User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2017
    9
    An improvement over Ape Escape 1, and IMO, better than Ape Escape 3. Solid fun, with a ton of monkeys to keep you entertained. Ridiculous (in a good way) humour. 8.5/10
  2. Apr 8, 2017
    9
    Ape Escape 2 follows the footsteps of it's predecessor on PS1. The story is very short and simple, and it feels like a last minute edition to the game. This may not be a bad thing for some people, seeing as how it is a 3D platformer. The presentation of the story is told through voice-acted cutscenes that vary depending on region. The presentation of the game is much higher quality thanApe Escape 2 follows the footsteps of it's predecessor on PS1. The story is very short and simple, and it feels like a last minute edition to the game. This may not be a bad thing for some people, seeing as how it is a 3D platformer. The presentation of the story is told through voice-acted cutscenes that vary depending on region. The presentation of the game is much higher quality than it's PS1 counterpart. Even though it might be due to the higher quality texture rendering of the PS2, it's very visually appealing. This time, it sports a more cartoon-ish art style, which adds to the more child-like representation of the characters and enemies. The soundtrack has seen a change from the first game. This time, instead of having a heavy emphasis on bass and jungle-like sounds, this soundtrack varies per location and always sounds upbeat. While some people might see that as a downgrade from the unique music of the first game, it never disappoints and not one song sounds "out of place". The gameplay takes the main character, Jimmy (or Hikaru) to many diverse locations to capture monkeys spread throughout the worlds. Capturing monkeys is done with the use of Gadgets, which are items obtained as the game is played. Items such as the Stun Club, Time Net, or the Monkey Radar return from Ape Escape on Playstation One. However, items like the Bananarang, the Water Cannon, and the Electro Magnet are all brand new. Using each gadget, across the variety of levels will make the game have a change in depth that isn't traditionally found in a 3D platformer. The monkey radar allows the player to see individual statistics of each monkey, allowing for fun and challenging puzzles. Ape Escape 2 doesn't evolve the series... at all. Unfortunately, most of the things just stated can be done in the first game; therefore anyone who plays the first game, then immediately moves on to the second one, may be a bit disappointed in the results. All in all, Ape Escape 2 is worthy of a purchase, but it is also notable of some issues, like a funky control style, reuse of the same aspects, and a very "1990s" camera system. It might seem old, but it is very fun in an age where 3D platformers are more an more difficult to come by. Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2017
    10
    Ape escape 2 is the first and foremost reason why I am the person who I am today. I used to be like Arlo and get nervous whenever I saw a rabbit hopping across my room but as I inserted the DVD into my ps2 I felt a rush of testosterone gush through my veins. I couldn't imagine how in depth this game actually was until I hit the start button, there's more apes in this game than there areApe escape 2 is the first and foremost reason why I am the person who I am today. I used to be like Arlo and get nervous whenever I saw a rabbit hopping across my room but as I inserted the DVD into my ps2 I felt a rush of testosterone gush through my veins. I couldn't imagine how in depth this game actually was until I hit the start button, there's more apes in this game than there are Xbox ones even sold, and the fluid controls made the experience all the most better. Buy this game or I'll buy it for you. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    WHERE IS NUMBER 4??? This game series is loved, sells good and such. But this is so far the last made. What is sony thinking? They made this year ape escape move which is a horrible game. Where is number 4??? i would buy it in a heart beat!
  5. JakeW.
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    A great game. Me and my mates spent hours on it!
  6. Spike
    Jun 6, 2004
    10
    Excellant game. And its great for kids! I highly recommend it! Hours of fun and very funny scenes.
  7. CarlN.
    Jan 8, 2004
    9
    Ape Escape 2 is without question the best platformer on the Playstation/PS2 pronto! Ok, it has not lovely graphics like JakII or Ratchet and Clank, and it is not a big improvment since the first one, so it doesnt get a clean 10'r. -BUT it is funny, it gives you a fare challenge without beeing annoying, and the control is exellent!! Top that with three great two player mini-games that Ape Escape 2 is without question the best platformer on the Playstation/PS2 pronto! Ok, it has not lovely graphics like JakII or Ratchet and Clank, and it is not a big improvment since the first one, so it doesnt get a clean 10'r. -BUT it is funny, it gives you a fare challenge without beeing annoying, and the control is exellent!! Top that with three great two player mini-games that put the mighty 'mario-party' to shame! Highly recommended! Collapse
  8. SonicO.
    Aug 20, 2003
    10
    I remember a long time ago Ape Escape was my fave game ever! I played it everyday even though I already got all the monkeys ;) But when I got Ape Escape 2 on the very first day it came out my eyes boomed! Me and my bro play it all the time cuz I want to get Spike and beat the extra boss when you get all of the monkeys!
  9. PeterH.
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    Wow this game is awesome as far as i'm concerned. I just have one problem and its not a big one but in my eyes it's just too short in a single day I had caught all the monkeys thats 300 people. And don't think it was easy. Sure I was a shut in for a whole day but I soon realized that this game has time trials and apparently a hard mode. So now I'm trying to finish the Wow this game is awesome as far as i'm concerned. I just have one problem and its not a big one but in my eyes it's just too short in a single day I had caught all the monkeys thats 300 people. And don't think it was easy. Sure I was a shut in for a whole day but I soon realized that this game has time trials and apparently a hard mode. So now I'm trying to finish the time trials and there goes another day. Then i tried to tackle the hard mode and got my butt kicked by a monkey with a machine gun. this a much deeper and more entertaining game than i had originally thought it to be this is a definite buy if you feel pride in finishing a game 100%. Expand
  10. NickV.
    Jul 11, 2003
    9
    Good game some pretty creative characters and gadgets and it is good to see a game that does not sell out to all the systems and stays only on the Ps2 like GTA.
  11. BrennanL.
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    MONKEYS IN PANTS!!FUNNY!!BUY NOW!!EEE-EEE OOHH-OOHH AH! Though Pipochi is a useless sidekick and it's too much like the first Ape Escape but WHO CARES BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!
  12. BobB.
    Jun 30, 2003
    9
    This game is an improvement, although not what i expected, but is a definite buy this year.
  13. MarkS.
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    Way better than the first, which was an awesome game itself. Not much different, yet it still has appeal. Go out and buy it now!
  14. Monsta666
    May 14, 2003
    9
    The graphics are defintely better than the last one and the extra gadgets are pretty cool along with the new features. The sub games are much better than the first. Monkey football is probably just as or even more fun than the game itself!

Awards & Rankings

43
82
#82 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
9
#9 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Play Magazine
    67
    While the game is still good fun, its kid-friendly finish and slightly dated graphics make less of an impact than it might have if released a year ago. [July 2003, p.79]
  2. A solid platform game through and through. Simply put, Ape Escape 2 is worth going bananas over.
  3. 90
    More than anything, the inescapable level of addiction in COLLECTING monkeys is the overriding reason to not just rent, but to buy and cherish this game.