Athens 2004 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jul 14, 2004
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jase
    Aug 23, 2004
    0
    I love it just want to give it 0.
  2. Rathernotsay
    Sep 26, 2004
    10
    In a nut shell......brilliant.
  3. KevinK.
    Jul 3, 2004
    10
    Good graphics, good gameplay.
  4. A.Richy
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    Great graphics, exciting and realistic.
  5. O.Omppu
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    I like these button bashing games. Nice graphics and great gameplay.
  6. RufusB.
    Sep 19, 2004
    9
    Great fun, great graphics, realistic, bit too much button bashing and could be abit more interactive. Good old olympic fun. (Mainly for lovers of sport.)
  7. HenrikS.
    Mar 3, 2006
    6
    Some of the disciplines are quite fun to play, but in general it´s a boring title.
  8. AShea
    Jan 17, 2005
    6
    Fun but tedious. Some games are morre fun than others. Discus is very hard to do. Still entertaining.
  9. [Anonymous]
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    What i love most about this game is that they finally put gymnastics in and that pleases me since i am a gymnast.
  10. JesseW.
    Nov 23, 2004
    7
    Cool but boring and is hard to control.

Awards & Rankings

#86 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 57
  2. Negative: 8 out of 57
  1. This Olympic hopeful loses its flavor after you play through each event just once or twice. [Aug 2004, p.100]
  2. 60
    There's also been a lot of confusion in the gymnastics events where obscure controls seem to have alienated less experienced competitors from taking part at all.
  3. games(TM)
    70
    It's only the aesthetics that truly let Athens 2004 down. With a clean, unfussy menu system, it's disappointing to find this gives way to rough in-game visuals and limited animation....Nevertheless, the substandard veneer doesn't dim the shine of the gameplay. [Aug 2004, p.113]