All-Star Baseball 2005 Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: All-Star Baseball 2005 gives you the most realistic "between the lines" game play experience ever with ASB05's exclusive FielderCam. The perennial best selling Baseball videogame franchise is more fun and accessible than ever before, packed with exclusive feature innovations, online head-to-head play AND the deepest franchise mode of any baseball video game. [Acclaim] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Franchise mode is by far the deepest of any baseball game out there - including"MVP." [Apr 2004, p.73]
  2. It's not as user friendly as MVP, nor is it as realistic as ESPN. Still, it's a worthwhile purchase if you like simming games and take on the front office duties.
  3. Easy-to-master controls, new camera angles, customizable teams, legendary players like Babe Ruth and Jackie Robinson—don’t wait for Mother Nature’s lazy ass; spring starts now.
  4. Acclaim didn't go out of its way to elevate the series - this is simply an enhanced version of last year's game seen from a new perspective. [Apr 2004, p.92]
  5. ASB 2005 will dazzle you with flashes of brilliance. Yet seconds later, it will infuriate you with its many rough edges. [May 2004, p.25]
  6. But even without the fielder cam, defensive controls are just a tad too sluggish—it's not uncommon to see a player circling around a ball on the ground or to have an outfielder take his sweet time throwing the ball into the infield because of the imprecision.
  7. The grandaddy of all PS2 baseball sims needs a big face-lift. [May 2004, p.99]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. AlexG.
    May 8, 2005
    10
    Best game ever made for baseball I think. Everyone should have this game in thier collection.
  2. Vince
    Apr 11, 2004
    10
    Awesome game. i played all star 2004 and i was waiting for this one, i wasn't disappointed. BEST BASEBALL GAME EVER!!
  3. AlexC.
    Mar 23, 2004
    10
    Best baseball game i've ever played.
  4. BobD.
    Jul 5, 2004
    10
    This game is the best and most realistic game I have played.
  5. DanF.
    Feb 18, 2004
    9
    I have been loyal All-Star Baseball Fan since the makings of the first. The 2005 version looks and sounds fantastic. From the great facial graphics to being the only baseball game with the "create-a-team/expansion" mode. If your a baseball fan you'll be a fan of this game. Expand
  6. Jerry
    Aug 16, 2004
    9
    All-star Baseball 2005 is a great game to add to your collection. The indepth franchise mode is more hands on then other games. This game also allows you to relive your favorite games in This Week In Baseball mode. But there are some down sides like Barry Bonds, he isn't in the game. But over all i find this game a true game that can be played for a long time. Expand
  7. Chuck
    Apr 13, 2004
    0
    I thought the game was horrible. The fielder cam was stupid and you will be chasing balls all over the place. The batting and pitching experiences are nothing like MVP 2004. Also the Franchise mode is nowhere near as good as MVP 2004. Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews