• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2005
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DeepOut
    May 25, 2005
    6
    Bought a game falsely represented, blasphemous in claims of realistic and authentic world war2 ever. even on the xbox version the visuals is crapp and physics engine is also crapp. How can you claim a game to be realistic when visually its not even resembles the slightest visuals of a real world. Gameplay is as dull as watching chessmatch between kasparov and supercomputer. somehow whenBought a game falsely represented, blasphemous in claims of realistic and authentic world war2 ever. even on the xbox version the visuals is crapp and physics engine is also crapp. How can you claim a game to be realistic when visually its not even resembles the slightest visuals of a real world. Gameplay is as dull as watching chessmatch between kasparov and supercomputer. somehow when you finish a level your weapons change on the start of the new level how could that be possible in the real world, another is the level design is as flat as flatbreasted woman really uninspiring and unmotivating, you cant really explore the areas somehow theres a dead horse on the road you cant cross that path somehow an invisible wall stops you.. The A.I is as bad as the rest of the game, even if your near the enemy they somehow miss you by a mile. Enough said as worst as star wars republic commando(crappiest fps of the year). Expand
  2. MattE.
    Apr 1, 2005
    1
    Shame on who ever made this game. horrible. absolutly dreadful. never buy rent steal or borrow this game. EVER
  3. JohnG.
    May 4, 2005
    7
    Very good game. not very good multiplayer game.
  4. TodorO.
    May 13, 2005
    5
    How much realistic can a game get before becoming boring? In this one you will understand how lame weaponry was back in the 40´s and how poorly equiped the troops were, you will realize that in order to shoot an kill an enemy was as difficult as catching a fly with a sieve. But in the end, you surely won´t pick this game ever again. It´s too short and the its features How much realistic can a game get before becoming boring? In this one you will understand how lame weaponry was back in the 40´s and how poorly equiped the troops were, you will realize that in order to shoot an kill an enemy was as difficult as catching a fly with a sieve. But in the end, you surely won´t pick this game ever again. It´s too short and the its features are so weak that it feels like playing a demo. Expand
  5. ChrisK.
    Jun 27, 2005
    0
    This sucked dang it like one of best games ever but not thas why i said 0 but the new medal of honor is da get game fo sho.
  6. ErikA.
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    Definitely the best WW2 game I've played yet. I enjoyed the tactics part of the game even if it was limited to the paths you could take; which is still better than one person running through one path taking out half of the Third Reich. My only gripe is the framerate and the gun sounds on the PS2, but compared to the rest of the game, those mean little to me. definitely recommend this Definitely the best WW2 game I've played yet. I enjoyed the tactics part of the game even if it was limited to the paths you could take; which is still better than one person running through one path taking out half of the Third Reich. My only gripe is the framerate and the gun sounds on the PS2, but compared to the rest of the game, those mean little to me. definitely recommend this to anyone who's looking for a tactical FPS. Expand
  7. Dave
    May 10, 2005
    10
    The best, definitely most REALISTIC war-based FPS I've played so far (console or PC). Actually requires strategy and patience. It's not just the standard run and gun style you see in other FPS. Trust me, if you're going to run around trying to take down enemies like you would in Call of Duty or Medal of Honour, you'll be toast within a few seconds. All the levels are The best, definitely most REALISTIC war-based FPS I've played so far (console or PC). Actually requires strategy and patience. It's not just the standard run and gun style you see in other FPS. Trust me, if you're going to run around trying to take down enemies like you would in Call of Duty or Medal of Honour, you'll be toast within a few seconds. All the levels are really open-ended as there are numerous different strats you can use in setting up your squads. The only downside I see on the PS2 version is the occasional slowdown that I'm pretty sure I wouldn't be seeing on the X-Box or PC. It's very minor though and doesn't take away much from the game. I played this game continuously and beat it within a few days...I haven't done that with any other War-based FPS so far. I normally get bored about 3/4 of the way through but not with Brother in Arms. HIGHLY recommend you BUY this one. There's lots of replayability here. Expand
  8. KyleK.
    Apr 20, 2005
    9
    This is really good, in commanding your men for supressing fire and going around to cap them in the head, telling tanks where to go. multiplayer is good, really good.
  9. EricB.
    Jul 30, 2006
    9
    i love this game! u can like send ur squad around u can play multiplayer unlike call of duty 2. one problem not enough guns!
  10. Chris411
    Oct 23, 2005
    9
    This game was tight but they need more than one cheat code, other than that the squads are intense.
  11. MattM.
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    This game is the sickest game ever.
  12. mariov.
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Good game and very realistic graphics! I`ve been in Normandy, and the game looks the same! (almost)
  13. MichaelP.
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    Good, but almost too realistic at times. [Ed: Huh?]
  14. MichaelB.
    Apr 13, 2005
    8
    Definitely the best WW2 shooter on PS2. But I recommend picking it up on the PC or XBox instead.
  15. BruceT.
    May 8, 2005
    9
    A great game with a compelling storyline although the Find, Fix and Fank manouver feutres a bit too much. Good for tactical shooters standards but if you prefer to go in shooting your gun off, don't buy this.
  16. Jul 21, 2011
    6
    Pretty terrible, consol-itis, uneven gameplay, levels are pretty bland due to console release, boring story, single player experience is lacking, and sound effect are nauseatingly bad. Its like they said: "Hey! Call of Duty came out and that was great! I know- lets try to make that except dumb it down, make it more broken, introduce squad-combat even though the enemies will still onlyPretty terrible, consol-itis, uneven gameplay, levels are pretty bland due to console release, boring story, single player experience is lacking, and sound effect are nauseatingly bad. Its like they said: "Hey! Call of Duty came out and that was great! I know- lets try to make that except dumb it down, make it more broken, introduce squad-combat even though the enemies will still only fire at you, broken A.I., and terrible graphics! Seriously even the Xbox port looked terrible. The PC part looks barely better than the Xbox one and the Playstation 2 kept it safe with some okay textures and a low resolution so it ran the game properly in most situations. Its really the best out of the series which is just a shame. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. No two games play alike thanks to the incredible AI who act like real human enemies. They also die like real humans, meaning that they aren't given an unfair advantage. This is war.
  2. Gamers with short attention spans will likely find all the squad management tedious, but we think it adds a much-needed dimension to a very stale genre. Plus it includes the best video game quote so far this year: "If you see something, shoot it; if it screams in German, shoot it again."
  3. It's not just its uncompromising realism or its emotive theme, it's the whole package -- great looks, fantastic sound, and a gameplay and plot structure that promotes bonding with the men under your command. Wrap that up with a slick control method and, for once, some tactical depth, and you're left with a very special recipe.