• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 28, 2006
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Right now, all we're left with is a great controller and a set of lackluster songs.
  2. Considering that there has never been a US release of beatmania even though Japan has seen at least ten releases by now, Konami managed to make up for the delay by delivering a solid title.
  3. It is far less physically exerting than DDR, In The Groove! or Taiko Drum Master, allowing an audience who can't necessarily get up and flail wildly about to get their groove on.
  4. 77
    I'm hooked, however, and I'm willing to join in the mania with a motto of my own-- "Vive le difference."
  5. Beatmania US just isn't the game it should be, bottom line.
  6. 60
    Beatmania certainly had the potential to be a great rhythm game, as its controller and even ideal are great. However, its terrible track listing really hampers the experience, and its overly flashy UI doesn't help.
  7. Beatmania's long-overdue release outside of Japan shows off its many weaknesses, with the most egregious of which being its unimpressive song list.
  8. 90
    Being the mother of rhythm games, Beatmania has been around before Dance Dance Revolution ever got popular. It took a long time, but it's finally here, and rhythm game fans everywhere should be rejoicing.
  9. 60
    The tunes vary widely in difficulty -- and while personal taste in music is something I can't debate in a review, I found the overall selection of music to range from good to, shall we say, "interesting."
  10. For those who loved the arcade hit, this is a long-awaited must-have. But even if you're a newcomer to the series, Beatmania is a fun, rhythmic button-masher that will turn you into a fan.
  11. Tired of dancing to the tunes? Konami lets you become the DJ, with the aid of a cool controller. Fun for a while, if not for the dated songlist.
  12. Whether alone or with a friend, Beatmania delivers where it counts. [Apr 2006, p.124]
  13. It’s addictive, straightforward and unforgiving, and most rhythm gamers will be more than happy with that combination.
  14. Beatmania is a great rhythm game, but it’s not intended for a wide audience. I don’t think too many gamers will have the patience to get better and enjoy the harder songs.
  15. The arcade controller is really cool, and the tunes are jammin. The only big issue with the game I have is it's difficulty. You get a little into the game and it just gets too hard to play.
  16. The game's a serious hand-eye workout with a lot of depth, but next time we'd like to see it become a little more accessible for the non-hardcore. [Apr 2006, p.85]
  17. For people new to the game, or those only with arcade experience, this will be a great home version. [Apr 2006, p.62]
  18. For fans of the genre (or the arcade game) only.
  19. Beatmania is dated. It could have been released on the PSX and we could all be over with it by now.
  20. 60
    However, the song selection, which I'd normally talk about later in the review, is pretty ass-tastic.
  21. Beatmania had the makings for a solid rhythm game with its sweet turntable peripheral, accessible-yet-challenging gameplay and plethora of game modes and options, however when the most important element to this type of game -- the music -- is so forgettable the entire gameplay experience is essentially ruined.
  22. Get a better game such as "Guitar Hero" or "Taiko Drum Master."
  23. If you're determined to don cans and rock the boards, you'd be better off just buying the real thing. [Apr 2006, p.102]
  24. With some small tweaks, this would’ve been a title worth playing, but then it would’ve just been another "Frequency" or "Amplitude." My verdict? Pass.
  25. Whether it's a licensed track by Moby or Timo Maas, or a Bemani original such as Genom Screams or the Shining Polaris, the selections vary in style, speed, and genre.
  26. Doesn't really offer the same visceral thrill as something like "Guitar Hero" or even any of the "DDR" games. [Apr 2006, p.82]
  27. The only problem, though, is that this isn't the best edition to find a release, as the displays are above average at best, and the music selection is wayyy lacking.
  28. Though it isn’t the freshest rhythm game in the world, Beatmania hits the stage rocking thanks to a pretty large list of tunes, a groovy controller and tons of modes and options.
  29. The weak song choice and length of the songs kill the game for casual fans or those trying to find out what it’s all about.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Probably the best ps2 rhythm game.
    Also, for everybody saying this game is a clone of guitar hero... The damn game came before guitar hero!!!

    (At least the first games in the series)
    Sure, it may be hard but still the game was made in japan, what do you expect? As a osu!mania player i sure do enjoy this game a lot!
    Not a must buy, but recommended if you're into rhythm games!
    Full Review »
  2. CharlieC.
    Jun 20, 2007
    7
    Could have been considerably better, particularly the largely obnoxious music selection, but such a low price for such an awesome peripheral can't be beat. Plus, the game really isn't half bad. Full Review »
  3. JimmusM.
    Sep 29, 2006
    5
    Lame. The beginning songs are just annoying and sound like someone dabbling on a sequencer board. The scratching is under-sensitive and doesn't register at times. The timing seems off, so you have to hit keys late to be in synch. (Gee, either that, or I have absolutely no rhythm at all...) This game is no competition whatsoever to Guitar Hero, which is fantastic. I bought it for the songs by Moby and Timo Maas, but I'll take it back to the store and hold my breath for Guitar Hero II. Full Review »