User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TylerS.
    Jul 1, 2006
    6
    Ace Combat is the greatest airplane game ever Ace 5 had the best story for any game I have played. Ace Zero's story sucked there was nothing to it. The graphics are alsome and the planes are great but the story sucked big time. A better story and better missions whould of made this game the greatest game ever but still Ace 5 is the best game. Maybe if they make a new Ace Combat game Ace Combat is the greatest airplane game ever Ace 5 had the best story for any game I have played. Ace Zero's story sucked there was nothing to it. The graphics are alsome and the planes are great but the story sucked big time. A better story and better missions whould of made this game the greatest game ever but still Ace 5 is the best game. Maybe if they make a new Ace Combat game they will read this and make the greatest game ever. Collapse
  2. Jake
    May 6, 2006
    6
    Being a long time fan of the Ace Combat series, I was really disappointed. The game was really fun, but I beat it in about 5 hours. The last two missions really sucked, and the final battle music was far from epic. Could have been much better. I hope this is because they were rushed with the launch of the ps3 fast approaching. If this is the start of a trend, however, I may wind up Being a long time fan of the Ace Combat series, I was really disappointed. The game was really fun, but I beat it in about 5 hours. The last two missions really sucked, and the final battle music was far from epic. Could have been much better. I hope this is because they were rushed with the launch of the ps3 fast approaching. If this is the start of a trend, however, I may wind up abandoning what was once a great series. Expand
  3. ThomasF.
    Jul 3, 2006
    6
    This game is very short and truly lacking in story depth. There is no explanation for your existance as a mercenary, there is no good explanation for your nickname "Demon Lord." You have no reason to have empathy with your wingman, which was a huge let down after Ace combat 5's very interactive story line with your wingmen. And last but not least, there was so much about the Belkan This game is very short and truly lacking in story depth. There is no explanation for your existance as a mercenary, there is no good explanation for your nickname "Demon Lord." You have no reason to have empathy with your wingman, which was a huge let down after Ace combat 5's very interactive story line with your wingmen. And last but not least, there was so much about the Belkan war from Ace Combat 5, that I don't understand why the war was so short and very few of the discussed events are visible to the player. Would it have been so hard to interact with Pops and Bartlett? Expand
  4. IanC.
    Sep 9, 2006
    7
    Not bad. Fun missions, but could have been longer with more missions. I had a problem with the randomness of the targeting system. I would have liked to be able to choose my target a little better.
  5. AnsonG.
    May 13, 2006
    6
    This game was quite good but those level mission are quite few and the last mission is pretty bang up. However, namco could have put many mission on it so that other people well impress.(sigh) anyway i quite enjoyed about this Ace Combat series, keep it up, Namco.
  6. Tom
    Apr 27, 2006
    6
    Yea, i love the series, but this was a huge dissapointment. The story sucks seeing as it involves a war that, as presented in ace combat 5, seemed to resemble world war two. It could have been epic, and it sucked. Not only that, it was too short. The missions were pretty much re-playing ace combat 4 and 5. The trench/tunnel missions are getting repetitive, too. It seems like the effort Yea, i love the series, but this was a huge dissapointment. The story sucks seeing as it involves a war that, as presented in ace combat 5, seemed to resemble world war two. It could have been epic, and it sucked. Not only that, it was too short. The missions were pretty much re-playing ace combat 4 and 5. The trench/tunnel missions are getting repetitive, too. It seems like the effort wasnt there, and that namco was just trying to squeeze the last few bucks it could out of this series on the ps2. It was hard for me to admit this game sucked, seeing as i love the series, but thinking it over, yea... I am dissapointed. Expand
  7. JoshT.
    May 25, 2006
    5
    Ace Combat Zero was a huge disappointment for me. I felt that the presentation was horrible, the story was not as indepth as it should have been and this game is way to short. After playing through Ace Combat 5 and taking in all the references to the belkan war I was really surprised to find out that very few of those references actually made into the game in Zero. The gameplay is your Ace Combat Zero was a huge disappointment for me. I felt that the presentation was horrible, the story was not as indepth as it should have been and this game is way to short. After playing through Ace Combat 5 and taking in all the references to the belkan war I was really surprised to find out that very few of those references actually made into the game in Zero. The gameplay is your typical Ace Combat game but there were only a few exciting and nervewracking moments to be found. The bottom line is that if you want a good Ace Combat game that has an awesome presentation, awesome missions and a great storyline pick up Ace Combat 5......or maybe even 4. Zero is worth a rental. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#22 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#44 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. A fans dream and an excellent place for newcomers to enter. The best of AC 4 & AC 5 have been melded to make what feels like the best iteration of the series yet. [JPN Import]
  2. Play Magazine
    65
    It's not that it's bad....it's just not as good as the last few games in the series. [May 2006, p.52]
  3. Game Informer
    85
    The seemingly complicated flight sim-like elements scared me away from this game for a long time, but once you give it a shot, you'd be surprised how accessible and fun it can be. [May 2006, p.102]