Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. A solid mix of action and puzzle solving, Chaos Bleeds features a fairly robust fighting engine. Sure, it's not "Soul Calibur II," but there are plenty of counters, combos, and blocks to keep players busy. [Oct 2003, p.32]
  2. Stands out in the action-adventure genre by providing well devised combat and level design meshed with a great Buffy story. If you're not familiar with the TV show, you can still have a hell of a good time dusting vampires and kicking demon ass.
  3. The control system is great. The punches and kicks flow well together and each character acts and feels distinctly unique.
  4. The game is equal parts puzzle and beat 'em up. This prevents wear and tear on your thumbs, but some of the searching is tedious. [Sept 2003, p.108]
  5. While the A.I. could’ve been stronger and there could’ve been more with the playable characters, Chaos Bleeds does a great job of appealing to fans and newcomers to the show alike. Adventure fans should look at sinking their teeth into this game.
  6. Not only does the game look better than its predecessor but it outperforms it in nearly every way: the puzzles are even more intelligent..., the fighting is on par and benefits from multiple characters, the difficulty scale has been skillfully balanced. [Sept 2003, p.70]
  7. I had an overwhelming urge to yell at my character to stand up every time he or she (or it) fell down during a fight. This is my only beef with the game, though.
  8. An excellent, well-put-together action adventure game that most fans of the genre should be able to enjoy and any Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan will love.
  9. While the game has its share of problems here and there, it doesn’t distract from the game’s most appealing feature--dusting vampires and interacting with characters fans of the show have come to love.
  10. But of more importance to fans will be the array of movies, cast interviews and behind-the-scenes footage, which pads out the back end of the game. This isn't just squeezed in for added value either.
  11. An okay action game for the average Joe Gamer, and an outstanding collection of extra baubles for fans of the series still lamenting its demise.
  12. The animation has been smoothed over but the Xbox version is the clear winner in the graphic department.
  13. Splintered wooden furniture doubles as vampire vaporizing shivs to expand on your already wide variety of exterminating capabilities.
  14. If you’re looking for a well executed third-person game that doesn’t involve shoot-dodges or bullet-time, then Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds is worth checking out. For all Buffy worshippers, Chaos Bleeds should be on your must-play list.
  15. 77
    As fun as the original Buffy game on Xbox, but not quite as tight. The AI is a bit too forgiving at times turning the game into more of a button-masher than it needs to be.
  16. 75
    Drives a stake through the heart most license-based games, but it still falls short of being a top-shelf title due to some sluggish controls and framerate trouble.
  17. This no-nonsense beat-'em-up based adventure will be fairly meaningless to non-believers but it's a tasty treat for Buffy fans. [PSM2]
  18. Packed with gameplay depth, replay value, mordant humor, and vampire killing - the four basic food groups of the videogame diet. [Oct 2003, p.70]
  19. Ugly graphics keep this from scoring higher, and yes we realize graphics aren't everything... Buffy fans should be pleased though I think VU Games can do just a bit better.
  20. Like a mediocre Buffy episode: Decent plot, predictable Scooby-gang hijinks, and lots of fighting action and bad vampire puns... It also throws in...the iffy graphics engine that produces lifeless character movement and collision issues. [Oct 2003, p.134]
  21. At best an average game that will appeal to fans of the series more than it will to newcomers.
  22. You can't save until you beat a level. Having to conquer a tough boss before being able to save any progress at all will irritate anyone with a social life. [Oct 2003, p.119]
  23. This game goes out of its way to appeal to fans of the show, who should love the story, and will really appreciate the unlockable interviews with the cast and crew. They may not notice the problems with the game design, but will surely notice the game is missing the rapid-fire pacing of the show in both its action and story segments.
  24. The fact that we actually did play it through to completion - despite the sort of flaws that have sent us flying off the handle in countless other reviews - is a testament to its continued accessibility and the continuing attraction of the Buffy franchise.
  25. It's simply not as good as the first Buffy game and suffers from loose control and repetitive gameplay. I guess hot chicks and vampires don't automatically make things awesome.
  26. When you reach a dead end, it's usually just a case of retrieving a generic puzzle item from a conveniently inconvenient hiding place before continuing. Cue several minutes of primitive platforming and beating up the undead with a functional combat system before the next 'mash the Triangle button until you find something interactive' session begins. [Nov 2003, p.126]
  27. A shocking game; a turgid stinking pool of primordial ooze that would take millions of years to evolve into something that is worth using as a doorstop, let alone playing.
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Aug 23, 2011
    6
    Firstly, I am a huge fan of Buffy. I still follow the continuation of the comics but I am NOT a delusional fan. As a game its veryFirstly, I am a huge fan of Buffy. I still follow the continuation of the comics but I am NOT a delusional fan. As a game its very disappointing. The voice actors were all good except Willows (which was horrible!) and the plot wasn't too bad but the entire gameplay was extremely redundant. You won't find yourself doing anything different by the end of the game and there's no character growth (leveling and getting stronger) so you feel like you're not accomplishing much. Its "fruitless" as Joyce Summers would say. Its not a bad game though. Its a very safe and simple fighting/adventure game. Good for all ages. Just don't expect anything amazing. Full Review »
  2. AndrewJ.
    Jan 31, 2004
    7
    This game was quite good, but after a few hours of gameplay, it seemed to become somewhat repetive. I doubt the replay value would be high.
  3. SaraB.
    Jan 8, 2004
    9
    It's super. buffy is everything. how do you defeat kakistos?