Breath of Fire: Dragon Quarter Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's an epic quest of magical proportions. You live in another time... another place... devoid of all light sources. You are now part of the underground world. Foil your menacing enemies to reach your ultimate mission. Only you can discover the way out of the labyrinth-like dungeon that envelops you and your friends. Escape your underground captors and you'll reach the world of the living. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. It’s nice to see the occasional role-playing game that isn’t formulaic, something that shows the developer took some time to create a plot worth living in a game worth playing. Dragon Quarter does that so surprisingly well and in so many different ways, it almost transcends the RPG genre.
  2. One of those truly original games that, while a tad liberal in the innovation department, manages to keep you entertained all the way through thanks to one of the best battle systems ever to grace an RPG..., a Now and Then, Here and There-esque anime-influenced presentation, and some of the most challenging moments a hardcore RPG gamer could hope for.
  3. 83
    Brilliant battle system - arguably one of the finest ever devised. [Apr 2003, p.50]
  4. I wanted something different too, but what I got instead is marvelous. [Apr 2003, p.52]
  5. 80
    An addictive and undeniably daring game that feels more urgent and less epic than most RPGs, and the battle system is masterful. But it’s nothing like previous Breath of Fire games, and the forced repetition might kill it for you.
  6. Its slow pace keeps it from really taking off. [Apr 2003, p.37]
  7. 40
    The pathetic attributes of this failed experiment are disgusting. Breath of Fire: Dragon Quarter is a poor excuse for an RPG. It is an attempt at innovation, perhaps. But it can also be the lazy solution for a group of developers who didn't want to put in the time to make a quality RPG.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. JeffK.
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    This is honestly the greatest game of all time. I have beaten it twice and the plot and storyline are unbelievable it is like an awesome movie the only flaw is when it ended the ending video is almost touching I hope they make another one no I pray they do! Expand
  2. Friday
    Jul 26, 2003
    10
    Great game, fun, and interesting too!
  3. SeanG.
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    The game itself is absolutely excellent the storyline of the game grips the player and brings them to the front line of the game i hope with all my heart that they will bring out a number 6 installment of the breath of fire series. Collapse
  4. JoeP.
    Jun 28, 2003
    9
    This is one of the best rpgs i ever played!!!i love the battle system.i just think the grafics are what they could have been.
  5. RyanT.
    Mar 21, 2004
    9
    No, this game didn't scare me away from the Breath of Fire franchise; it drew me in closer.
  6. Alexis
    Sep 21, 2005
    6
    Innovative, perhaps, but also tedious, poorly balanced, and slow to get off its feet. If you have a lot of time to spend dungeon crawling and retracing your steps, this game may be for you. Otherwise, skip it. Expand
  7. R.D.
    Dec 8, 2007
    0
    An appauling game which does the BOF series no justice at all. The main character, Ryu, speaks, and looks and sounds like a completely idiot, Nina looks like a stick-thin frog and the battle system is just awful, I took it back after 10 minutes of gameplay because it was just that tedious and appauling. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews