• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
All-Star Baseball 2003 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New features include Expansion Play, which allows baseball fanatics to choose a city, stadium, and team logo and integrate that team into Major League Baseball, after which they'll draft from a pool of unprotected players in an expansion draft of free agents and Minor League players to buildNew features include Expansion Play, which allows baseball fanatics to choose a city, stadium, and team logo and integrate that team into Major League Baseball, after which they'll draft from a pool of unprotected players in an expansion draft of free agents and Minor League players to build a team from scratch. 10 game modes include Season, Career, Franchise (with 20 consecutive seasons), All-Star Game, Home Run Derby, and Batting Practice. [Acclaim] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The fielding is the only aspect of that could still use some work. Otherwise, this is as good as digital baseball gets. [Apr 2002, p.76]
  2. The game just looks fantastic...a great game, but not an excellent representation of baseball.
  3. 89
    By far ASB's best feature, and the one that makes it stand out this year above the others is Franchise Mode...the best baseball Franchise Mode on any console to date.
  4. It's a more in-depth game than High Heat, which is why All Star moves slower and the games seem longer.
  5. No doubt, the batting mechanics are complex and the franchise mode a bit hard to get a handle on, but this is console baseball at its best.
  6. The best installment in the series, with only a few minor issues keeping it below 3DO's stellar "High Heat Baseball 2003".
  7. Batting on the other hand, is about as much fun as chewing glass. You’d basically need the reactions of a Jedi Knight to be able to rack up a decent hit ratio.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. BobJ.
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Great game.
  2. RyanF.
    Apr 16, 2002
    9
    I have played all of the newest baseball games out this year and this tops all of them. The best thing about the game is the expansion teams. I have played all of the newest baseball games out this year and this tops all of them. The best thing about the game is the expansion teams. It has a huge variety of cities and makes the game a challenge winning with B- and C+ players. That is one of the bad points besides no muti-player franchise, is the fact of letter grades. More detail is related in a numerical system used in your John Maddens. I am a big EA Sports guy and have always been a Triple Play guy but now it has been toped. The slow game play tends to get long but the game play makes up for it. As you play you will get better and you really have to. Playing in Rookie mode you can tend to get your butt whiped up off the field. Graphics and movements of the players is the best I have seem yet. 10 but the speed and muti-player options brings me down to a 9. Expand
  3. MattC.
    Sep 18, 2002
    9
    If you are a skilled gamer who likes realism you will love this game. It is deep and gets better the more you play it. It has some options If you are a skilled gamer who likes realism you will love this game. It is deep and gets better the more you play it. It has some options that REALLY help you adjust the game to the level of realism you want. Not for fans of "Arcadish" sports games. Expand
  4. JasonC.
    Jun 1, 2002
    7
    The graphics are great and franchise mode is a blast, but the gameplay is slow. The most irritating thing is that starting pitchers tire way The graphics are great and franchise mode is a blast, but the gameplay is slow. The most irritating thing is that starting pitchers tire way to quickly. I have counted pitches and starters get worn out after only 30 or 40 pitches. The Yankees are impossible to beat even though they don't have any great players. Other than that the game is fun and is the best out there right now. I have always been a Triple Play fan but this game took me away. Expand
  5. TysonB.
    Feb 12, 2004
    7
    All star baseball 2003 has the exactly the same features as in All star baseball 2002. I want some new features and gameplay.
  6. AaronS.
    Mar 30, 2002
    6
    The franchise mode is the only reason I'd ever play this game again. The gameplay makes me fall asleep. Can a game take longer? Also, The franchise mode is the only reason I'd ever play this game again. The gameplay makes me fall asleep. Can a game take longer? Also, the lack of bullpen skill really gets annoying. Mariano Rivera blew five five+ run leads in the ninth (COME ON!) This is game is fun if you're the type that would rather be the GM than the player. Other than that, play Ken Griffey Jr. Presents MLB for Super Nintendo instead-SERIOUSLY! Expand
  7. JayF.
    Apr 1, 2002
    5
    Graphics are great but, no-one can beat the Yankees, I lost after leading by 8 going into the ninth, some of it gets ridiculous, and is it Graphics are great but, no-one can beat the Yankees, I lost after leading by 8 going into the ninth, some of it gets ridiculous, and is it necessary to only be able to play 9 innings I like a choice, overall a rental, and wheres the celebration for winning the series, thats a big let down as well. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews