User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Chase"fatts"F.
    Oct 6, 2003
    10
    What up juggalos....this is an awsome game for 2 reasons. 1. its f**king brutal 2. the Insane Clown Posse are in it....Need i say more?
  2. R.H.
    Oct 7, 2003
    10
    The Insane Clown Posse and Twiztid is in this shizzz...
  3. WillD.
    Aug 2, 2007
    2
    This game is abysmal. After the (admitted awesomeness) that is hitting people with household objects wears off, you are left with nothing more than an advertisement for the Insane Clown Posse. It has to be said that any game that can somehow make beating down on the horrorcore group with a 2x4 a tedious experience should be avoided like the plague.
  4. AJuggaloFan
    Nov 5, 2003
    10
    Since this game, Backyard Wrestling, has my favorite two band, ICP and Twiztid, I think it's the coolest thing since toilet paper!
  5. HowieM.
    Oct 20, 2003
    9
    I haven't played it yet, but it looks like and awesome game .It's a mix between streetfighting and wrestling i think it is the best combination ever, so i will have to give it a nine.
  6. BradyB.
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    The best game. it kicks a lot of ass.
  7. JayR.
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    This game is da booomb!!. If you like to play out of the ordinary you should try backyard wrestling. Fantastic moves, locks etc and the girls in the videos are super hott.
  8. Ezekiel
    Nov 7, 2003
    9
    The game is great, I mean what other game lets you play as Twiztid, ICP, Rude Boy, and other JCW stars PLUS have some kick ass videos. This game will be top until JCW decides to release their own game.
  9. [Anonymous]
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Dis game is da f#*kin bomb, its the best wrestling game ive played yet peace out juggalos MCL.
  10. MeL.
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    The best wrestling/fighting game out yet.
  11. ChrisC.
    Oct 4, 2003
    10
    This looks like the greatest game ever and i can't wait till it comes out........i also hope that rob van dam is an unlockable player.
  12. Josh
    Oct 8, 2003
    4
    Don't buy this game unless you want a FIGHTING game, this is not wrestling. Too fast pace, and the cpu just runs around and throws turret-guided-weapons...yes they follow you where ever you go. Rent this game first before paying for it like I did... Levels are very interactive though, and 2 player is alot of fun, CAW is terrible though.
  13. DaveC.
    Jan 6, 2004
    9
    This game is f...ing awesome, whether or not you're juggalo. if you're down this game has much clown luv. if not, f.... you, but you'll still like the game. the only problem was that the create-a- wrestler option wasnt very... well, creative. aside from that, if you like brutal no-rules brawling, you'll love this game.
  14. Scotty
    Oct 11, 2003
    7
    Not bad. Not the GREATEST, but fun as hell, and thats the whole point of a videogame. Tons of unlockable characters, and its about time ICP got in a game. If your looking for No Mercy 2, dont bother, but if your lookin for a fast, furious fighting game with some wicked moves, get this. I liked it better than Def Jam Vendetta....
  15. Juggalo
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    Twiztid and icp are in this game and there is blood and stuff what else is there to say.
  16. PeteM.
    Sep 13, 2003
    10
    Brutal, exciting and totally entertaining.
  17. ChrisR.
    Sep 23, 2003
    10
    Kick ass.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 24
  2. Negative: 12 out of 24
  1. 65
    Overly shallow in the mechanical department and not quite sure if it wants to be a fighting game or a wrestler, Don't Try This At Home isn't as fulfilling as it should be.
  2. 35
    The hardest part about reviewing this game is that it is so fundamentally awful it is hard not to want to give it the lowest score possible.
  3. While Backyard Wrestling certainly has qualities that could make for an interesting wrestling game, Don't Try This at Home is so unpolished that it's far more of a chore than a pleasure to play.