Batman: Vengeance PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Oct 15, 2001
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy On
  1. In the end, BV succeeds at what it set out to do--it puts you into the role of Batman. Every major aspect of the character is presented in some way in the game...it is one of those incredibly rare birds known as a good licensed game.
  2. Game Informer
    70
    It's an atrocity to play. [Nov 2001, p.98]
  3. The camera, for one, can be quite erratic and gets frustratingly inadequate when you only have the option to centre it behind Bats.
  4. 70
    The most faithful rendition of the Batman animated series yet. The graphics are appropriately dark and angular, successfully evoking the series’ “dark deco” look, and the animation is fast and dynamic. The end result, however is marred my occasional murkiness and poor collision detection.
  5. Ultimately, Batman: Vengeance is hampered by its linear nature and lack of mental challenge, but the game is still heads and shoulders above all other Batman titles released in the last few years.
  6. It is far from perfect, but that being said, this game is still the best Batman game ever made for any system, and I have played them all!
  7. Nothing chaps my hide more than a really good idea for a video game absolutely destroyed by poor controls and subpar cause and effect.
  8. Next Generation Magazine
    60
    These intriguing elements can only offset, and not make up for, the often frustrating gameplay. [Dec 2001, p.100]
  9. 60
    Aside from an inability to fully control Batman in the first-person mode, many of the things he can do -- such as sneak along walls and use the Bat Grappling Hook -- end up as fairly clichéd means to add puzzle sequences or even just length to the game.
  10. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    Its presentation and story make it respectable, nonetheless. [Dec 2001, p.162]
  11. For better or for worse though, "Vengeance" relies on scripted and very linear, boring and predictable encounters with enemies/NPC's to move the game along by fists and kicks rather than thought.
  12. The game succeeds on so many levels that the flawed gameplay borders on tragedy. The only reason I felt compelled to play the game was to enjoy the graphics and sound, but unfortunately that isn't enough.
  13. Who among you is a fan of the old school games that forced you to learn boss patterns, enemy locations, arbitrary death, to the point of I'm-gonna-throw-this-joystick-out-the-window-and-bean-some-poor-schmuck-out-for-a-Sunday-stroll frustration? Well, here's your game.
  14. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    58
    Only hardcore Batfans should bother enduring this frustration. [Dec 2001, p.236]
  15. The only time you can use the Bat-grapple is when you get an onscreen signal to look for a huge, out of place Bat-insignia perched on the corner of some overhead location. Oh, I guess I'm supposed use my Bat-grapple here. Sheesh!

Awards & Rankings

#75 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#37 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Oct 19, 2014
    3
    I think this game isn't that good. i think it's OKAY but things are WAY too dark too see, The controles are HORIBLE, it is alittle cartoonishI think this game isn't that good. i think it's OKAY but things are WAY too dark too see, The controles are HORIBLE, it is alittle cartoonish for a teen videogame, it is boring, you need to use the hook shot at surtin' parts, and you need to hand cuf them when their down. This is the worst batman game in HISTORY!! Full Review »
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    4
    Batman Vengeance is a decent and somewhat stylish super hero/adventure game who's ruined by its terrible controls and lame boss fights. IBatman Vengeance is a decent and somewhat stylish super hero/adventure game who's ruined by its terrible controls and lame boss fights. I don't recommend it, specially for Batman fans. Full Review »
  3. Mar 7, 2011
    4
    This is one of the games that help give Batman the bad reputation in the video game world, first of all it's to dark to see anything going onThis is one of the games that help give Batman the bad reputation in the video game world, first of all it's to dark to see anything going on screen, and the controls are bad, and the story doesn't keep you hooked either, it's definitely one of Batman's worst games. Full Review »