo Wing Pixy". The two mercenaries are hired to defend the nation of Ustio. The story is very good, although it could be developed more. If the campaign was as long as AC5, then we might have aAnother awesome game in the underrated Ace Combat series. The game serves as a prequel to Ace Combat 5 (15 years prior). You play as a pilot only known as "Cipher", flying with his wingman "Solo Wing Pixy". The two mercenaries are hired to defend the nation of Ustio. The story is very good, although it could be developed more. If the campaign was as long as AC5, then we might have a powerful story. However, if you're really good, you can easily finish the campaign in 4 hours. But replayability is what keeps the game alive. There are branching paths. Depending on the amount of neutral targets you destroy or spare, there are certain aircraft you unlock and different enemies you face. Find this game, and play the crap out of it. And help us Ace Combat fans in convincing Namco Bandai to release an HD remake of 4,5 and Zero. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    More replay value than 5 and better mission design in terms of playing it again, Zero does a hands down amazing job at adding in enemy squadrons and really makes them feel personal, adding in enemy squadrons and bios for named aces really gives you the feeling of fighting an actual war against actual people, not just computer controlled pilots. However the acting seems just a tad odd, IMore replay value than 5 and better mission design in terms of playing it again, Zero does a hands down amazing job at adding in enemy squadrons and really makes them feel personal, adding in enemy squadrons and bios for named aces really gives you the feeling of fighting an actual war against actual people, not just computer controlled pilots. However the acting seems just a tad odd, I can't quite put my finger on it, other than that they do a good job of giving each squad a theme. The game tries to really model a real war, and does a good job. You end up bombing civilians and Pixy constantly acts as the voice of reason towards PJ, the stereotypical peace fighter with no complexity or depth. The gameplay is standard, nothing really too new other than the change of the plane roster to(for some reason) remove a lot of planes from 5 and add in a few new ones, this is remedied by more special weapons and paint schemes. wingmen customization is also slightly removed by not allowing plane choice, yet also adds in the ability to specify for your wingman to only attack ground or air targets. Difficulty is nice, with the final squad mission being the highlight of the game for me, the final battle is pretty eh, and a death of a close character is added in very randomly and really feels useless and anti climactic. Soundtrack is simply amazing as expected, with a nice mix of genres that stays fresh. Overall the game does a good job of setting up a real war, but it really just doesn't do it 100% justice, meanwhile gameplay is improved in certain aspects and hurt in other places, it's odd that ACES forgot what they excelled in in their past installments, yet found new things to improve this time around to balance Expand
  3. smoney
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    great game best in the series in my opinion. what i liked most about this ace combat game more than all others is the fact there is a list of pilots that you have shot down. other than this it really is a great game in the ace combat series
  4. RyanP.
    May 29, 2007
    9
    It's an excellent game, but not the best in the series. Ace Combat 5 set a new standard, so this one fell a little short of my expectations.
  5. StephenM.
    Feb 23, 2007
    8
    I think that this is probably THE best game out of the entire Ace Combat Series. There should be more games like Ace Combat Zero: The Belkan War in the future.
  6. SeanO.
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    I am a huge fan of the series and I can't stop playing this game. I have already played through it 4 times and i still want to keep playing it. Best Ace Combat yet.
  7. IanC.
    Sep 9, 2006
    7
    Not bad. Fun missions, but could have been longer with more missions. I had a problem with the randomness of the targeting system. I would have liked to be able to choose my target a little better.
  8. ThomasF.
    Jul 3, 2006
    6
    This game is very short and truly lacking in story depth. There is no explanation for your existance as a mercenary, there is no good explanation for your nickname "Demon Lord." You have no reason to have empathy with your wingman, which was a huge let down after Ace combat 5's very interactive story line with your wingmen. And last but not least, there was so much about the Belkan This game is very short and truly lacking in story depth. There is no explanation for your existance as a mercenary, there is no good explanation for your nickname "Demon Lord." You have no reason to have empathy with your wingman, which was a huge let down after Ace combat 5's very interactive story line with your wingmen. And last but not least, there was so much about the Belkan war from Ace Combat 5, that I don't understand why the war was so short and very few of the discussed events are visible to the player. Would it have been so hard to interact with Pops and Bartlett? Expand
  9. TylerS.
    Jul 1, 2006
    6
    Ace Combat is the greatest airplane game ever Ace 5 had the best story for any game I have played. Ace Zero's story sucked there was nothing to it. The graphics are alsome and the planes are great but the story sucked big time. A better story and better missions whould of made this game the greatest game ever but still Ace 5 is the best game. Maybe if they make a new Ace Combat game Ace Combat is the greatest airplane game ever Ace 5 had the best story for any game I have played. Ace Zero's story sucked there was nothing to it. The graphics are alsome and the planes are great but the story sucked big time. A better story and better missions whould of made this game the greatest game ever but still Ace 5 is the best game. Maybe if they make a new Ace Combat game they will read this and make the greatest game ever. Expand
  10. EfeB.
    Jun 7, 2006
    8
    who?...in their right mind, creates a flight sim with a "story"??? especially a story that is titled "the belkan war" which sounds like "balkan" war, but its not...just horrible production design, and product naming and its just still too "japanese". you know them japs are nuts about "stories". and what about the awful elevator music you get while flying?...sounds like pokemon and totally who?...in their right mind, creates a flight sim with a "story"??? especially a story that is titled "the belkan war" which sounds like "balkan" war, but its not...just horrible production design, and product naming and its just still too "japanese". you know them japs are nuts about "stories". and what about the awful elevator music you get while flying?...sounds like pokemon and totally ruins the war effect. but, the graphics are great...the planes look real and the terrains and clouds and missle effects are all great. to bad they havent fixed the explosions....they look like mario brothers explosions...puff of black smoke with red balls...yuck. i give 8....just for the cool planes. Expand
  11. JoshT.
    May 25, 2006
    5
    Ace Combat Zero was a huge disappointment for me. I felt that the presentation was horrible, the story was not as indepth as it should have been and this game is way to short. After playing through Ace Combat 5 and taking in all the references to the belkan war I was really surprised to find out that very few of those references actually made into the game in Zero. The gameplay is your Ace Combat Zero was a huge disappointment for me. I felt that the presentation was horrible, the story was not as indepth as it should have been and this game is way to short. After playing through Ace Combat 5 and taking in all the references to the belkan war I was really surprised to find out that very few of those references actually made into the game in Zero. The gameplay is your typical Ace Combat game but there were only a few exciting and nervewracking moments to be found. The bottom line is that if you want a good Ace Combat game that has an awesome presentation, awesome missions and a great storyline pick up Ace Combat 5......or maybe even 4. Zero is worth a rental. Expand
  12. AnsonG.
    May 13, 2006
    6
    This game was quite good but those level mission are quite few and the last mission is pretty bang up. However, namco could have put many mission on it so that other people well impress.(sigh) anyway i quite enjoyed about this Ace Combat series, keep it up, Namco.
  13. BenP.
    May 9, 2006
    10
    Definitely the best simulator on game consoles. Better than all the other ace combats, and the unlockable planes at the end are awesome. Graphics and sound effects are realistic.
  14. Jake
    May 6, 2006
    6
    Being a long time fan of the Ace Combat series, I was really disappointed. The game was really fun, but I beat it in about 5 hours. The last two missions really sucked, and the final battle music was far from epic. Could have been much better. I hope this is because they were rushed with the launch of the ps3 fast approaching. If this is the start of a trend, however, I may wind up Being a long time fan of the Ace Combat series, I was really disappointed. The game was really fun, but I beat it in about 5 hours. The last two missions really sucked, and the final battle music was far from epic. Could have been much better. I hope this is because they were rushed with the launch of the ps3 fast approaching. If this is the start of a trend, however, I may wind up abandoning what was once a great series. Collapse
  15. ScottB.
    Apr 30, 2006
    9
    I've played all of them including the Japense #3. Not as many missions as the others and the last mission is a real PAIN.
  16. Tom
    Apr 27, 2006
    6
    Yea, i love the series, but this was a huge dissapointment. The story sucks seeing as it involves a war that, as presented in ace combat 5, seemed to resemble world war two. It could have been epic, and it sucked. Not only that, it was too short. The missions were pretty much re-playing ace combat 4 and 5. The trench/tunnel missions are getting repetitive, too. It seems like the effort Yea, i love the series, but this was a huge dissapointment. The story sucks seeing as it involves a war that, as presented in ace combat 5, seemed to resemble world war two. It could have been epic, and it sucked. Not only that, it was too short. The missions were pretty much re-playing ace combat 4 and 5. The trench/tunnel missions are getting repetitive, too. It seems like the effort wasnt there, and that namco was just trying to squeeze the last few bucks it could out of this series on the ps2. It was hard for me to admit this game sucked, seeing as i love the series, but thinking it over, yea... I am dissapointed. Expand
  17. JohnnyD.
    Apr 26, 2006
    0
    its pritty good butt the final missions was a huged let down.
  18. TariqW.
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    The best of the stellar Ace Combat series so far. You either love it or simply don't care for it. If you're the former, then this is an absolutely must-buy!
  19. MartRedi
    Apr 13, 2006
    9
    An excellent entry into the series. I do not care much for the storyline or the ace style addition, but the core of a great AC game is there and that's all I need. The graphics are a bit sharper than AC5, the music is much better than AC5 and the gameplay is above par as usual. This is truly a genre-defining flight simulator of the current generation.
  20. LennyMota
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    The Ace Combat Series is the best Flight SIm game you would ever have. The storyline in this game is so Dramatic, it would make you think that you were involded in the Storyline's conflict, not to mention the Awesomness of Flying your dream fighter plane. You cant compare this series to any other flight sim game in the market (Air Force Delta= Gay). Trust me. Ace Combat isThe Ace Combat Series is the best Flight SIm game you would ever have. The storyline in this game is so Dramatic, it would make you think that you were involded in the Storyline's conflict, not to mention the Awesomness of Flying your dream fighter plane. You cant compare this series to any other flight sim game in the market (Air Force Delta= Gay). Trust me. Ace Combat is Amazin!!!!!!!!!! Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. A fans dream and an excellent place for newcomers to enter. The best of AC 4 & AC 5 have been melded to make what feels like the best iteration of the series yet. [JPN Import]
  2. It's not that it's bad....it's just not as good as the last few games in the series. [May 2006, p.52]
  3. The seemingly complicated flight sim-like elements scared me away from this game for a long time, but once you give it a shot, you'd be surprised how accessible and fun it can be. [May 2006, p.102]