• Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Sep 17, 2001
Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 15 out of 23
  1. 67
    Unfortunately, when there is a lot of action on-screen, there are noticeable slowdowns, which really shouldn't happen with a machine like the PlayStation 2.
  2. 30
    A poor game, with all of the markings of a bad game, from shoddy control, no skill required, and simply too many things happening on screen simultaneously.
  3. 60
    Moderately enjoyable with good replay value, but its many flaws really hinder what could have been a great romp in the snow.
  4. I felt that if it weren’t for the fact that collecting all twelve of the gold medals gave you that maxed-out character, I'm not sure I would have ever played the game in racing mode.
  5. This game would be the same if you were racing on a snowboard, a sled, or a greased up fat guy. Okay the greased up fat guy would probably raise the fun factor, but you get the idea.
  6. The game is nothing but an exercise in pressing X at the right time. [Nov 2001, p.110]
  7. In a field of its own somewhere near the bottom of the bottomless gaming abyss.
  8. Playing this game reminded me of being at a family outing when I was a kid and picking up a coke can to take a drink only to find out that one of my relatives had used it as an ashtray.
  9. I’ve decided to rename it “Chaotic Thunder”. See the game is such a chaotic mess that it’s hard to describe.
  10. I don't want to beat a dead horse here; just avoid Arctic Thunder, and maybe Midway's next port won't fare so badly.
  11. Arctic Thunder is not fun. The gameplay is repetitive, and the game is easily one of the worst-looking PS2 games we've seen to date.
  12. On a system this powerful, nausea-inducing framerates should be a thing of the past. [Nov 2001, p.206]
  13. It's simply so nut-twistingly rank, so grit-sandwichedly unpalatable that any speechless incredulity invariably gets rammed into your brain with more than enough force for it to pop right out the other side, leaving you gasping with an enlightened sense of faecel awareness.
  14. Don’t let the soft controls or graphic glitches deter you, though. Arctic Thunder still has some fun in the engine, mostly in the breakneck pace of the races.
  15. 80
    While not terribly complex, the racing itself makes for excellent fun, and the intricacies and unlockable features are more than enough here to keep you coming back for more.
  16. Only the most desperate sled-junky should bother with Arctic Thunder. Clearly inferior to its ancestor, this jerky ride suffers from terrible frame rates, sub-par sound, twitchy controls and mindless, repetitive gameplay.
  17. An ordinary experience that’s as routine as a metronome. [Dec 2001, p.100]
  18. 30
    It seemed like Midway wanted EVERYONE, no matter how bad they are, to be in the race. This might appeal to those who aren’t really good at this game, but it just takes away any skill needed to be a good racer and almost leaves it to blind and random luck.
  19. Virtually unplayable. [Nov 2001, p.152]
  20. Even the game's trick system is automatic; there's literally nothing that takes any skill for you to do.
  21. Rampant slowdown exacerbates the already flawed gameplay mechanics, and the game can be played just as well with or without applying any amount of skill.
  22. You'll find more arctic thunder around an outhouse in Antarctica than you will in this entire game. Don't bother to thaw.
  23. Last but not least are the incomprehensible sound effects and the typical arcade game music. The music isn't too bad but deciphering all the sound effects as they happen is something that is exceptionally difficult.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. KirkL.
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    Hours of family fun with Artic Thunder. Game has several features that provide action throughout every race. Our whole family plays it and Hours of family fun with Artic Thunder. Game has several features that provide action throughout every race. Our whole family plays it and have gotten several hours of great times. Full Review »
  2. TysonB.
    Feb 12, 2004
    4
    Unfortunately Arctic Thunder's controls are poor, the graphics aren't as sharp as most games,and without some pretty heavy Unfortunately Arctic Thunder's controls are poor, the graphics aren't as sharp as most games,and without some pretty heavy competition this game fails to give it that snowmobile feeling. Full Review »
  3. AyaneandDana
    Jul 21, 2002
    0
    Ayane: I give it a 0. It's too painful to even play it. It takes five minutes for it to bore you to death. To me, the concept is just Ayane: I give it a 0. It's too painful to even play it. It takes five minutes for it to bore you to death. To me, the concept is just like Crash Team Racing on Ice. Dana: It gets a zero. The gameplay is so quick you wouldn't even know if you raced or not. It takes no skill. Arctic Thunder... I'm surprised it even made a metascore of 49!!! Full Review »