• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Mar 25, 2003
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. This game has great controls, but they’re touchy.
  2. I am amazed at what they where able to create here... This game is fun, challenging and addicting.
  3. Sure, it's got the gorgeous looks of a supermodel, and enough cool effects to keep your eyes entertained for hours. But underneath all that makeup is a deep, less-realistic simulation racer that will have you sitting on the edge of your seat.
  4. The game's pacing is easier than GT, letting you fill up your garage pretty quickly - which is great fun since you can race your stable online. [July 2003, p.104]
  5. After the unique visuals and fresh implementation of standard and advanced features, the most compelling reason to get your hands on Auto Modellista is for its online multiplayer racing capabilities.
  6. 75
    Still, if you're like me, you'll find yourself living with these problems just because of Auto Modellista's solid online aspects, and right now, that's what every online racing fan needs. [June 2003, p.48]
  7. The background graphics, however, ruin the overall effect. The backgrounds, while using very moderate levels of cel-shading, simply don’t look congruent to the car’s graphics.
  8. 70
    Auto Modellista’s gameplay doesn’t match its outstanding visuals. Unfortunately, the driving technique at the heart of this driver doesn’t perform well.
  9. 70
    The controls are without a doubt the game's biggest sticking point, and they'll probably push more gamers away than attract them. Then again, there is no doubt that the painfully-earned skill one earns by learning to play it, and once you do get good, you'll probably love Auto Modellista.
  10. Despite its steep learning curve and simplistic online races, offline Modellista’s Garage mode is perhaps the third-deepest Career-like mode I’ve ever experienced on a racing game (after "GT3: A-Spec’s" and "Sega GT 2002’s" for XBox).
  11. Has a fantastic look, but its gameplay unsuccessfully tries to straddle the line between simulation-style tuning options and arcade-style handling and collision physics.
  12. Although Auto Modellista does an outstanding job in its visuals and customization, the racing aspect certainly did not get enough attention.
  13. 60
    It's fast and easy to play, and it looks terrific. At least the cars do. Serious car culture enthusiasts and a very select group of auto-manga readers will dig it, but its dusting of drawbacks leave it just barely on the three-star side of the rating scale.
  14. AM could've been the next great PS2 racer, if only Capcom had hired a mechanic who specialized in handling. [June 2003, p.131]
  15. The biggest problem I found was control. Nag all you want about the AI, its not that big a deal. But I hardly ever felt like I was in true control of the car that I was driving.
  16. Underneath the visual flair is a gameplay system that’s neither arcade nor simulation based, and never manages to excel in either.
  17. Powersliding, for a start, is a disaster. It's nearly impossible to do with any level of consistency, and no amount of fiddling with the car's setup will fix it. [May 2003, p.60]
  18. I am spectacularly disappointed... Because aside from looking gorgeous, Auto Modellista is an absolute pig. [June 2003, p.102]
  19. 45
    A textbook case of the gameplay taking a backseat to the graphics... Auto Modellista's biggest problem is still the poor control.
  20. The original "Ridge Racer" on PSOne had better control than Auto Modellista. The biggest problem with the game is the utter lack of traction that these cars have. [June 2003, p.28]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Aug 14, 2014
    3
    Released in 2002 by Capcom, Auto Modelista is Capcom's much hyped and flopped racing game. The game received a fair bit of hype becauseReleased in 2002 by Capcom, Auto Modelista is Capcom's much hyped and flopped racing game. The game received a fair bit of hype because Capcom said was going to the first great online racing game on the PS2. Sadly it wasn't to be, but is it any good.

    Graphics wise this game is solid. This is a racing game that still looks good today. Everything in this game has this really nice cell shaded comic book look to it. The cars also look pretty damn cool in the game with tons of different kinds of cars from Ford Camero to Dodge Vipers. This with the great sense of speed and excellent menus helps this game last the test of time.

    Sound wise it's also pretty decent. There a decent selection of music, but nothing too spectacular. Aside from that the game is just in general very respectable audio wise.

    The game play is mediocre at best. I'll be honest with you I'm not the biggest fan of simulation games like Gran Turismo, but at least in those games, I don't spin out every 30 seconds in a race. This is probably the biggest problem I have with the game. The controls are so touchy that it's hard enough to keep the car going straight as is, but it get's even harder making turns. I personally will never figure out how to get a good grip of the controls. If you can do a complete race without spinning out every 30 seconds, great for you, I'm an idiot. Probably the best things I will say that it has all the standard modes, it has early use of online play for the PS2 and some cool ways to customize your car. The problem is at the end of the day if the game doesn't play well, it all doesn't matter.
    Overall Auto Modelista is an absolute disappointment. There are some cool ideas and it's pretty cheap, it's just there are so many better racing at the time alone that you shouldn't bother.
    Full Review »
  2. [Anonymous]
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    The body kits ur able to put are the best.
  3. JohnA.
    Aug 20, 2003
    9
    This game isnt grand turismo 3, and it wasnt meant to be. For what capcom has done with cell shading in this title is amazing. The visuals This game isnt grand turismo 3, and it wasnt meant to be. For what capcom has done with cell shading in this title is amazing. The visuals are great and definitely make the game attractive. As for gameplay, its touchy at first, but once you get used to the controls and features, the game is surely a car lovers friend next to grand turismo 3. This is my favorite racing game besides grand turismo 3, id recommend it to any car lover. Full Review »