Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Agent Bloodrayne's acrobatic dexterity and quick response time would make Trinity jealous. [1 Nov 2002, p.77]
  2. 90
    It’s a fast and furious action/adventure that oozes style (among other things) but still delivers all the gameplay goods.
  3. Like a good horror movie, BloodRayne is one of those guilty pleasures that will be sure to keep those action gamers’ thirst for action more than quenched.
  4. It doesn’t seem to take itself too seriously, yet it provides some good gaming.
  5. Wehn BloodRayne breaks into an attack she is as fidgety as Bart Simpson on a Slurpee rush. [Nov 2002, p.127]
  6. Confused by the sometimes clunky camera angles? You can deliver your skull-smashing, thong-flashing high kicks in soothing slow motion.
  7. BloodRayne might surprise you as one of the best bloodsucking adventures outside of Nosgoth.
  8. I welled up every time she said "f--ker" or went into her slow-motion death dance after killing a particularly high-ranking official. [Nov 2002, p.77]
  9. 75
    Too monotonous to appeal to the masses, and not varied enough to keep fans of the game returning, I think that Bloodrayne is a decent attempt at something different, but ends up being a little too much like the rest of the pack.
  10. 75
    My biggest beef with the game is that it never really feels like your hits are connecting. [Dec 2002, p.64]
  11. I liked it. In fact, after the rather bland first level, I couldn't put it down. There's just so much to do. [Dec 2002, p.202]
  12. 73
    Despite some nice features, the overly repetitive gameplay will probably wear thin after a bit.
  13. The slow start can make BloodRayne a tough game to stick with.
  14. The perfect example of a decent game with a lot of wasted potential. [Dec 2002, p.52]
  15. The controls and camera cause frustration, the visuals severely disappoint, whilst the combat begins to grate after a short time and leaves very little to carry on with.
  16. There's nothing about it that really makes us want to recommend it, or play it for any extended period of time. We think this is simply because by today's standards, it's very average.
  17. Lacks the longevity, punch, fun factor (grows too boring and repetitive way too fast) and replayability that separates the best free-roaming hack-and-slash games from the rest.
  18. They toss some gore and sex into the mix and hope to distract us from the fact that it’s a really average action-adventure game.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Aug 13, 2011
    9
    BloodRayne still kicking some tail from triumph (BloodRayne 1 & 2 games/comics) to utter tragedy (Uwe Boil's awful BloodRayne movies). But the original game is the best damn PS2 game period. I have some major problems with the bugs and loading screens, but with stylin' graphics, punishing moves, and a sexy gothic dhampir with an attitude problem, trust me. She can handle it her own way by using her sharp blades and feeds her passion for blood and more blood. Can't wait till Betrayal coming out soon on PSN. I wonder they could put both BloodRayne games and turn it into an HD experience. Full Review »
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    6
    A pretty decent game that really puzzles me a little in its design. The first Act of the game is utter garbage. It's so bad that you almost feel like just not bothering with the rest of the game. BUT, then the Act is over you get a DAMN cool cut scene and then it turns into a really, really fun game. It's almost like after the first Act the developers decided to fire everyone and start with a different team for the rest of the game. Why on earth they didn't make the first Act like the rest of the game is beyond me. So yes, if you keep to it you discover a really great game with some great combat mechanics. Perhaps a bit too easy at times. But regardless, It's still cool being a sexy vampire assassin with guns. This game also doesn't hold back on gore either. This is perhaps the goriest title I can think of on the PS2 (aside from the Manhunt games.)

    Overall:
    Aside from a terrible opening act, the game blossoms into something fun and gory. No real challenge, but still great to play.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    3
    The graphics have aged horribly, and the controls are awful. Fighting with the controls happens more frequently than fighting with the enemies (who pose no threat to Rayne at all). The opening chapter is tedious and not what you'd want from this game, and the final boss is ridiculously tedious as well. This just isn't a good game, and as much as I wanted to like it, I cannot recommend it on any level. Play Bloodrayne 2 instead. Full Review »