Area 51 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Apr 25, 2005
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. 85
    From its chaotic beginning to its clinically insane conclusion, Area 51 provides just enough classic FPS action and technical goodness to merit a great rating and honest recommendation.
  2. It’s a surprisingly well-done FPS that not only looks good but also feels good on the PS2.
  3. Game Informer
    85
    With guns firing at full tilt, and mindless carnage taking center stage, Midway has a surefire hit on its hands. [May 2005, p.108]
  4. For PS2 owners in particular I can think of no finer FPS on the system at the moment. Given that it's technically pushing the machine further than anything else, features 16-player online multiplayer, an action-packed single-player campaign that's no pushover and provides an interesting and well-conceived twist on the saturated shooter genre I'd happily nail my hearty recommendation to all PS2 owners looking for a shooter to get them through the summer.
  5. 90
    Its otherworldly sets... are done up in such bewildering detail that you'll want to wipeout P.O.ed spacemen if only to have a more leisurely look-see at all their busy, mind-bending contraptions.
  6. With its immense array of story, online, arcade, and mapmaking modes, few can compete. Still, if you are looking for a killer FPS for the PS2, look no further than Area 51. It’s a real treat.
  7. A strong game, but it succeeds kind of in spite of itself. It would've been nice to see a lot more originality in the game, but Area 51 is a fun ride, regardless.
  8. 80
    While there are problems--too cutscene-heavy, some lame objectives, and the fact that there are infinitely more zombies than little green men--Area 51 is more than enough to make a believer out of you.
  9. Pelit (Finland)
    81
    A traditional 3D shooter that borrows elements from Doom 3, Half-Life 2, Halo 2 and Metroid Prime.An awesome game? Not quite, but decent enough. [July. 05]
  10. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    80
    Sucks all these sci-fi staples together into some kind of cliche black hole that also happens to look killer and deliver serious scares and thrills. [June 2005, p.96]
  11. An intense and enjoyable alien and mutant killing frenzy.
  12. 80
    Dialogue is fantastic. The script's professionally written. Foul language is common, yet used in the appropriate context. Weapons come off as carefully balanced, and won't disappoint.
  13. Every aspect of Area 51 is performed with quality, but with borrowed style that's familiar yet doesn't breed contempt.
  14. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    While technologically astounding and generally satisfying in terms of gameplay, Area 51 could have used a deeper, clearer story and another five to 10 hours of play time. [March 2005, p.86]
  15. Sporting some exceedingly sharp sharp, audio that will leave a player with beads of sweat on their brow, a story that could make their head feel as if it might explode (yet is still enjoyable to watch unfold), and solid frantic shooting mixed with duck and hide combat tactics all blend together to create one fantastic gaming experience.
  16. Cinematically seamless, you'll only get thrown out of the gameplay by pre-rendered cutscenes, because everything else is handled in the game engine.
  17. Area 51 is a good solid shooter with a decent storyline and rather nice graphics for a PS2 game.
  18. Fast and riotous, with plenty of crud-faced mutants to shoot down, but the moment the chaos stops, so does your grin. [GamesMaster]
  19. The enemy AI on here smokes that which is found in Bungie’s FPS masterpiece, since everything here is vicious, blood-thirsty, filled with hatred, and most of all crack shots with whatever weapons they hold.
  20. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    Guns, aliens and conspiracies make for a top-notch shooter. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  21. One of the most intense first person shooters to be released this year.

Awards & Rankings

71
32
#32 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    A 100% classic! A perfect choice if you're looking for a great FPS, the story and suspense will keep you on the edge of your seat and whileA 100% classic! A perfect choice if you're looking for a great FPS, the story and suspense will keep you on the edge of your seat and while the gameplay is the same as other FPS, the multi-player will keep you from ever growing bored online. One of the game modes online titled "Infection" is the funnest mode I ever played online in a action game.

    As I already mentioned the campaign gameplay is not much different from other FPS, but the story is so intense, the atmosphere is so creepy and the voice acting is so believable you will be hooked and may even lose yourself and begin to believe you're in an Alien or Predator movie.

    This review may have come too late for many as now we're on the verge of Xbox One and PS4, but if you still own a PS2 or Xbox, please pick it up, you will not be let down. A very rare 10 out of 10.

    FYI: Brian Warner (Marilyn Manson) does the voice for Edgar (the main villain) and he does a great job.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 6, 2017
    8
    This game reveals the truth of the area 51 and is a game that I love from its gameplay, atmosphere and the power to gather survival horrorThis game reveals the truth of the area 51 and is a game that I love from its gameplay, atmosphere and the power to gather survival horror with a fps seems incredible for me in such an old game.

    It is a great game highly recommended 8/10
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    This game is definitely an oldy nowadays, but anyway I purchased this game back on the PS2 and honestly I thought it was a great FPS shooterThis game is definitely an oldy nowadays, but anyway I purchased this game back on the PS2 and honestly I thought it was a great FPS shooter and I gave it an 8 out of 10. Full Review »