Bloody Roar 4 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Bloody Roar 4 Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bloody Roar returns and is darker, bloodier and fiercer than ever! 14 returning fighters are joined by three brand-new characters in the newest battle of the beast-fighters. Transform into ferocious inner-beasts and attack with fangs and claws in 3D fighting areas to see who is the ultimateBloody Roar returns and is darker, bloodier and fiercer than ever! 14 returning fighters are joined by three brand-new characters in the newest battle of the beast-fighters. Transform into ferocious inner-beasts and attack with fangs and claws in 3D fighting areas to see who is the ultimate beast-fighter champion! Balance power and health with the new "Zoanthropes Guage". Dramatic story mode for each fighter. 9 modes of gameplay including Arcade and Character Development. Full 3D combat system with aerial juggles, counters, blocks, chains. [Konami] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. I actually found myself enjoying the game. This may be due to the blood or the speed of the game, or it may even be the strategy that is behind the game. Fighter games can be fought with a lot of strategy, but I just mash the living daylights out of my controller buttons.
  2. I was quite surprised to find myself really enjoying this installment. While I won't put it with "VF 4" or "Soul Calibur II," it does enough to dish out a good time. [Dec 2003, p.150]
  3. If you have played the series before, prepared to be under whelmed as no real new tactics or specials have been added this year.
  4. 60
    If the game offered anything beyond a gimmick that grew stale three games ago, we'd have something to recommend. But with nothing more than generic button mashing and a sorry excuse for a career mode, Bloody Roar 4 is for die-hard fans of the series and furries only.
  5. The game looks great, no doubt about it, but it controls terribly, and just isn't any fun to play.
  6. BR4 is simply BROKEN. Nothing here manages to come together the way that it should and this leads to frustration and boredom.
  7. Its arenas are cramped, flat, and bland, and its gameplay structure is dated, boring, and laughable. [Dec 2003, p.152]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. LandoCal
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    ummm.... wang p seems a lil weird but he is right on the money bout bloody roar 4. it is awesome and deep and there's alot of stuff to ummm.... wang p seems a lil weird but he is right on the money bout bloody roar 4. it is awesome and deep and there's alot of stuff to be doing to keep you busy for days. best ps2 game yet. Expand
  2. BigBadBill
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    El hard is wrong on so many levels. I agree much more with Wang, and I'm am very sorry about his recent personal losses. Bloody Roar 4 El hard is wrong on so many levels. I agree much more with Wang, and I'm am very sorry about his recent personal losses. Bloody Roar 4 is a great game that critics will bash just because of their personal politics and their feelings towards animals. Reviewing this game should not be left in their hands. Hardcore gamers will recognize how amazing this game is the minute they play it. It's immersive gameplay is second only to my personal favs Metroid Prime, Taz: Wanted, and Britney's Dance Beat. Do yourself a favor and at least rent this game. Even if you are not a fighting game fan. If you are a fan of fighting games, put down your Shadowblade, just throw out your copies of Virtua Fighter 4 and Soul Calibur 2, and drop a few bucks on Bloody Roar 4, the game that will end up being the most underrated of the year. In 20 years, when video games are beyond our wildest dreams, people will still be looking back on Bloody Roar 4 for inspiration. Not just for video games, but for life as well. Expand
  3. GaryBall
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    I love this game!! I wish more games these days would cater to the growing homosexual gaming community. My boyfriend and I go all giddy overI love this game!! I wish more games these days would cater to the growing homosexual gaming community. My boyfriend and I go all giddy over the sweet animal-turnin'-into action. This has to be the best game around... until Bloody Roar 5: U Go Girl Turbomax Fashion Edition comes out. And I'm really sorry for Wang P's loss. One time I accidentally killed an old lady. Expand
  4. Weeblepie
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    Soul Calibur 2 is crap Bloody Roar 4 is the best, if people wat a fighting game get bloody roar 4 its is just the best.
  5. LilRemix
    May 20, 2004
    10
    Yo Forget What the other people told u about BR4 I mean the game is hot 2 Death Espeacially The Dude that transform into a Dragon! that is Yo Forget What the other people told u about BR4 I mean the game is hot 2 Death Espeacially The Dude that transform into a Dragon! that is the hottest and Strongest beast you can transform. Forget the rating of the website that say it was dumb as hell because that $h*T Hott as Hell because it is a Mos Have Game I Hope the Hudson make a Bloody Roar 5 with even more People/Animales to choose from like everbody from Bloody Roar 1 Through 4 should be on Bloody Roar 5 and then add more charcters to part 5 then make the beast form more scary then i bet Ratings will all 5 out of 5 because it is that Hot No Joke. Expand
  6. RachelH.
    May 12, 2005
    10
    This game looks awesome! Even though I haven't really played it yet I still can't wait to buy it! i think that the critics reallyThis game looks awesome! Even though I haven't really played it yet I still can't wait to buy it! i think that the critics really need to change their minds a bit! Expand
  7. Elhard
    Nov 5, 2003
    2
    BR4 is soo bad that can't be compared to games like soul calibur 2 , Vf4. I gave 2 becuse there is so much better games than THIS!!!!!

See all 28 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#49 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#19 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003