Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 70
    If you can ignore the gimmickry and the middle-of-the-road visuals, you'll find an entertaining baseball game that'll keep you just as engaged as the rest of the crop this year. MVP Baseball has little to worry about.
  2. All-Star Baseball 2005 may get the job done, but in a season as long as baseball’s, you’ve got to have that special something to keep you motivated, and unfortunately, this game just doesn’t have it.
  3. The series' much ballyhooed new FielderCam is underwhelming - this behind-the-fielder view controls well enough, but it's virtually impossible to know the tragectory and speed of the ball, leaving you to rely on onscreen indicators. [May 2004, p.90]
  4. Acclaim didn't go out of its way to elevate the series - this is simply an enhanced version of last year's game seen from a new perspective. [Apr 2004, p.92]
  5. The core mechanics are solid, and the addition of true online play is a compelling selling point.
  6. ASB 2005 does do a lot, but so does the other guys and unfortunately for Acclaim, they also do it better.
  7. But even without the fielder cam, defensive controls are just a tad too sluggish—it's not uncommon to see a player circling around a ball on the ground or to have an outfielder take his sweet time throwing the ball into the infield because of the imprecision.
  8. 79
    If you're a hardcore baseball fan, you can look past it and still find plenty to get excited about, but the casual gamers will find their best times with "MVP."
  9. Easy-to-master controls, new camera angles, customizable teams, legendary players like Babe Ruth and Jackie Robinson—don’t wait for Mother Nature’s lazy ass; spring starts now.
  10. The grandaddy of all PS2 baseball sims needs a big face-lift. [May 2004, p.99]
  11. Franchise mode is by far the deepest of any baseball game out there - including"MVP." [Apr 2004, p.73]
  12. ASB 2005 will dazzle you with flashes of brilliance. Yet seconds later, it will infuriate you with its many rough edges. [May 2004, p.25]
  13. It's not as user friendly as MVP, nor is it as realistic as ESPN. Still, it's a worthwhile purchase if you like simming games and take on the front office duties.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. KennyR.
    Aug 12, 2006
    9
    Great game, very realistic and among all the other baseball games I've played, this is my favorite. The only thing I don't like Great game, very realistic and among all the other baseball games I've played, this is my favorite. The only thing I don't like about it is that players can't be traded unless it is played in season mode. I hope acclaim releases a new version as soon as possible. Full Review »
  2. AlexG.
    May 8, 2005
    10
    Best game ever made for baseball I think. Everyone should have this game in thier collection.
  3. Anaik
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    This game is the best! The graphics are off the charts, and it is so realistic. They have they current baseball players to date and fantasy This game is the best! The graphics are off the charts, and it is so realistic. They have they current baseball players to date and fantasy draft is the best, picking the best of the best! That is why I gave this game a 10! Full Review »