Britney's Dance Beat PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: May 8, 2002
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
Buy On
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    The game is just cheesy enough to make you stop, look, and bust out dancing. [5 Apr 2002, p.125]
  2. 80
    One of the better dance/rhythm games out there, and with so many unlockable goodies, it’ll make Britney fans want to consistently play it, baby, one more time.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    Britney's likeness and her songs lend themselves especially well to this style of game. [July 2002, p.99]
  4. Game Informer
    78
    Has one of the coolest interfaces of any title in the music genre. [July 2002, p.83]
  5. For Britney fans the inclusion of exclusive unlockable DVD footage will make this a must-have. As for everyone else there are far better (and cheaper) examples of the genre on the market which we suggest you check out first.
  6. 70
    Realistic dance sequences, solid graphics, and a soundtrack from Spears makes Britney's Dance Beat a surprisingly entertaining game.
  7. A solid rhythm/action game, there’s just not enough of it.
  8. The game is probably about 5 hours of gameplay, and another half hour of extras. Once you’ve unlocked it all, the game will probably collect dust. For that reason, it’s hard to recommend it to anyone but the most ardent Britney fan.
  9. An enjoyable if short-lived experience, and it serves as a good introduction for the uninitiated to the world of rhythm games.
  10. The game is hindered by unoriginal and lackluster gameplay mechanics that, while easy to pick up and play, does little to provide an experience that is as good as other music games currently on the market.
  11. Oddly though, despite the game's limited premise, Britney's Dance Beat holds a curious mixture of addictive gameplay and fascination.
  12. Play Magazine
    60
    Ooh baby, baby, does this game get old in a hurry, with only five songs. [July 2002, p.82]
  13. A surprising good dancing game, featuring excellent graphics and motion-capture work.
  14. 55
    It's short on songs, it's short on musical variety, backgrounds, dancers, and its even a little short on Britney.
  15. 50
    The only real goal in the game is to unlock multimedia extras. Very little Britney! I want to play with Britney more!
  16. 40
    Its poor replayability and lackluster production values ultimately make this game a curiosity rental and nothing more.
  17. A mindless version of "Simon Says" to the masterful beats of "Oops, I Did It Again."
  18. An extremely short playtime, too difficult for younger kids, and too simplistic for older folk, only diehard Spears fans, who adore these types of rhythm games, may consider deeming this worthy of even a rental.
  19. For the large group whose main interest in a Britney Spears videogame is sexual voyeurism, the inability to watch the breast-enlarged, navel-exposed, hip grinding onscreen display is a real let-down.
  20. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    28
    Besides 5-year-old girly-girls who like, love Britney, the banal set of revolving cominations and a suck-it-for-all-it's-got song list will send you surfing on a contagious yawn-wave. [August 2002, p.123]

Awards & Rankings

#55 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 7 out of 14
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome, i love Queen B and i hope she makes another game with all her new hot singles, they are almost like 30 now with theThis game is awesome, i love Queen B and i hope she makes another game with all her new hot singles, they are almost like 30 now with the Femme Fetale released!!! stages with circus themes, break dancing moves, different costumes and of course our Brit-Brit looking stronger than ever Full Review »
  2. BonbonA.
    Aug 7, 2005
    3
    Oh, I wanna say something to Britney: "Your game is just bad". =P
  3. IloveHuckabees
    Mar 24, 2005
    0
    I agree with Michael G. I mean WTF!!!