Black PlayStation 2

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 176
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 29, 2013
    6
    I think only graphics, sounds and medium difficulty to find ammo can help this game. A short mission, rarely cooperate with another soldiers and too many rounds per magazine for most weapons.
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    Black doesn't bring anything new, but it have the whole package that a successful FPS must have: Tons of guns, explosions, team work... and lack of originality. Anyway, you'll have fun with it.
  3. Mar 28, 2013
    6
    I feel lke this game had so much potential. But that's it, potential. The storyline leaves much to be desired. Lack of multiplayer? I found myself sitting back at he end of this game and asking, is that it? It's a shame, beause all of the way through I was anticipting more! The physics, graphics and controller mechanics are fantastic but the developers didn't realize (Obviously) that thoseI feel lke this game had so much potential. But that's it, potential. The storyline leaves much to be desired. Lack of multiplayer? I found myself sitting back at he end of this game and asking, is that it? It's a shame, beause all of the way through I was anticipting more! The physics, graphics and controller mechanics are fantastic but the developers didn't realize (Obviously) that those factors aren't the end, but a means to an end. Those things are great led with differing environments, exiting storyline and MULTIPLAYER! lol But all in all, if you're looking for a good shoot em' up, go ahead. Expand
  4. IanF.
    Dec 13, 2007
    6
    Only eight hours of samey gamepley. No extra modes or multiplayer. No splitscreen and no co-op. Why did I buy this? must try harder.
  5. BartokF.
    Dec 13, 2007
    6
    Average fps. Dull after a while and way too short. Much better out there.
  6. JeffB.
    Dec 13, 2007
    5
    The developers would do well to understand that you need balance in a game to impress - you don't just go all out shoot shoot shoot or the brain just numbs out! Take a look at any of the top fps's and they have balance and peaks and troughs of game action design. I'm off to play something more creative instead.
  7. VersemS.
    Nov 26, 2007
    7
    Yes this game has its moments, as they say the game play is exciting but it could have been way better. The physics are good, all they need are good graphics with sharp textures and lighting. Black 2 will most likely be amazing. But even so, BLACK is quite good for PS2 but what would have made it better also would have been multiplayer. Plus the story line was confusing and boring.
  8. ChadH.
    Jul 4, 2007
    6
    Hmm, ok I guess. Graphics are astounding - 'specially on a PS2 but the game itself didn't do much for me. Not a lot of depth and coming from a PC I can safely say that it's one of the weaker FPS's out there in terms of story!? and gameplay.
  9. Graeme
    Jun 25, 2007
    6
    What was all the fuss about. Average game, nice graphics.
  10. AndyL.
    May 10, 2007
    6
    Great looking game but so damn repetitive it becomes boring very quickly. Way too short for my money. Not really up there with the big boys of FPS's. Unfair at times but does look fantastic for PS2. More to it than looks though!
  11. AnsonG.
    Jul 21, 2006
    6
    Looks nice but it a bit hard and frustrating. Not only that, it was too short and u cannot even save your checkpoint at all. So u have too finish the level 1st then only u can save your game. Its not like Timesplitters or Area 51 will save your checkpoint any place u reached. Man, they could have done more better then that.
  12. SamuraiSlash
    Mar 27, 2006
    7
    Sort of Medol of Honor on steroids. BIG problems, 1. NO MAP!? 2. NO COMPASS!!? WTF? You spend nearly as much time running in the wrong dorection as the right direction on some missions. 2B fair, most are straghtforward enough but perhaps the lack of these things add to the intensity of the experience. You end up sooo frustrated that you take it out on the bad guys and joyfully blow the Sort of Medol of Honor on steroids. BIG problems, 1. NO MAP!? 2. NO COMPASS!!? WTF? You spend nearly as much time running in the wrong dorection as the right direction on some missions. 2B fair, most are straghtforward enough but perhaps the lack of these things add to the intensity of the experience. You end up sooo frustrated that you take it out on the bad guys and joyfully blow the livin' crap outta them. The atmosphere, graphics and sound are amazing, I must say. A few more checkpoints, ability to skip boring, senseless cutscenes and a save option would've been nice. Overall, the experience was challenging and left me with a mild case of post traumatic stress syndrome but as for the fun factor... I'm still not sure. It was quite depressing and very stressfulI. I feel like I fought in a pointless war against faceless enimies with little... make that NO payoff. Sure I beat every level and killed every guy and blew up most everything in sight but (yawn) so what? A big waste of time and bullets. Sorry, Criterion but look at the bright side... BURNOUT RULES! Expand
  13. HarleyK.
    Mar 9, 2006
    6
    It was a fair game to play but why do we still have to follow halo in holding only two weapons, lets go back to the best fps doom's motto of more weapons more killing more fun.
  14. THUNDERL.
    Mar 9, 2006
    5
    it looks nice, but its really very average and even mediocre. the lack of a overhead radar display makes the combat confusing, and the hailed destructability is not better than red faction was in 2001. Lots of decals and indestructable windows. And on the whole its also just plain boring.This game is 50 % hype, 50 % decent. Take your expectations from all the glowing reviews and media it looks nice, but its really very average and even mediocre. the lack of a overhead radar display makes the combat confusing, and the hailed destructability is not better than red faction was in 2001. Lots of decals and indestructable windows. And on the whole its also just plain boring.This game is 50 % hype, 50 % decent. Take your expectations from all the glowing reviews and media assault, and cut them in half . Expand
  15. MattB.
    Mar 4, 2006
    5
    The game is way too short to merit a purchase. It gets repetitive pretty fast. Level design get's boring in later levels. And enemys are downright stupid. Graphics and sounds are the only things going for it.
  16. Drag-on
    Feb 26, 2006
    7
    It's killzone in a better package.
  17. UweP.
    Feb 24, 2006
    5
    Quite impressive technically in some ways, but it feels like all the other generic FPS'es with crap AI out there after the initial thrills of blowing stuff up wears off. Also, several fundemental flaws haven't been ironed out, such as the obvious lack of checkpoints in some places.
  18. Buckshot
    Feb 23, 2006
    5
    Solid 1-night rental. A one-trick-Pony if there ever was one. Nice clowdy puffs, but old school in the wrong ways. Geez the press sucks up to some developers.

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 62
  2. Negative: 1 out of 62
  1. Taken as a whole, BLACK is just your average first-person shooter.
  2. netjak
    65
    "Gun-porn" turns out to be the most accurate descriptor anyone slapped onto the game. I mean, how many times can you rewatch the same bit of pr0n before you're completely unstimulated by it? It's intense for the first experience, but completely diminishing returns every time after that.
  3. An action movie given digital, interactive form. It's a relentless, constant barrage of sensory input, and it's done in a way that no developer thus far can match. Immersive, beautiful and a blast to play, BLACK is a must-have.