B-Boy Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: B-Boy allows you to battle through authentic Hip-Hop break-dancing culture, challenging the world's best B-Boys on the world's greatest B-Boy stages - and hopefully take home an in-game adidas sponsorship along the way. The first and only authentic break-dancing title on PSP stays true to the spirit of B-Boying thanks to the wireless functionality - giving you the freedom to battle on the move – anytime and anywhere – just as B-Boy competitions were meant to be. Featuring real life B-Boy characters, every in-game move is motion-captured from the experts, including moves taken from world famous Redbull athlete, "Crazy Legs", who also acts as game MC and end of level boss. Battling around the world, B-Boy features real locations and events, accompanied by the sound of a licensed Hip-Hop and classic Funk soundtrack with each track being selected by the B-Boys featured in-game. Progress through play by taking on 40 of the world's greatest B-Boy personalities, and pull off unique moves and outrageous combo's to become number one. Key game features include: 40 B-Boy characters to do battle with, including world famous B-Boy, Crazy Legs; 12 fully licensed motion-captured competitive B-Boys from Europe, Asia and North America; 21 authentic world wide locations including Redbull BC One, Freestyle Sessions, UK B-Boy Championships and IBE; 40 licensed Hip Hop and classic Funk tracks; Customise your B-Boy with full character personalisation – winning battles allows you to kit yourself out with the latest adidas clothing. [SCEE] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. The only thing that lets B-Boy down is that it feels a little bit...sloppy. [Oct 2006, p.80]
  2. A moderately fun game which is more entertaining to watch than play. [Oct 2006, p.80]
  3. B-Boy is an average looking game despite the hundreds of motion-captured moves. The characters are bland looking and the environments look blocky and dated.
  4. It's stylish and entertaining to watch, but this boy just ain't got no rhythm.
  5. It’s a fun, frothy take on a scene that could have easily led it to drown in detestable ghetto references and urban nods, but even though B-Boy manages to avoid travelling that dangerous path, it remains no more than a guilty pleasure. [Oct 2006, p.121]
  6. 42
    Remarkably shallow and underwhelming.
  7. A shallow, repetitive rhythm game. [Oct 2008, p.86]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. JamesM
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I'm glad I listened to user reviews and not critic reviews. I will admit the learning curve is pretty steep than normal Rhythm, but the reward for pulling off the moves much greater. Read the Manual! Take your time, be patient.. and this game will be one of the best Rhythm game you will ever play. wtf is up with the critic reviews. I bet they played for an hour and gave up. Weak-Sauce! do. Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    Ignore the reviews. This game is G R E A T !
  3. Hong10
    Dec 14, 2006
    10
    I just want to get this straight. All the reviewers that reviewed this game are obviously people that have no interest in bboying. They don't have a passion for it and therefore they can't relate to the dancing at all and don't understand it at all. Therefore they CANNOT possibly review this game properly based on how accessible it is to them. This game is strictly for the bboys out there and those who have an interest in the hiphop culture. To enjoy and appreciate this game, you sort of have to be a bboy or have knowledge about it and the dance. As a bboy myself i can see that it took a lot of effort to make this game, and i know that it will not dissappoint any of the bboys out there simply because you can relate to it and when you're controlling your guy on the screen pulling off moves you can't yet do in real life you'll be like "damn i'm versing physicx...this is so cool". for anyone not into bboying and not knowing who physicx or any of the other famous bboys are...you will not enjoy the game as much, as shown by the reviews. seeing famous bboys pullin off their signature moves and watching their actual motion captured dancing will definitely appeal to those who know them. if u loved ballet and there was a ballet game which i found absolutely boring, does that make it a crap game? no, because i dont do ballet, but to those who do, it might be a great game. get the point peoples? Collapse
  4. xTxPettit
    Oct 2, 2006
    9
    Excellent game!
  5. TurtleB.
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    i agree with James M they prolly played for a good 15 mins before deciding to quit where you should prolly be in the lab for a good half hour before you start playing just like real training. the controls are only difficult because they have to rhythm after playing for like an hour its not very diffficult to hit beats while executing rediculous combos. the only thing i'm sad about is there could've been more story and i really wanted to use my character on arcade mode. Expand
  6. MatthewG.
    Oct 13, 2006
    8
    The main problem with this game is how hard it is to explain, a couple of plays of the tutorial and a thorough read of the manual are required. It's definately good though, like taking Tony Hawk's freeform strings of combos and applying it to a rhythm action game. If that sounds like fun to you and you like Hip Hop culture then definately give it a look. Expand
  7. AkemiK.
    Jul 20, 2007
    8
    It really is unfair to hate this game. it has great graphics and such innovative control scheme. im not a bboy or a fan but i love this game. i enjoy every minute of it. unfortunately, it really is not for everybody. if your not a fan of rythm games or still look at your controller for buttons from time to time, it is almost certain that you wont enjoy it. however, if you have a formidable hand and eye coordination, this fine piece of work wont let you down. Expand