• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Jan 19, 2003
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. While the immersion factor is high, it’s hard to feel like you’re playing much more than a support role in the overall war at times, unlike the role played in the Starfighter games.
  2. I like the overall idea of Aquila, but eventually the gameplay comes off as silly and a little contrived. [Feb 2003, p.98]
  3. A surprisingly solid game. The numerous missions are hard, but not impossible.
  4. 70
    Although you’ll encounter heavy slowdown and flat textures, the graphics are pretty slick.
  5. Though the weak storyline, too-easy-for-its-own-good firing controls, and a few other small errors take away from the game's fun, and keep it from being a truly great game, it still isn't enough to take down the solid gameplay complemented by the game's unique transforming ideas.
  6. There's nothing like towering over a squad of infantry troops in a mech and obliterating them with a flick of your retro rockets rather then wasting ammo. I felt that was a nice touch.
  7. It does give fans of the genre something new to try, though many will surely feel as though they've played this game before.
  8. 72
    The striking visual design, the intensity of the battles, and the seamlessness of the mech's transformation add up to an engaging experience.
  9. While I wouldn’t call this title really high quality, it rests on the strength of good gameplay and a proven console game style.
  10. By far the coolest, most memorable aspect of the game is the ships' ability to transform on-the-fly.
  11. There are plenty of objectives to complete and items to unlock, but ultimately the action can get a little repetitive and stale.
  12. What it lacks in substance, it makes up for in brilliance, and while we're averse to rewarding style over substance, in this case, we can't really deny the game's addictive appeal. [Feb 2003, p.73]
  13. 80
    It's an addicting game, a good game, with a solid idea, great AI, and plenty of extras.
  14. Note to developers: When you attempt to produce something new and original in the development oven, cook the idea till it’s done. Don’t bring it to the table lukewarm.
  15. Thankfully, solid graphics and audio, two-player Co-op and Versus modes, and lots of stuff to unlock keep this blast-a-thon steady. [Feb 2003, p.98]
  16. Looks great, controls well, and has more explosions per square inch than any three other games. We love it. [Feb 2003, p.34]
  17. The single most impressive thing about this game is the visuals. It ‘s quite remarkable to behold. Not in a “isn’t that pretty as an oil painting” kind of way, but in the sheer grand scale of it.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. CharlieB.
    Jul 9, 2007
    7
    It's quite a fun game, challenging and interesting. It loses out on the wingmates - most of them die quite easily, and on the storyline, It's quite a fun game, challenging and interesting. It loses out on the wingmates - most of them die quite easily, and on the storyline, which felt more of an extra, pasted onto the end of each scene rather than part of the game itself. Overall it was a good game, but is less immersive than many games I've played Full Review »
  2. JohnS.
    Jun 19, 2003
    9
    Overall this game is great, but a few minor problems such as framerate in multiplayer and atrocious voice acting for hawk the main cahracterOverall this game is great, but a few minor problems such as framerate in multiplayer and atrocious voice acting for hawk the main cahracter bring the score down. all in all a really good well thought out game with a decent story and good AI. Full Review »
  3. PhalanxDream
    May 6, 2003
    9
    This is a pretty amazing game with more than just goin around in a giant robot that can also turn into plane and blowing things up. there is This is a pretty amazing game with more than just goin around in a giant robot that can also turn into plane and blowing things up. there is a certain element of tactics involved. i love games based on robots so this is a great game by me, if you are less into giant robot warefare then i wud still recomend this as a high choice as its gameplay is phenominal. So says Phalanx Dream. Full Review »