User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 144

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    Black is Burnout but in a first person shooter; one of the finest FPS I've ever played. Criterion's RenderWare engine really showcases what the PlayStation 2 can really do in terms of graphics and sound. The graphics are crisp and the environments are slick looking. The sound of the explosions and the gun sounds sound really realistic. Play Black with loud speakers and listen to the sounds of the guns and explosions blast through the speakers. Parts of the environment like tankers, cars and pipes can be destroyed which is a nice touch. The gameplay is standard for a FPS: just run and shoot through the levels. There is no blood in the game. The game is short (just 8 levels) and very little replay value to keep you going except a few pieces of Intel to collect and 4 difficulties modes to choose from. Despite all this, Black is a really fun shooter and should appeal to fans of the FPS genre. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Such an underrated game, people are complaining about things that never troubled them in other games such as: Lack of a built in multiplayer mode/split screen: HL2 has no built in multiplayer/split screen, did we complain? Diffuculty in aiming: Every Valve game had no aiming at all, neither did Doom, or Quake. Nobody complained. Anyway, amazing graphics, decent AI, interesting story, awesome amounts of destruction, ad nice sound effects. Expand
  3. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Perfect on PS2 ,Best Shooting Game Ever I Played,Controls are Good ,Graphics are Good ,
    sound is awesome i played it in easy mode with health pack it's not that hard not to easy so i feel it's good ,Aim is Too Good For me ,i personally think if you are looking for shooting game You Must Play It ,Good Luck ...
  4. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    It is one of the best FPS on the PS2! Even though it is a relatively short game, each level took me at least 1 hour to complete, and so it is a fun game that ahs a lot of replay value.
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Black is a very straight-forward game: Follow objectives and have fun doing it. This game is like an action movie, shoot bad guys and sh*t explodes and that's not a bad thing. The graphics are amazing for the PS2, some of the best I've ever seen. The graphic design for the weapons can pass off as 7th gen graphics. The controls are a bit different from your average shooter, but easy to get used to. Destructible environments make the gameplay even better and all the more fun. There are plenty of unlockables and great weapons to choose from. The only downsides are a forgettable story and no online/ offline multiplayer. So just pop it in the PS2 and have a good time. Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    Black is one of the most satisfying and challenging FPSs I've ever played. Pros: Engaging, explosive and challenging combat with the option to be stealthy at times. Gorgeous graphics and graphical effects. Partial destructible (cars, walls, etc.) and interactive (mines) environments. Large variety of weapons that, most importantly, feel very satisfying when used. Real-time blur while reloading which adds depth of field and perspective.
    Slow motion mode when at the brink of death.

    Cons:
    Forgettable story.
    Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    Black doesn't bring anything new, but it have the whole package that a successful FPS must have: Tons of guns, explosions, team work... and lack of originality. Anyway, you'll have fun with it.
  8. Mar 28, 2013
    6
    I feel lke this game had so much potential. But that's it, potential. The storyline leaves much to be desired. Lack of multiplayer? I found myself sitting back at he end of this game and asking, is that it? It's a shame, beause all of the way through I was anticipting more! The physics, graphics and controller mechanics are fantastic but the developers didn't realize (Obviously) that those factors aren't the end, but a means to an end. Those things are great led with differing environments, exiting storyline and MULTIPLAYER! lol But all in all, if you're looking for a good shoot em' up, go ahead. Expand
  9. Nov 29, 2013
    6
    I think only graphics, sounds and medium difficulty to find ammo can help this game. A short mission, rarely cooperate with another soldiers and too many rounds per magazine for most weapons.
  10. Jun 4, 2014
    0
    This game was the biggest disappointment of my childhood. I was so hyped for the release and then it turned out to be garbage. The first time in my life I learned the lesson of buying into the hype/
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 62
  2. Negative: 1 out of 62
  1. Taken as a whole, BLACK is just your average first-person shooter.
  2. 65
    "Gun-porn" turns out to be the most accurate descriptor anyone slapped onto the game. I mean, how many times can you rewatch the same bit of pr0n before you're completely unstimulated by it? It's intense for the first experience, but completely diminishing returns every time after that.
  3. An action movie given digital, interactive form. It's a relentless, constant barrage of sensory input, and it's done in a way that no developer thus far can match. Immersive, beautiful and a blast to play, BLACK is a must-have.