• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Jun 16, 2003
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Rather than just create a lazy racing game and throwing in a load of huge rigs, Big Mutha Truckers has RPG elements, which mean that every player will have a different trucking experience and you’ll need to be a successful businessman as well as a good driver in order to succeed.
  2. Game Informer
    75
    Saying that Big Mutha needs more freedom and faster driving may sound damning. However, the game's got a great head of steam going already, and it's definitely got more teeth than the other slack-jawed truckers already on the road. [May 2003, p.82]
  3. As opposed to "King of Route 66," another $20 title that simply relies on such stereotypes, Big Mutha Truckers imports impromptu race challenges, various hauls, market-monitoring bartenders, biker pirates, loan sharks, and a ruthless extended family into classic arcade play. The game's got heart, shrouded though it may be.
  4. 69
    The surprising depth of the campaign mode, and the simple pleasures of smashing into oncoming traffic, helps negate the weak audiovisuals and onslaught of "yee-haw!" hee-haws.
  5. GameNow
    67
    Since there are no multiplayer options, replay value is kept to a bare minimum once the ride's all over. [Aug 2003, p.35]
  6. 63
    It really is fun for a while, but the monotonous gameplay will soon catch up with you. There are only so many times you can bring yourself to traverse the highway from Capital City to Greenback.
  7. The game's arcade elements aren't done well enough to ever balance with the simulation elements, and the end result is a game that's too wacky to be a sim game and too simulation-based to be an arcade game.
  8. A simple and fun game that unfortunately gets old quickly.
  9. Though the game is initially good fun, there just isn’t enough variety to sustain interest for too long, and I can’t see myself picking it up again anytime soon for another blast.
  10. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    You can only truck for so long before things start to get stale. [Aug 2003, p.97]
  11. Gamers will quickly grow tiresome of the same challenges and back-and-forth monotony.
  12. A weekend rental for those looking for a big rig fix, but it has trouble keeping its momentum up over the long haul.
  13. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    58
    I recommend Bug Mutha Truckers for the occasinal distraction or one-nighter, but don't expect it to keep you entertained for the long haul. [Aug 2003, p.111]
  14. GMR Magazine
    40
    If hauling junk from A to B holds any sort of appeal, it withers in record time. [Aug 2003, p.72]
  15. The repetitiveness of its gameplay, overt racist (and culturally bankrupt) attitude and lack of multiplayer options or rewards, however, sidelines THQ’s latest.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. TyC.
    Feb 23, 2004
    5
    This game has good graphics, and sound, but I think that it could have been more exciting. I borrowed this game from my friend, and I This game has good graphics, and sound, but I think that it could have been more exciting. I borrowed this game from my friend, and I probably shouldn't have. I think that it was a complete waste of my time. Some others would probably think otherwise though. I think that there should have been more options throughout the game. Full Review »
  2. MattG.
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    It rules.
  3. EdwardS.
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    It is great fun and has amazing graphics.