Area 51 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Apr 25, 2005
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. An average shooter that doesn't offer up more than a handful of satisfying thrills throughout its single-player and multiplayer modes. You'll certainly play worse FPS games in your lifetime, but you'll also certainly play better ones, too.
  2. Play Magazine
    70
    But here again, another fun idea inevitably joins what feels like a game thrown together out of genre spare parts. [May 2005, p.39]
  3. Cheat Code Central
    70
    Most of my differences with Duchovny may be personal but nobody would argue with me that his performance in Area 51 is atrocious. He is to videogame voiceovers what Perry Como is to rock and roll.
  4. 70
    A solid FPS with a great storyline, it just doesn't bring too much new to the genre, and at times feels very familiar.
  5. Pelaaja (Finland)
    70
    There are not nearly enough decent fps—shooters on the PlayStation 2. That’s why Area 51 is a very welcome release on the console and even on the Xbox and pc, both of which have a much better collection of fps-games than the PS2. Midway's Austin studio has produced from a technical and visual point of view one of the PS2’s finest, if not the finest fps-game. [June 2005, p.52]
  6. AceGamez
    70
    A good, solid shooter that has a lot going for it but fails to achieve greatness, lacking that often indefinable sparkle that makes for a classic.
  7. Nothing here is original or groundbreaking, and what may seem cool at first quickly gets dull and tedious after about five minutes.
  8. Area 51 is the antithesis of what first person shooter fans want. It is actually a better offline title than it is online.
  9. One of the highlights of Area 51 is definitely the weapons. There’s a very good variety of weapons at your disposal, all of which are standard to most first-person shooters.
  10. 65
    It gets off to a promising enough start, but then it stumbles, then trips over its own feet, then chokes on its own vomit, then dies a slow, miserable death.
  11. 65
    Area 51 is in no specific way a bad game, it's just an exceptionally dated game. The player's objectives aren't much more evolved than an old Doom or Turok game, and the graphic presentation isn't up to par with the genre's best.
  12. PSM Magazine
    65
    It's a decent, but far from an otherworldly experience. [June 2005, p.74]
  13. Lacking any innovation, the best this game offers has already been done.
  14. Edge Magazine
    60
    Area 51 is entirely without inspiration, an exercise in slick, crowd-pleasing cookie-cutter cliché from the Jerry Bruckheimer school of entertainment manufacture. It is absolutely not bad, almost never broken, and usually a good deal of fun. [July 2005, p.92]
  15. Despite some decent multiplayer and a few neat features, Area 51 is a much less intriguing game than military facility. We wish it were a little more out of this world.
  16. games(TM)
    50
    There are moments when player adrenaline levels will rise above the base level, but they are so few and far between that in the end most will decide that slogging through the copious average sections simply isn’t worth the effort. [June 2005, p.116]

Awards & Rankings

#30 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#27 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    A 100% classic! A perfect choice if you're looking for a great FPS, the story and suspense will keep you on the edge of your seat and whileA 100% classic! A perfect choice if you're looking for a great FPS, the story and suspense will keep you on the edge of your seat and while the gameplay is the same as other FPS, the multi-player will keep you from ever growing bored online. One of the game modes online titled "Infection" is the funnest mode I ever played online in a action game.

    As I already mentioned the campaign gameplay is not much different from other FPS, but the story is so intense, the atmosphere is so creepy and the voice acting is so believable you will be hooked and may even lose yourself and begin to believe you're in an Alien or Predator movie.

    This review may have come too late for many as now we're on the verge of Xbox One and PS4, but if you still own a PS2 or Xbox, please pick it up, you will not be let down. A very rare 10 out of 10.

    FYI: Brian Warner (Marilyn Manson) does the voice for Edgar (the main villain) and he does a great job.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    This game is definitely an oldy nowadays, but anyway I purchased this game back on the PS2 and honestly I thought it was a great FPS shooterThis game is definitely an oldy nowadays, but anyway I purchased this game back on the PS2 and honestly I thought it was a great FPS shooter and I gave it an 8 out of 10. Full Review »
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    6
    A rather average FPS. Really not doing too much new. Being a big X-Files fan, having David Duchovny in the leading role was made the gameA rather average FPS. Really not doing too much new. Being a big X-Files fan, having David Duchovny in the leading role was made the game stand out for me. I was highly disappointed just how little voice work Marilyn Manson did in the game I believe he only has small scene towards the end of the game, and two or three short line in game. A real shame as I remeber that at the time he was being given top billing. top billing my ***! More like a brief cameo. That aside I did enjoy the game. Overall: A decent FPS, but nothing too memorable aside from the great voice acting (but likely that's just my inner fan-boy speaking.) Full Review »