• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 11, 2003
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 90
    One of those rare games that shines from all points with an unmistakable quality of intelligence and personality...It is pierced throughout with humor, intelligence, and humanity.
  2. While Beyond Good & Evil feels pretty short, its interesting premise and impressive presentation pick up the slack and make it a game well worth playing.
  3. Nothing you see and nothing you read can prepare you for this game. Beyond Good & Evil is a masterpiece through and through.
  4. It's definitely a compelling place to explore, and the visual look is breathtaking, but too often I felt a pang of boredom creeping into the eerie dreamworld that Ubisoft had created. [Dec 2003, p.142]
  5. 90
    A tour-de-force of imagination, an electronic window into a fantastic world that exists in only our consoles and a creative French guy's mind. I greatly enjoyed my time in that world, and my only real regret is that it was over so soon.
  6. 80
    It never really lives up to its title - a vision that could have benefited from a little more focus. It's a tired cliché but one that Beyond Good & Evil exemplifies: jack-of-all-trades, master of none.
  7. It is, apart from a few choice technical hiccups, a marvellous game...[It] leaves you feeling warm and happy every time you finish playing it, and in this medium there can be no greater triumph than that.
  8. Had the game broken the 20-hour mark and cut down a bit on the stealth sequences it could have been an amazing game. As it sits, BG&E manages to remain highly entertaining throughout but ends far too soon.
  9. 75
    There's still a little bit of a tired feeling, even when you're having fun. What seems to be at the root of this problem is the game's story. The further in you get, the more plot holes open, until by the end of the game you have the nagging suspicion that none of this makes very much sense.
  10. Everything about it is magic - and even if it is a bit on the short side, it's an amazing game that no one who experiences will soon forget.
  11. 80
    The wide variety of gameplay elements creates an intoxicating mix that will leave players yearning for more. And this is the game's primary issue. Just when you become fully immersed in all the game has to offer, it ends.
  12. Gameplay is part and parcel of an elegantly imagined gameworld. The animation is so smooth as to be almost flawless, with the same engine handling everything from simple dialogue to a headlong rooftop escape from enemy aircraft...I think you should all go play Beyond Good & Evil right damn now.
  13. A gaming masterpiece, blending together light combat, stealth, platform action, puzzle solving and racing to form a compelling gameplay mix, tied together with a terrific story and wrapped up in gorgeous visuals and audio.
  14. It's an 'experience' as much as a game, meaning that it will leave as many people cold as it grabs by the right half of the brain. Beyond good, then, but not quite excellent. [Christmas 2003, p.104]
  15. Where most games entertain us with cutscenes to observe, Beyond Good & Evil is a cutscene. This is the first game to fully, properly inject the undeniable power of cinematic technique into the experience. [Nov 2003, p.70]
  16. Rather than force you from one style of gameplay to another depending on which level you're on, BG&E blends the transitions together almost seamlessly. The additional styles never really encroach on the main crux of the adventure; they're always peripheral and therefore serve to enrich the experience, rather than dilute it. [Dec 2003, p.114]
  17. Mixing Walt Disney's colorful whimsy, the industrial distopias of French cinematographers Jeunet and Carot ("City of Lost Children"), and "Zelda" mastermind Shigeru Miyamoto's genius for flexible gameplay, BG&E is mesmerizing, ominous, and, most of all, memorable. [Dec 2003, p.200]
  18. Packed with atmosphere, accessible gameplay and sweet visuals, Beyond Good & Evil has most definitely reached beyond our expectations. Don't miss it.
  19. Beyond Good and Evil is a game like no other, and while many aspects of its design are unoriginal snippets of genre, they all blend into each other to create something truly original.
  20. Hillys is an intriguing and beautiful world - part Venice, part Naboo, and entirely fascinating.
  21. The colorful mix of characters and exciting plot combined with great gameplay make this one a must play.
  22. We're in this dream of a game right now and we don't want to wake up and start again- it has to continue and any interruption is akin to a fire alarm going off in a cinema during your favourite fantasy movie. Lovely stuff.
  23. Despite the whimsical nature of the varied critters that inhabit Hyllis, everyone (and everything) feels so real that you might just forget you're playing a game. [Dec 2003, p.180]
  24. The storyline, as well as tasks in hand, all work in perfect synergy, which gives this game its uniqueness. The puzzles in themselves may not be overly taxing, nor some of the stealthy actions, but as far as pure unabated storytelling and immersive interaction goes this works a treat!
  25. An excellent mix of atmosphere, visual design and accessible gameplay. Beyond Good & Evil is an experience that is not to be missed. [Holiday 2003, p.20]
  26. While not quite as epic as something like "The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker," it’s a true charmer. Minor gripes aside (as a recap these are repetitive combat, short length and small scope), this is one of those can’t miss titles that I’m sure most will overlook.
  27. The bulk of the game is really a pretty standard adventure game steeped in average but not too puzzling puzzles.
  28. Sometimes it’s just too darn hard to figure out what you need to do, or where you need to go.
  29. I’m of the belief that you should always leave your audiences wanting more instead of wishing for the experience to end. While some might consider that a sign that a game is too short, I was satisfied and indeed wanted more.
  30. Seldom has a third-party multi-platform title integrated such a high level of story-telling and character-interaction sophistication with so many gameplay styles (stealth, action, platform, etc.) to create such a coherent and thoroughly satisfying interactive experience.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    A game is not a bottle of wine, and with time it does not get better. Sometimes it takes only a year or two to say, that a game is not appropriate for this time. Having read many reviews about "Beyond Good & Evil" and having watched trailers for its sequel I was eager to play this classic. The version that I played was HD remake that was released in PSN for PS3. After playing for an hour I realized, that I had a feeling of my time being wasted, because I just could not get into the game. Don't get me wrong, I watched much videos and read discussions that claimed, that the fans of the original were happy with remake. But after playing dozens of games that were released for the last TEN years (yeah, that's how much time had passed since the game's release date) it is difficult to appreciate any aspect of the game. "Beyond Good & Evil" has good story, nice characters, various gameplay, but it is history now. History that I missed ten years ago and can't enjoy nowadays. Full Review »
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    Probably one of the most underrated games of its generation. Truly a great classic that deserved more attention. Great visuals, fun gameplay and some genuinely unique characters. A game that was perhaps a bit ahead of its time. Full Review »
  3. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    I'm so sad that Beyond Good & Evil wasn't a success when it comes to poor marketing sales. It was the same fate as cult classics such as Psychonauts, Shenmue, MadWorld, and Okami. But when it comes to sci-fi video games, Michael Ancel, creator of the always popular Rayman franchise, set the bar high into a critical darling that every video game has its own side of the story. In Beyond Good & Evil, you get to play a heroic and lovable green-haied reporter named Jade as she and her sidekick, Pey'j are finding out the answers on who is responsible for attacking Hilly's and trying to governed the system for world domination. But now as a photographer, Jade must uncover the secrets and unlock the past as she must solve puzzles, battle countless DomZ, and even earn extra cool items. I think Jade is a phenomenal damsel in distress in Ubisoft's 25th Birthday, and she can do anything whether it's a fight to the finish (don't read this spoiler in the end of the game!) or helping citizens, no one can outmatch her athletic skills and incredible talent. I think Beyond Good & Evil should get a sequel and hopefully as soon as Sony has to make an announcement about the Playstation 4, maybe this is good time to receive a medal of honor for Mr. Ancel. Beyond Good & Evil, Perfect timing, incredible story with voice acting, and fantastic moments. It's one of those games you have to play if you still own a PS2. Full Review »