• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Aug 18, 2004
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 29
  2. Negative: 9 out of 29
  1. Without a doubt this would be a great game for young players and when the kids have gone to bed the older gamers might want to play as well and indulge in a few of those guilty pleasures I mentioned earlier to spice it up a bit.
  2. 7 / 7 / 7 / 7 - 28 [Vol 797; 26 Mar 2004]
  3. Whatever you do, don't purchase Astro Boy. It makes a great rental since you can finish it in a day or two without having a nervous breakdown.
  4. Astro Boy: Tetsu Won Atom's greatest falling is that it is short, too short...This doesn't mean that Astro Boy isn't an engaging game. From beginning to end Astro Boy is entertaining, although simplistic and easy.
  5. Too bad: we like Astro Boy and wished there was more to it; it's akin to getting into a good book, only to find yourself reading the last page, just as it started to get interesting.
  6. What bodes particularly well for gamers, however, is the fact that gameplay borrows heavily from "NiGHTS" - a cult hit that has yet to find its own sequel. [Sept 2004, p.7]
  7. The camera in Astro Boy is absolutely inexcusable. Although you can manipulate the view using the L2 and R2 buttons (which you will be doing a lot), you find yourself looking straight into little Astro’s gigantic eyes again before you know it.
  8. Certainly enjoyable and worth playing - especially for the die-hard fans - but it's over far too quickly to warrant a purchse. [Oct 2004, p.40]
  9. 60
    Towards the end, the game kind of gives up on itself. The final two levels are overly repetitive, followed by a trio of boss fights in outer space that are twice as long and annoying (but just as easy) as the previous ones. And then... it's over.
  10. A refreshingly pure-hearted superhero in these decadent times. Unfortunately the game itself lacks in substance and is perfect only for the kids in the family. [Apr. 05]
  11. 60
    The uneven controls are a handful, especially during combat sequences. [Oct 2004, p.83]
  12. A relatively short game, occasionally repetitive, and has a few poorly structured missions. And we would've liked to see more anime sequences woven in between missions, too.
  13. Fanboys will love being Astro so much that the negatives won't be enough to deliver them; anyone else should prepare for a slow-paced, meandering ride. [Oct 2004, p.96]
  14. Four hours of straight arcade-style action would be one thing, but here you essentially visit five areas, fight five battles to realize Astro's abilities, and then it's off to the final encounter. [Sept 2004, p.68]
  15. Slow enough for players to mistake it for a first-generation PSone game.
  16. It's just a long series of boss battles interspersed with dull cuscenes and pointless flying around. [Sept 2004, p.110]
  17. Astro Boy is a light cartoon romp sure to please young admirers of the character, but it fails to offer the depth required to engage a broader demographic. [May 2004, p.105]
  18. What little real challenge there is exists solely because of the horrendous camera controls. [Oct 2004, p.98]
  19. The more I tried to look for excuses to give “Astro Boy” a higher-than-mediocre score the more I remembered how boring, repetitive and short the game was.
  20. Controlling the wild camera often proves the trickiest exercise of all and there is little freedom to explore.
  21. Like a one million-horsepower sucker punch to the good feelings we've all suddenly developed toward Astro Boy games, however, the second release, Sonic Team's Astro Boy: No Subtitle, turns out to pretty much stink.
  22. It took me exactly four hours and seven minutes to finish Astro Boy, which (if you buy the game at list price) comes out to around 10 dollars per hour. It's not a particularly memorable four hours, either. [Oct 2004, p.107]
  23. 40
    There is virtually no gameplay present -- at least none that warrants completing the title and suffering through an excessive Easter Egg hunt to discover a lot of meaningless collector cards -- and it is a brief experience.
  24. I’ll be shaking my head and wondering what went wrong to create this seriously flawed game from a great development team working with a strong license.
  25. 40
    There were times when I was loving Astro Boy and times when it was boring me to tears.
  26. 40
    Astro Boy would've been better as a straightforward genre game; instead, it's neither a full-fledged actioner nor an exploratory adventure game. It feels like a pasted together hybrid that never jells.
  27. All of this is overshadowed by awkward controls, yucky graphics, slow down, and too much loading. It's a mess that's beyond repair.
  28. The mediocre Astro Boy can’t really be recommended to anybody else than hardcore fan’s of Astro Boy. [May 2005, p.70]
  29. 35
    This game easily lacks more depth than any game that I have played in the past year, if not longer.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    Don't b e so harsh on Astro Boy, back in the day felt like a nice journey, first with the sandbox world combined with the anime is a winner for a child. Overall , is quite endearing. Full Review »
  2. UltimateT.
    Jan 8, 2008
    0
    This game sucks a lot. the game play is repetitive and boring and should be in black and white.
  3. LouisH.
    Mar 22, 2007
    0
    This game is a scar on the face of video gaming! No sense, no coolness; just dorkiness and a strange half-naked little kid who flies around all day. I wonder, was he always a boy? Full Review »