• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Auto Modellista Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (U.S. Version with Online capability) The future of online racing is now! Experience the first cell-shaded 3D arcade racing game of its kind on the PS2. Race head-to-head, up to 8 drivers online, up to 2 offline. Revolutionary VJ Feature: edit your instant replay footage and screen effects, music or save for later review. Easily customizable cars: tires, brakes, suspension, turbine kit, muffler, transmission and more with hundreds of parts to choose from! Sophisticated car physics and opponent car AI along with innovative cell-shaded graphics let you capture the true essence of racing. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. This game has great controls, but they’re touchy.
  2. Sure, it's got the gorgeous looks of a supermodel, and enough cool effects to keep your eyes entertained for hours. But underneath all that makeup is a deep, less-realistic simulation racer that will have you sitting on the edge of your seat.
  3. The game's pacing is easier than GT, letting you fill up your garage pretty quickly - which is great fun since you can race your stable online. [July 2003, p.104]
  4. Has a fantastic look, but its gameplay unsuccessfully tries to straddle the line between simulation-style tuning options and arcade-style handling and collision physics.
  5. 60
    It's fast and easy to play, and it looks terrific. At least the cars do. Serious car culture enthusiasts and a very select group of auto-manga readers will dig it, but its dusting of drawbacks leave it just barely on the three-star side of the rating scale.
  6. The biggest problem I found was control. Nag all you want about the AI, its not that big a deal. But I hardly ever felt like I was in true control of the car that I was driving.
  7. The original "Ridge Racer" on PSOne had better control than Auto Modellista. The biggest problem with the game is the utter lack of traction that these cars have. [June 2003, p.28]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. JaredT.
    May 14, 2003
    10
    Great game.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    The body kits ur able to put are the best.
  3. GregoryP.
    Mar 29, 2003
    9
    As you have heard time and time again, don't look for GT3... but this game is a whole lotta fun. Play it with friends and you have a party right there. I cannot wait to try it online. Collapse
  4. JohnA.
    Aug 20, 2003
    9
    This game isnt grand turismo 3, and it wasnt meant to be. For what capcom has done with cell shading in this title is amazing. The visuals are great and definitely make the game attractive. As for gameplay, its touchy at first, but once you get used to the controls and features, the game is surely a car lovers friend next to grand turismo 3. This is my favorite racing game besides grand turismo 3, id recommend it to any car lover. Expand
  5. JonM.
    Mar 26, 2003
    8
    It's definitely not GT3 A-Spec... but it is a good game none the less. I would recomend it for those gamers that love racing games, but don't have the skill or time to learn the skill required for the in-depth simulation games. The handling is a little awkward at first, but you get used to it. Expand
  6. Aug 14, 2014
    3
    Released in 2002 by Capcom, Auto Modelista is Capcom's much hyped and flopped racing game. The game received a fair bit of hype because Capcom said was going to the first great online racing game on the PS2. Sadly it wasn't to be, but is it any good.

    Graphics wise this game is solid. This is a racing game that still looks good today. Everything in this game has this really nice cell shaded comic book look to it. The cars also look pretty damn cool in the game with tons of different kinds of cars from Ford Camero to Dodge Vipers. This with the great sense of speed and excellent menus helps this game last the test of time.

    Sound wise it's also pretty decent. There a decent selection of music, but nothing too spectacular. Aside from that the game is just in general very respectable audio wise.

    The game play is mediocre at best. I'll be honest with you I'm not the biggest fan of simulation games like Gran Turismo, but at least in those games, I don't spin out every 30 seconds in a race. This is probably the biggest problem I have with the game. The controls are so touchy that it's hard enough to keep the car going straight as is, but it get's even harder making turns. I personally will never figure out how to get a good grip of the controls. If you can do a complete race without spinning out every 30 seconds, great for you, I'm an idiot. Probably the best things I will say that it has all the standard modes, it has early use of online play for the PS2 and some cool ways to customize your car. The problem is at the end of the day if the game doesn't play well, it all doesn't matter.
    Overall Auto Modelista is an absolute disappointment. There are some cool ideas and it's pretty cheap, it's just there are so many better racing at the time alone that you shouldn't bother.
    Expand
  7. MonkeyP.
    May 9, 2003
    2
    Its fun but its controls suck butt.

See all 10 User Reviews