• Publisher: Hudson
  • Release Date: Nov 11, 2003
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. I actually found myself enjoying the game. This may be due to the blood or the speed of the game, or it may even be the strategy that is behind the game. Fighter games can be fought with a lot of strategy, but I just mash the living daylights out of my controller buttons.
  2. One of these days, Hudson's going to get its act just a little more thoroughly together, and a Bloody Roar game is going to be the sleeper hit of some future year. That year's not now, though, and Bloody Roar 4 is only decent.
  3. 80
    BR4 takes the franchise’s wild fighting to the extreme with a massive sensory assault. Every strike rattles the speakers, and lengthy combos are common, all accompanied by spellcasting-like bursts.
  4. I was quite surprised to find myself really enjoying this installment. While I won't put it with "VF 4" or "Soul Calibur II," it does enough to dish out a good time. [Dec 2003, p.150]
  5. BR4 can be fun with friends and those new to the fighting game genre, but the lack of depth and the button mashing controls don’t help BR4 against the high standards set by other games in the fighting genre.
  6. If you have played the series before, prepared to be under whelmed as no real new tactics or specials have been added this year.
  7. Being able to upgrade you characters is fantastic, but instead of offering interesting challenges or match types to do this with, career mode presents a boring glut of one-round bouts. [Nov 2003, p.92]
  8. The career mode really doesn't make up for this cookie cutter title, and compared to Weapons Master mode of SC 2 it just cant compare.
  9. The addition of a few new fighters, a new mode, and some tweaks to the gameplay don't stop this from being a rather simple, shallow game.
  10. I was also disappointed to see that BR4 is still lacking in the ever-important single-player experience. [Holiday 2003, p.44]
  11. 60
    It's still a better-than-average game, but the lack of depth and subtlety and the emphasis on the offensive, rather than the defensive, puts this squarely two notches below the best in the genre.
  12. This series has great potential, but it is ruined by the developers by not making it deeper. On the other hand, if you love to button mash, this is the game for you!
  13. 60
    The look of BR4 is seriously behind the curve. The single-player game is lackluster and the multiplayer, while the most exciting way to mix it up, is still just a button-mashing endurance contest. The game's "guys turning into animals" gimmick is the only thing going for it.
  14. Sure, you can save up energy and then turn into a bloody great beast, but it's just a gimmick really. Bloody Roar isn't original enough to innovate and isn't polished enough to epitomise the genre like "Soul Calibur II" does.
  15. 60
    If the game offered anything beyond a gimmick that grew stale three games ago, we'd have something to recommend. But with nothing more than generic button mashing and a sorry excuse for a career mode, Bloody Roar 4 is for die-hard fans of the series and furries only.
  16. The game looks great, no doubt about it, but it controls terribly, and just isn't any fun to play.
  17. Arenas are constrained and cliched, and the gameplay is as button-mashy as ever. [Dec 2003, p.86]
  18. BR4 is simply BROKEN. Nothing here manages to come together the way that it should and this leads to frustration and boredom.
  19. 50
    Not only is it not a fun game, every other aspect of it is just as cheap and disheartening.
  20. Severely limp-wristed, Bloody Roar 4 gets smacked senseless by its immediate peers. It's a crying shame, as fans of the product line might even take offense. Little care or concern was invested in the game, and it shows.
  21. It's the perfect example of the sort of game that seems to poised to make its mark on the world and then inexplicably proceeds to hang out at the local mall for its entire adult life.
  22. From its outdated graphics to button-mashing combos, and from its lame cast of new/returning characters to the needless addition of unnecessary gore, Bloody Roar 4 is weak sausage in a videogame system packed with succulent buffets of interactive brawling ("VF 4: Evo," "Tekken 4," etc.).
  23. The Bloody Roar name had its day; compared to other fighters now available, the lack of depth is a serious issue.
  24. There's nothing good to say about the gameplay, which ignores skill and encourages button-mashing. Stay away from this beast -- it bites. [Dec 2003, p.222]
  25. Its arenas are cramped, flat, and bland, and its gameplay structure is dated, boring, and laughable. [Dec 2003, p.152]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. GaryBall
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    I love this game!! I wish more games these days would cater to the growing homosexual gaming community. My boyfriend and I go all giddy over the sweet animal-turnin'-into action. This has to be the best game around... until Bloody Roar 5: U Go Girl Turbomax Fashion Edition comes out. And I'm really sorry for Wang P's loss. One time I accidentally killed an old lady. Full Review »
  2. JimmiA.
    Dec 18, 2005
    7
    It´s a good fighting game, but you must give it some time. After you have learned the different combos, you see the depht in the game. But it´s not same class like : Tekken 5, Virtua fighter 4 Evolution, but it´s still a very good game. Full Review »
  3. LuisH.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    Is a great game, i think we have to see the video games like a way to have fun, bloody roar 4 is one.