Bloody Roar 3 Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take control of one of 14 "werebeasts" (i.e., werewolf, wereleopard, werebunny, and the mythic weremole!) in this 3D fighter and attempt to punch, kick, and tear the living guts out of your opponents.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. But if you want a serious butt-kicking good time, then this game Roars.
  2. Lacking in some story elements, BR3 is nonetheless a good addition to any collection, one that I can easily recommend.
  3. Those seeking a new challenge to rival "Tekken Tag" should steer clear, but for fans of the series and players just looking for a quick fix of frenzied and fantastical fighting should sign up now.
  4. I've come to the conclusion that if there is even a glimpse of something with even the tiniest bit of fur on it, peeps will flock to it in droves, and it's to this I also attribute the success of "Basic Instinct."...BR3 is best left to the novice.
  5. Despite its terrific particle-effect, motion-blur visual doodads, it’s a rather simple game system, pointedly geared toward casual and even first-time gamers.
  6. Victory goes to the guy who can jam on the buttons faster. [Aug 2001, p.109]
  7. Even with all of its faults, Bloody Roar 3 still has its moments. There's nothing like chomping on a little bunny or mauling a lizard for the win. Even getting a 50+ hit combo is usually a good reason to celebrate.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. MACKYtheTIGERHORI
    Jul 13, 2005
    10
    Bloody roar 3 is a master piece and it is has its own originals. my favorited character is shenlongThe only disapoint in br3 is shenlong acts like wimp.But i reccomend shenlong on br2 & br4. And the best place to hang out is the BEAST LEGACY this you will feel this game. Collapse
  2. LordH.
    Dec 20, 2001
    10
    Longs combo ring is hard to pull off...ill just use his multi punches.
  3. MichelleC.
    Jun 27, 2002
    10
    LUV IT, Better than Bloody Roar: Primal Fury, well to me that is. Some of the characters changed, A LOT! Long sorta looks like Harry Potter, Uriko doesn't have those large bangs anymore, Stun tottally changed, and whatever they did to Shenlong, I'M PROUD OF IT!!!! HE'S SO CUTE, I WANNA GO OUT WITH HIM!!!!! HE'S REALLY HOT IN THIS GAME!!! DON'T CHANGE A THING!!! Expand
  4. ChrisF.
    Jul 27, 2001
    9
    Bad guy gets too darn fast.
  5. K.Harris
    Apr 22, 2004
    9
    The story mode is lacks, but who cares? I don't. The other thing is trying to pull off their second rage moves. Other than that...PURE BRILLIANCE... Expand
  6. SilverDarkSideZ
    Aug 21, 2002
    9
    Personally I like the BR series alot. And this third one on the PS2 is absolutely stunning in a sense that its the fastest fighting game I've seen on the PS2 but still holds that fighting brilliance which most fighting games of the PS2 genre have lost. All BR3 needs is the 'Story Mode', and also some more in-depth info on the characters. Probably one of my fav fighting games for this century! Expand
  7. JustinK.
    Aug 2, 2001
    6
    Any longtime fans of the series reading this? Do yourselves a favor and do NOT pick this one up. This would have been a good game if it was the first in the series. Any attempt of making a coherent plot was apparently tossed out the window to make room for the pretty graphics. Not only was the story mode removed (I'm still dumbfounded by the complete idiocy of that), but in it's place is a confusing jaunt about a magical stone and a race of beings called the Unborn. It had potential to be good, but it was obviously strung together at the last minute. The fact that the two secret characters don't even HAVE stories at all is supporting evidence of that. The only saving grace here is that it's one of the fastest paced fighting games on the market, and that's saying a lot. It might warrant a purchase to newbies of the series, but the diehard fans of the series will definitely want to rent this one first. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews