Bloody Roar 3 Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take control of one of 14 "werebeasts" (i.e., werewolf, wereleopard, werebunny, and the mythic weremole!) in this 3D fighter and attempt to punch, kick, and tear the living guts out of your opponents.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Final bonus: Unlike most games of this sort, Bloody Roar 3 allows you to knock your opponent through walls instead of just into them.
  2. This overall sense of quality, its accessibility to all levels of player, and the simple, visceral thrill of using a were-lion to maul a bunny rabbit in an abandoned museum, transforms BR3 an animal that is more than just the sum of its parts.
  3. Those seeking a new challenge to rival "Tekken Tag" should steer clear, but for fans of the series and players just looking for a quick fix of frenzied and fantastical fighting should sign up now.
  4. Scratch beneath the glossy visuals and you’ll reveal an uncomplicated affair that’s fun to play but may not appease the fighting purists.
  5. Despite its terrific particle-effect, motion-blur visual doodads, it’s a rather simple game system, pointedly geared toward casual and even first-time gamers.
  6. Victory goes to the guy who can jam on the buttons faster. [Aug 2001, p.109]
  7. It’s sad to watch as the Bloody Roar series goes to hell. It has a decent gimmick to make it stand out among other fighters. If only the minds behind this game actually sat down and figured out how to implement the gimmick properly, it could have the makings of something great.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. MACKYtheTIGERHORI
    Jul 13, 2005
    10
    Bloody roar 3 is a master piece and it is has its own originals. my favorited character is shenlongThe only disapoint in br3 is shenlong actsBloody roar 3 is a master piece and it is has its own originals. my favorited character is shenlongThe only disapoint in br3 is shenlong acts like wimp.But i reccomend shenlong on br2 & br4. And the best place to hang out is the BEAST LEGACY this you will feel this game. Collapse
  2. LordH.
    Dec 20, 2001
    10
    Longs combo ring is hard to pull off...ill just use his multi punches.
  3. MichelleC.
    Jun 27, 2002
    10
    LUV IT, Better than Bloody Roar: Primal Fury, well to me that is. Some of the characters changed, A LOT! Long sorta looks like Harry Potter, LUV IT, Better than Bloody Roar: Primal Fury, well to me that is. Some of the characters changed, A LOT! Long sorta looks like Harry Potter, Uriko doesn't have those large bangs anymore, Stun tottally changed, and whatever they did to Shenlong, I'M PROUD OF IT!!!! HE'S SO CUTE, I WANNA GO OUT WITH HIM!!!!! HE'S REALLY HOT IN THIS GAME!!! DON'T CHANGE A THING!!! Expand
  4. Loopy
    Sep 6, 2001
    9
    This game is unbelievable. It's more involving than "Tekken" and just as (if not easier) to pick up than "Virtua Fighter" or "Dead or This game is unbelievable. It's more involving than "Tekken" and just as (if not easier) to pick up than "Virtua Fighter" or "Dead or Alive 2." Try a few turns and you'll be hooked -- trust me. I am already. Now, if I can only beat Uranus. Expand
  5. SilverDragonGrrl
    May 28, 2003
    9
    Personally, I think BR3 is one of the best fighting games out for the PS2 so far (yes, the other ones are good too, but I like this one the Personally, I think BR3 is one of the best fighting games out for the PS2 so far (yes, the other ones are good too, but I like this one the most). I don't think the series should have gone to Nintendo, though... Anyway, I love BR3; the quality of the game is excellent, except for the fact that it might have done better if it had the Story Mode feature from the previous game. Overall, though, the game is very entertaining, and I think it deserves a score of 9. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2014
    8
    this game is good. graphics are amazing for 2001 and the ntsc-j version is just amazing ! btw the game also includes for me some great combosthis game is good. graphics are amazing for 2001 and the ntsc-j version is just amazing ! btw the game also includes for me some great combos but still. the repetetive fights are needed to be done Expand
  7. JustinK.
    Aug 2, 2001
    6
    Any longtime fans of the series reading this? Do yourselves a favor and do NOT pick this one up. This would have been a good game if it was Any longtime fans of the series reading this? Do yourselves a favor and do NOT pick this one up. This would have been a good game if it was the first in the series. Any attempt of making a coherent plot was apparently tossed out the window to make room for the pretty graphics. Not only was the story mode removed (I'm still dumbfounded by the complete idiocy of that), but in it's place is a confusing jaunt about a magical stone and a race of beings called the Unborn. It had potential to be good, but it was obviously strung together at the last minute. The fact that the two secret characters don't even HAVE stories at all is supporting evidence of that. The only saving grace here is that it's one of the fastest paced fighting games on the market, and that's saying a lot. It might warrant a purchase to newbies of the series, but the diehard fans of the series will definitely want to rent this one first. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews