Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. 40
    The clunky controls, which are way too complicated and annoying to use, as well as battle elements that either don't work particularly well or sabotage each competition, hinder the overall gameplay.
  2. You have to give B-Boy credit for taking a novel approach to a relatively untapped subject. But then you have to take all that credit away for the fact that it has no story, a Byzantine move system, and repetitive gameplay. In the end, B-Boy is difficult to pick up, easy to master, and impossible to recommend.
  3. B-Boy is an average looking game despite the hundreds of motion-captured moves. The characters are bland looking and the environments look blocky and dated.
  4. 42
    Remarkably shallow and underwhelming.
  5. The only thing that lets B-Boy down is that it feels a little bit...sloppy. [Oct 2006, p.80]
  6. Where B-Boy crucially disappoints is in the execution of its gameplay. The turn-based nature of its stages is interminably frustrating. [Oct 2006, p.94]
  7. If you're ready to step up to the challenge and spend the hours needed to get good at this, or if you're a fan of the culture, then this may well be the game for you - but for the rest of us, there are definitely better urban sports sims out there.
  8. It’s a fun, frothy take on a scene that could have easily led it to drown in detestable ghetto references and urban nods, but even though B-Boy manages to avoid travelling that dangerous path, it remains no more than a guilty pleasure. [Oct 2006, p.121]
  9. 60
    Its positives, whilst quite good, are unfortunately outweighed by its negatives leaving it being a great concept that comes off slightly undercooked in the gameplay stakes.
  10. 68
    It doesn't sound that much fun and it isn't. [Issue 144, p.84]
  11. A moderately fun game which is more entertaining to watch than play. [Oct 2006, p.80]
  12. This never gives me the urge to go into the kitchen, hitting the lino and spinning on my head; not even close. It makes me want to buy the soundtrack and play a different game.
  13. A shallow, repetitive rhythm game. [Oct 2008, p.86]
  14. 30
    Other than the music there is little good to be said about this game. It offers nothing in the way of fun, in fact it's boring and a tad irritating. The camera is surprisingly awkward for such basic gameplay and this is symbolic of the rest of the title.
  15. It's stylish and entertaining to watch, but this boy just ain't got no rhythm.
  16. We like new gaming concepts, and B-Boy is both unusual and innovative - but it's not deep enough to sustain your interest. [Oct 2006, p.89]
  17. It’s a fun game that provides all the spectacle of breakdancing without the trip to the chiropractor afterwards.
  18. The main aim of the game is to create smooth combinations and do it with enough rhythm to win more medals" than your opponent - but that isn’t particularly difficult, even later on in the game.
  19. It's fun while it lasts, but the novelty soon wears off. It's authentic, and paints the culture of B-Boying in a great light, but it becomes just a little too b-boring, too quickly.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. TurtleB.
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    i agree with James M they prolly played for a good 15 mins before deciding to quit where you should prolly be in the lab for a good half hour i agree with James M they prolly played for a good 15 mins before deciding to quit where you should prolly be in the lab for a good half hour before you start playing just like real training. the controls are only difficult because they have to rhythm after playing for like an hour its not very diffficult to hit beats while executing rediculous combos. the only thing i'm sad about is there could've been more story and i really wanted to use my character on arcade mode. Full Review »
  2. JamesM
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I'm glad I listened to user reviews and not critic reviews. I will admit the learning curve is pretty steep than normal Rhythm, but the I'm glad I listened to user reviews and not critic reviews. I will admit the learning curve is pretty steep than normal Rhythm, but the reward for pulling off the moves much greater. Read the Manual! Take your time, be patient.. and this game will be one of the best Rhythm game you will ever play. wtf is up with the critic reviews. I bet they played for an hour and gave up. Weak-Sauce! do. Full Review »
  3. AkemiK.
    Jul 20, 2007
    8
    It really is unfair to hate this game. it has great graphics and such innovative control scheme. im not a bboy or a fan but i love this game. It really is unfair to hate this game. it has great graphics and such innovative control scheme. im not a bboy or a fan but i love this game. i enjoy every minute of it. unfortunately, it really is not for everybody. if your not a fan of rythm games or still look at your controller for buttons from time to time, it is almost certain that you wont enjoy it. however, if you have a formidable hand and eye coordination, this fine piece of work wont let you down. Full Review »