Black PlayStation 2

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 199
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Perfect on PS2 ,Best Shooting Game Ever I Played,Controls are Good ,Graphics are Good ,
    sound is awesome i played it in easy mode with health pack it's not that hard not to easy so i feel it's good ,Aim is Too Good For me ,i personally think if you are looking for shooting game You Must Play It ,Good Luck ...
  2. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    It is one of the best FPS on the PS2! Even though it is a relatively short game, each level took me at least 1 hour to complete, and so it is a fun game that ahs a lot of replay value.
  3. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    Black is Burnout but in a first person shooter; one of the finest FPS I've ever played. Criterion's RenderWare engine really showcases what the PlayStation 2 can really do in terms of graphics and sound. The graphics are crisp and the environments are slick looking. The sound of the explosions and the gun sounds sound really realistic. Play Black with loud speakers and listen to the soundsBlack is Burnout but in a first person shooter; one of the finest FPS I've ever played. Criterion's RenderWare engine really showcases what the PlayStation 2 can really do in terms of graphics and sound. The graphics are crisp and the environments are slick looking. The sound of the explosions and the gun sounds sound really realistic. Play Black with loud speakers and listen to the sounds of the guns and explosions blast through the speakers. Parts of the environment like tankers, cars and pipes can be destroyed which is a nice touch. The gameplay is standard for a FPS: just run and shoot through the levels. There is no blood in the game. The game is short (just 8 levels) and very little replay value to keep you going except a few pieces of Intel to collect and 4 difficulties modes to choose from. Despite all this, Black is a really fun shooter and should appeal to fans of the FPS genre. Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Such an underrated game, people are complaining about things that never troubled them in other games such as: Lack of a built in multiplayer mode/split screen: HL2 has no built in multiplayer/split screen, did we complain? Diffuculty in aiming: Every Valve game had no aiming at all, neither did Doom, or Quake. Nobody complained. Anyway, amazing graphics, decent AI, interesting story,Such an underrated game, people are complaining about things that never troubled them in other games such as: Lack of a built in multiplayer mode/split screen: HL2 has no built in multiplayer/split screen, did we complain? Diffuculty in aiming: Every Valve game had no aiming at all, neither did Doom, or Quake. Nobody complained. Anyway, amazing graphics, decent AI, interesting story, awesome amounts of destruction, ad nice sound effects. Expand
  5. WillKill
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    Great FPS. Yeah there is no mulitiplayer, but that doesn't take away from the game. This game was designed to do one thing, and thats Kick Ass. When are game reviews and people going to quit bashing EA. Enough Said
  6. Spoon
    Feb 28, 2006
    9
    When they call this game "Gun porn" they were right on the money. Weak story, over the top action that puts a smile on your face but leaves you empty inside. Great game.
  7. Pegasus
    Jan 18, 2007
    9
    Absolutely fantastic, just so short, I finished an awesome 8 missions and spent half an hour looking for the 9th mission before realising that was it, 6 hours gameplay, way way way to short, but I'm hoping to get Lennox on a sequal.
  8. SamM.
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    If Burnout had a sex change into a shooter, it'd be black. It's a brilliant shooter, which although lacks variety you never really notice due to how much that single idea is. and also note that Edge gave it 80, and they are tough cookies.
  9. th00pE.
    Dec 16, 2006
    9
    Black is the most intense and incredible FPS available; however, the 8 missions prove to be incredibly short, and although new objectives and scenery do appear, the game is terribly short-lived. The only bonus is that it leaves you with a fierce need to keep going, and hopefully Black 2 will have the multiplayer capabilities we'ev all been waiting for.
  10. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Black is a very straight-forward game: Follow objectives and have fun doing it. This game is like an action movie, shoot bad guys and sh*t explodes and that's not a bad thing. The graphics are amazing for the PS2, some of the best I've ever seen. The graphic design for the weapons can pass off as 7th gen graphics. The controls are a bit different from your average shooter, but easy to getBlack is a very straight-forward game: Follow objectives and have fun doing it. This game is like an action movie, shoot bad guys and sh*t explodes and that's not a bad thing. The graphics are amazing for the PS2, some of the best I've ever seen. The graphic design for the weapons can pass off as 7th gen graphics. The controls are a bit different from your average shooter, but easy to get used to. Destructible environments make the gameplay even better and all the more fun. There are plenty of unlockables and great weapons to choose from. The only downsides are a forgettable story and no online/ offline multiplayer. So just pop it in the PS2 and have a good time. Expand
  11. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    Black is one of the most satisfying and challenging FPSs I've ever played.

    Pros: Engaging, explosive and challenging combat with the option to be stealthy at times. Gorgeous graphics and graphical effects. Partial destructible (cars, walls, etc.) and interactive (mines) environments. Large variety of weapons that, most importantly, feel very satisfying when used. Real-time blur
    Black is one of the most satisfying and challenging FPSs I've ever played.

    Pros:
    Engaging, explosive and challenging combat with the option to be stealthy at times.
    Gorgeous graphics and graphical effects.
    Partial destructible (cars, walls, etc.) and interactive (mines) environments.
    Large variety of weapons that, most importantly, feel very satisfying when used.
    Real-time blur while reloading which adds depth of field and perspective.
    Slow motion mode when at the brink of death.

    Cons:
    Forgettable story.
    Expand
  12. RyanFeightner
    Feb 2, 2006
    8
    I thought this game was very, very innovative. It was extremely fun-as Criterion said-to shoot a wall. I personally think it's really hard to aim, but that just might be the PS2 controller. I'm sure it's better on Xbox. BLACK seems tough enough to keep hardcore gamers playing, but like all Criterion games, they are insanely hard. I watched and laughed as my friend died lessI thought this game was very, very innovative. It was extremely fun-as Criterion said-to shoot a wall. I personally think it's really hard to aim, but that just might be the PS2 controller. I'm sure it's better on Xbox. BLACK seems tough enough to keep hardcore gamers playing, but like all Criterion games, they are insanely hard. I watched and laughed as my friend died less than 20 seconds into a level. Good game, great innovations, and big explosions=Criterion game. Expand
  13. DripG.
    Mar 5, 2006
    9
    A little short, but definitely one of the best shooters for the PS2. I think the industry has found the limits of the PS2 platform with Black. Pros: Great gun selection that feel good to shoot Unlockable stuff Destructable items Varied mission objectives Difficulty settings Easy controls Selectable 480p 16:9 prog scan support looks great Fair retail price of $39.99 Excellent music score A little short, but definitely one of the best shooters for the PS2. I think the industry has found the limits of the PS2 platform with Black. Pros: Great gun selection that feel good to shoot Unlockable stuff Destructable items Varied mission objectives Difficulty settings Easy controls Selectable 480p 16:9 prog scan support looks great Fair retail price of $39.99 Excellent music score and audio Fire and explosion effects some of the best on PS2 Totally customizable controller with button remapping Looks "Next Gen" and Xbox version looks even better Cons: Unskippable cutscenes (1st playthrough) Limp storyline - lacks immersion No H/V sensitivity adjustment Not coming to Xbox 360 (Black 2 maybe?) No online play Expand
  14. ConradA.
    Apr 2, 2006
    8
    Amazing FPS, but I agree with many of the criticisms. Too short, no online, no map, needs more save points. But beautifully designed environments (the asylum level has gorgeous room after gorgeous room that forces you to be creative, i.e use the shotgun to blast through thin walls to get around guys with shields) that have to be played through a couple of times to be appreciated. A great Amazing FPS, but I agree with many of the criticisms. Too short, no online, no map, needs more save points. But beautifully designed environments (the asylum level has gorgeous room after gorgeous room that forces you to be creative, i.e use the shotgun to blast through thin walls to get around guys with shields) that have to be played through a couple of times to be appreciated. A great rental or bargain buy. Expand
  15. MateusC.
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    The PlayStation 2 has a lack of great FPS games but Black come to solve this: the game is superb in all aspects, from gameplay to graphics, from mechanics to AI. It's incredible see PS2 hardware running this game without any slowdown with incredible graphics and scenario interaction. If you don't like FPS games reconsider and try Black: your opinion will change.
  16. KennethP.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    I have played a lot of war based games. But this is the far most best war game I've ever played. I was very impressed with this game.
  17. Wanderer
    Feb 23, 2006
    9
    Really sharp audiovisual presentation that makes a great first impression. An exellent FPS.
  18. JackK.
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    Truly amazing what the PS2 is actually capable of doing. S-video with Dolby Pro Logic II surround is the way to go here. Such an intense experience I played standing up most of the way. Took me 8.5 hours on normal difficulty. I heard you can unlock a bunch of stuff if you finish on hard...that's what I'm doing next. Also because I'd like to pay a little closer attention to Truly amazing what the PS2 is actually capable of doing. S-video with Dolby Pro Logic II surround is the way to go here. Such an intense experience I played standing up most of the way. Took me 8.5 hours on normal difficulty. I heard you can unlock a bunch of stuff if you finish on hard...that's what I'm doing next. Also because I'd like to pay a little closer attention to the story and figure out if some of those terrorist cell docs are legit. Great work Criterion!!! Expand
  19. StressMaster
    Feb 25, 2006
    9
    The most intense FPS I've ever played. Truly the Burnout of shooters. So much fun, you wont miss the argument or story line.
  20. GerS.
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    Depth? Sorry -it's unashamedly a balls out shooter, and I'm not really looking for huge amounts of emotion out of a FPS, and Black steams through like a tank through a china shop. Shameless explosions and shooting - Top draw!
  21. P.B.
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    I think the IGN review gets it and GameSpot misses the point. This game is just plain FUN. And for $39, it's priced just right. I'll definetely play through again. Nice package too.
  22. CozoniW.
    Mar 2, 2006
    8
    No plot to speak of but when a game is this much fun, why bother?
  23. Beauceron1
    Mar 3, 2006
    10
    I think the bottom 4 critics are being to analytical. Just have fun with this. Next Gen excitement Today! I have a projector and HT. When I'm finished playing I've got battle scars and smell like gun powder. This game is what it is! The Guns are great. The AI is great. The physics are great. The sound is great. Play it NOW!
  24. SujanV.
    Mar 3, 2006
    9
    This game is a must buy for all fans of fps.
  25. BradP.
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    Intense, immersive experience through and through. The length of the game is perfect and I look forward to going back and blasting the heck out of each and every level again.
  26. Sambo
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    Brilliant FPS, the best on the PS2. Graphically excellent, no slowdown or fuzziness. The AI is sharp with smart enemies, the sounds are great and change appropriately for your location with echoing, crunching of glass underfoot, ricocheting bullet cases when standing close to walls. As for thin plot? What kind of plot do Halo or Doom have? All pretty much non-existant and Black is no Brilliant FPS, the best on the PS2. Graphically excellent, no slowdown or fuzziness. The AI is sharp with smart enemies, the sounds are great and change appropriately for your location with echoing, crunching of glass underfoot, ricocheting bullet cases when standing close to walls. As for thin plot? What kind of plot do Halo or Doom have? All pretty much non-existant and Black is no better and no worse! You're tracking down an ex-CIA operative turned mercenary through the Eastern Bloc! What's not to like in that? Tons of playabilty in it too, with four gradings of difficulty! If you manage it on hard you get to try Black Ops. Most folks will probably manage it, but me being fairly hopeless in comparison find it hard enough in Easy mode and that's entirely satisfying for me even then! Expand
  27. Scarecrow
    Jul 2, 2006
    9
    The gameplay is fantastic. Action packed from start to finish. The gameplay also contains some tactical options but its up to the gamer of how he wants to play. Destructive enviroments compined with amazing graphics tune up the experience. The sound effects and the music are also fantastic. What could have been better is a more interesting story,characters and presentation. Black also The gameplay is fantastic. Action packed from start to finish. The gameplay also contains some tactical options but its up to the gamer of how he wants to play. Destructive enviroments compined with amazing graphics tune up the experience. The sound effects and the music are also fantastic. What could have been better is a more interesting story,characters and presentation. Black also needs more replay value. Still a great game. Expand
  28. M.Alex
    Jul 2, 2007
    8
    Very decent. Could use more sniper action IMO. Graphics stunning, gameplay very good. The controls are done very nicely, much better then in Killzone
  29. AmirulH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Yep, this game is the best fps game on ps2 I wonder if this game will ported on pc or make a multiplayer game,if this game make it definetly cool!
  30. AkosS.
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    The best game in the history of first shooting games for PS2.

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 62
  2. Negative: 1 out of 62
  1. Taken as a whole, BLACK is just your average first-person shooter.
  2. netjak
    65
    "Gun-porn" turns out to be the most accurate descriptor anyone slapped onto the game. I mean, how many times can you rewatch the same bit of pr0n before you're completely unstimulated by it? It's intense for the first experience, but completely diminishing returns every time after that.
  3. An action movie given digital, interactive form. It's a relentless, constant barrage of sensory input, and it's done in a way that no developer thus far can match. Immersive, beautiful and a blast to play, BLACK is a must-have.