Asterix & Obelix: Kick Buttix PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Sep 14, 2004
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Play Magazine
    83
    Trust me when I say the pummeling action is simply not to be missed; there's really nothing quite like it. [Sept 2004, p.62]
  2. AceGamez
    70
    Adults will move through relatively quickly and may lose interest before the end but the cartoon graphics are so perfect and funny that the kiddies should enjoy it all the way through.
  3. 67
    With graphics and audio that feel at least five years old and a clunky combo system that are all easily ignored, the puzzles and size of the game are what really make up the overall experience. The gameplay is decent, but just barely.
  4. Game Informer
    60
    I can't let my desire to root for an underdog discount the fact that this game is really nothing special. [Sept 2004, p.111]
  5. This budget platformer's few interesting ideas are submerged under its litany of half measures and conventionalities, which include an outdated graphics engine, relentlessly boring level design, and heaps of sterilized button mashing.
  6. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    50
    Boring fights, easy puzzles. [Oct 2004, p.96]
  7. PSM Magazine
    50
    There is very little to do in Asterix and Obelix...A bland beat 'em up that squanders years of classic comic mythology. [Oct 2004, p.35]
  8. Cheat Code Central
    40
    Just about everything about this game is below par. The script is lame and does little to highlight the characters' personalities or the almost adult-oriented context of the comic book theme.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    A very underrated title.
    Do not look at critic scores, play it for yourself and judge.
    It is fairly long and has lots of unlockables. Very
    A very underrated title.
    Do not look at critic scores, play it for yourself and judge.
    It is fairly long and has lots of unlockables. Very fun mechanics.
    The plot is very simple and cartoony, I like that, it works nicely with the series.
    You can play as both Asterix and Obelix and alternate between theme for various situations.
    Some fun puzzles and lots of chaotic and fun combat.
    I recommend this to anyone.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    The story is pretty simple, just like in the movies.
    The characters are really faithful to their comic and movie versions and Asterix's
    The story is pretty simple, just like in the movies.
    The characters are really faithful to their comic and movie versions and Asterix's redesign was awesome.
    Where the game truly shines is it's gameplay.
    Such dynamic combat system, really satisfyng and simple.
    It's always enjoyable and keeps the perfect balance between puzzles, platforming and combat.
    It has various mini-game sections such as sliding down an icy mountain and turboing in a fast boat, dodging rocks along the way.

    The voice acting is also pretty good for the type of game this is.
    The level design is perfect.

    The soundtrack. Oooh, the soundtrack.
    It's phenomenal.
    Such energetic and fast paced atmospheric music.
    It fits completely into the Asterix and Obelix series.
    Sadly, it's really hard to describe the genre of the soundtrack but that doesn't matter as the OST is amazing.
    It has a big amount of unlockables.
    Different costumes and combos.
    Full Review »
  3. LeonardoA.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    I am a kind of advanced gamer, and have interest only in serious games, like Half-Life 2 and Bioshock.Anyway, that game shows me that even I am a kind of advanced gamer, and have interest only in serious games, like Half-Life 2 and Bioshock.Anyway, that game shows me that even cartoon-based games can really be amazing and funny.Without of doubt, this game should receive a prize.Serious.It is a king of challenge, there are many puzzles to solve and, of cource, tons of enemy's to defeat.I standed hours in the front of the PS2 playing it, and even now i want to play it again. Full Review »