Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Any game that can reference Contra, GodlenEye, Fargo, Mega Man, Tremors and include two Atari 2600-like mini games (Super Soviet Missile Mastar rules!) would already be alright in my book. But to do it like Alien Hominid does it is incredible.
  2. It's a shame that Alien Hominid ends - that's my only gripe with the whole game. It ends. But then, you can play through it again and again with friends, turning up the difficulty a notch each time.
  3. It really is that well done. I shudder to think what this level of talent is capable should they try this whole milieu again, but I'm even more excited about what it could mean. You must, for the love God, support this game and give it the money it deserves.
  4. I love this game. Frantic, old school gameplay plus a great visual style, multiplied by a terrific sense of humor equals a lot of fun.
  5. 90
    Nostalgic, frantic and fun. At $30, it's well worth buying for anyone who loved the side-scrolling shooters of the 8-bit console era.
  6. Loaded with features and pound for pound one of the best games of the year (and it's only $29.99), Alien Hominid's a treat for the senses.
  7. 89
    Definitely belongs in that elite class of quirky games, like "Rez" and "Katamari Damacy," that should at least be experienced, if not part of any self-respecting gamer’s collection.
  8. Grabs you by the funny bone and tender parts and body slams your senses right from the start, and if you just don't love that little guy the first time you lay eyes on him, you're just too jaded.
  9. Those of us that lived through the Atari and original Nintendo years will find this game to be a blast from the past, but you probably already knew that if you played the web game.
  10. It brings itself to the table as a purely fun game, modeled after a true classic, and doesn't try to impress with flashy graphics or a deep story--because it doesn't have to.
  11. A game by people that really know a thing or two about making a memorable experience, and some of the extra features will have you coming back well into the new year (especially if you have friends).
  12. 85
    The style is thick, the charm is oozing over and the alien is an instantly loveable character.
  13. There's enough originality and heart-pounding action to warrant a look by any fan of retro action gaming.
  14. While its gameplay design may appear to be derivative, there truly isn't anything else quite like Alien Hominid on consoles today.
  15. Just based solely on its gunplay, Alien Hominid is worthy of mention in the same breath as classic shoot-'em-ups like Contra and Metal Slug. Nonetheless, it is the game's uniquely refreshing (albeit crude) visual style and attitude that justifies the price of admission.
  16. If this review has not convinced you to go buy this game, then just go buy it anyway. Then come back to Mygamer and thank us for telling you to get it. The character design is precious enough to warm even the coldest Grinch.
  17. A very unique game. The minute your space ship lands in the city, Alien Hominid is non-stop booger-nosed funk action from top to bottom.
  18. 81
    It looks good, it's cute and funny, the bosses are interesting, the control is tight, and the game is intense.
  19. If you want to relive the good old days and hat that your favorite 2D franchises are being recast as crappy 3D shooters, give Hominid a try. [Feb 2005, p.94]
  20. Alien Hominid might lack a scripted storyline, but trying to reach the end is a wellspring of emotion.
  21. Alien Hominid is a joyful experience, an unashamedly simple game that makes you want to play until you can’t feel your hands anymore... The perfect budget game. [Jan 2005, p.104]
  22. Plaster up your thumbs, buy a new control pad, call in sick and lock up your family because this little extraterrestrial is going to take over your life.
  23. It's fast paced, has beautiful visuals, and just a whole lot of fun.
  24. A game that has charm, challenge and it is addictive fun.
  25. The Behemoth has to be commended for bringing gamers a really nice shooter with a fantastic look and feel. In these days of development teams with a cast of dozens, it is nice to see a small group of passionate individuals produce a game that is clearly a labor of love.
  26. One of my favorite games of the year...It makes up for its lack of finesse with sheer style and quirkiness. [Dec 2004, p.168]
  27. If you are looking for a game that provides ample opportunity to blast the tar out of legions of enemies, that challenges your fingers dexterity, isn’t afraid to challenge its players, and, most importantly, keep a smile on its players’ faces while all of this is happening, Alien Hominid is well worth buying.
  28. Offers up a serving of both what was great and frustrating about old-school gaming. This is likely to divide players, but me? I liked it.
  29. Alien Hominid is a shiny, bloody cartoon you can play by a team of guys who wanted to make a shiny, bloody cartoon you can play. It works.
  30. The most creative and cathartic button masher since cult favorite "Gunstar Heroes."
  31. 80
    You'll adore Alien Hominid. An attractive price, original concept, and splendid execution outshine issues such as its short-lived thrills and shallow premise.
  32. It never stops being either stylish or fun, though, and how many games can you say that about that feature a goofy-looking yellow alien? Just one.
  33. Great bosses, plenty of maneuvers, maybe a little short, but packed with quality fun. [Holiday 2004, p.100]
  34. 78
    A refreshingly devious action game long overdue in the sea of 3-D platformers and first person shooters.
  35. Fun, but frustratingly difficult at times.
  36. An incredibly fun action game, either playing solo or with a friend. And, once you've played through it, there are plenty of mini-games to keep you occupied.
  37. AH is a manic, rock-hard, 2D assault on your motor skills that may lack the polish of the best of this mighty genre, but gets a pass for being the coolest homegrown game ever. [Nov 2004, p.75]
  38. It has a very unique, underground comic look to it that makes the game almost as much fun to watch as to play.
  39. Alien Hominid is just about an essential title for anyone who’s caught themselves yearning for a forgotten past, or to any young blood wondering what people mean when they say they don’t make them like they used to. [Jan 2005, p.97]
  40. AH doesn't quite live fit comfortably into the 'great shooter' garb I've seen it masquerade about in on the net--those clothes fit noticeably loose. Still, it's fun with a friend, a decent way to spend a few frantic hours, and one can't help but appreciate what was attempted here.
  41. 70
    The fundamentals of gameplay are strong, but when you start getting into the details the roughness becomes increasingly apparent.
  42. 70
    Fortunately, the developers have done a good job of implementing that cartooney and sarcastic style, so those players who like the Alien Hominid universe will find a lot to like in the game.
  43. 70
    Alien Hominids control scheme doesn't allow for players to fire diagonally. Also, the console version is intended for 2 players--single player games are frustratingly hard due to the cheap AI.
  44. With a great style taken directly from the pages of a deranged art student’s sketchbook and fun if occasionally frustrating action to boot, this little alien proves that you don’t need a big, fancy ship to invade a home console.
  45. With frequent cheap deaths and enemy shot sthat are often lost amid the hordes of bad guys, the difficulty is just unholy. [Holiday 2004, p.88]
  46. Alien Hominid was brilliant and inventive on net browsers. On consoles, it loses much of its charm. Silly graphics and straightforward violence entertain for awhile, but the idea does not translate well enough into a full console game. [June 2005, p.66]
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    4
    Shooting stuff is fun, right? Unfortunately I didn't enjoy this game all that much. It's hectic and fun for a few minutes but gets a bit boring and isn't very involving, one reason could be that I simply don't like how it looks all that much. Too cute. I'll stick to Metal Slug, Contra and others if I feel like playing a game like this. Full Review »
  2. EdwardF.
    Jan 19, 2007
    9
    Oldschool bloody kicka** shoot-em-up! This game is just so damn awesome!!!!!! how cool is it to jump on the shoulders of an F.B.I.-agent, bite his head off in front of two other agents then slice up one of the two remaining agents and pulling the final one down into the ground. After that 5 more agents appear and you can repeat the whole thing untill you meet an almost indestructible boss.. I mean.. THIS IS SO COOL! Only one point that's not so cool.. it has 15 levels (not much) and 6 minigames (not much) so you played through the whole game in one afternoon (not much).. BUT anyway... It kicks a**! And the graphics are totally insane!! Coolest cell shading ever! A+! Full Review »
  3. WeirdN.
    Oct 12, 2005
    6
    This is a great looking game and it's fun to play in short bursts. But by jiminy is it hard! At least 50% of the time when I die I have no idea what hit me, and I end up using 3 continues at 9 lives a pop in each just getting to the final boss. You might say that this is because I'm no good at shooters, but that's not the case. I was probably playing Super Probotector before you were born! I really enjoy this game, but ultimately the difficulty has put me off and it spoils the flow to have to play every level 5 or so times before progressing. You've gotta respect the independant nature of this title though and it's great to see some innovation (and rennovation) in the video game world. Hurrah for gameplay! Full Review »