Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
Buy On
  1. 70
    There's just something about raising hell and experience points in Dark Alliance II that makes it more addictive than any of the Dark Alliance clones out there.
  2. Edge Magazine
    70
    What was once a pleasing console compromise now seems overly restrictive post-"Knights of the Old Republic." Despite hints of moral choices and a dusting of side-quests, it soon boils down to a straight slog, mashing the 'A' button as you wander through prettily rendered - if largely linear - dungeons. [Feb 2004, p.100]
  3. games(TM)
    70
    It's possible to sit through the game in one (admittedly long) sitting and this comes dangerously close to ruining the game. Fortunately, with five initial characters to play as and the typical Dark Alliance secrets, you'll still find yourself going back long after the main adventure is finished. [Feb 2004, p.100]
  4. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    If incessant hack-n-slash doesn't bore you, Dark Alliance II has enough solid gameplay to entertain you until "Champion (of Norrath)." But you're better off waiting. [Feb 2004, p.105]
  5. Additional equipment and spells are nice, and the characters are now much more versatile, but design and pacing problems abound.
  6. I’m not entirely sure where it happened, but somewhere during the development of the sequel, the magic that had permeated every refractive chunk of ice and rippling pool of water in the first game gave way to tired, monotonous trudges through vaguely different environments explored on endless fetch quests.
  7. Although there are plenty of missions to complete and mosters to vanquish, even die-hard D&D fans might struggle to stay awake throughout this game. [Mar 2004, p.84]
  8. New characters and the ability to customize your weapons and armor add to the title, but it's still very much the same game.
  9. If Dark Alliance II were a creature in the "D&D Monster Manual," it'd be called the Yawnisian Mind Borer, and it would lure victims into repetitive dungeons, make them wander until they fell asleep, then swipe 50 gold from their wallets. [Feb 2004, p.111]

Awards & Rankings

57
65
#65 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
33
#33 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    Almost identical to the first game in terms of gameplay. But, Dark Alliance 2 is to Dark Alliance 1 what Diablo 2 is to Diablo 1. More or lessAlmost identical to the first game in terms of gameplay. But, Dark Alliance 2 is to Dark Alliance 1 what Diablo 2 is to Diablo 1. More or less the same just amped up, perfected and done allot better than before. BG: DA2 is perhaps the best hack-n-slash game on the PS2 and demonstrated its engine to perfection. Overall a brilliant game. Full Review »
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    My all time favorite game for the PS2.. Just as good as the first but with more characters, and in my opinion a much better story. Of course iMy all time favorite game for the PS2.. Just as good as the first but with more characters, and in my opinion a much better story. Of course i wouldn't recommend this game for story alone; it is a decent story but nothing compared to bg1/2. The gameplay is what really got me hooked. I enjoy playing one hero more than a party. Playing this game with my brother was the most fun i've ever had on a console. I don't think it would have been nearly as fun solo (i have played it solo) because the teamwork involved in the classes makes everything feel more rewarding. I played the necromancer and he played the barb, and when i casted haste we would steamroll over anything in our path. It was a lot of fun finding gems and gear in this game as well. The boss fights are still some of the most balanced i've had in any game. I highly recommend trying this game, and with a friend if possible. It's just a shame it was never released on PC so that you could play with your friends online :( Full Review »
  3. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Action/RPG perfection. Awesome game in every way. Excellent replay value, with all the different characters, and the unlockable extreme mode.Action/RPG perfection. Awesome game in every way. Excellent replay value, with all the different characters, and the unlockable extreme mode. Love the first game, love this one even more. Full Review »