User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KasumiV.
    Apr 12, 2004
    10
    I don't care what everyone says, as long as gackt is in there, the game is awesome. But still, the graphic and the game play seems really well put together. I really like it.
  2. TyroneD.
    May 29, 2005
    10
    Though Bujingai: The Forsaken City did not got get as much hype as it should, I believe that this is a good game. The gameplay is like Devil May Cry however; it's it differnt which is a good thing. If you try this game out for yourself you will be amaze on how good this game is. My rating for this game is a 10.
  3. AriS.
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    Extremely fast-paced, with an awesome combat and magic system, and great special effects. The levels encourage you to defy gravity, but in some cases it's frustrating to be prevented from running up a building by an invisible barrier. The levels are a bit too blocky, but are still well-textured, and usually allow for one or two clever shortcuts. Other than these, I don't have Extremely fast-paced, with an awesome combat and magic system, and great special effects. The levels encourage you to defy gravity, but in some cases it's frustrating to be prevented from running up a building by an invisible barrier. The levels are a bit too blocky, but are still well-textured, and usually allow for one or two clever shortcuts. Other than these, I don't have many complaints with the levels. The animation is fantastic, with very well executed motion capture (go Gackt!), and the moves are flashy and fun to perform. I have a bit of a problem with the enemies, some of which (like the undead) can be very easy to defeat, others (like the demon lion) very challenging, but there is very little in the middle ground. Although the overlords are quite a challenge, watching a fight between an overlord and Lau is like watching a high-adrenaline lightsaber battle in Star Wars. I bought the game with a bit of hesitation, but now that I've played for over 10 hours, I am definitely not disappointed. What the game does, it does extremely well. I personally like this game more than Devil May Cry. Although everyone's heard of that game and few have heard of Bujingai, don't let that stop you from trying this highly addicting game. Recommended! Expand
  4. J.M.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    The US version of Bujingai is not so bad... Having played the import and BAM's US version of Bujingai, I can say that the US version keeps most all of the Gackt goodness of the import version. The only main difference are the cutscenes are dubbed in English. In my opinion it is virtually impossible to find better voice actors than they have in Japan, but BAM did manage to find some The US version of Bujingai is not so bad... Having played the import and BAM's US version of Bujingai, I can say that the US version keeps most all of the Gackt goodness of the import version. The only main difference are the cutscenes are dubbed in English. In my opinion it is virtually impossible to find better voice actors than they have in Japan, but BAM did manage to find some decent voice actors. The decision to dub was one that took much consideration by BAM, who did not want to offend Gackt's US fans. The choice to dub was only made because it was not technically feasible for BAM, to add subtitles and offer dual language audio. Bujingai is a single layer DVD5, and is right at the size maximum. As for the in game sound, all of the Gackt voice samples are intact, along with the rocking Zuntata soundtrack. The soundtrack, by the way, is available separately as an import on the Zuntata Records music label. The extras you ask? They are all there, including the alternate Gackt costume, and the beautifully subtitled video extras. I find that many reviewers are bothered by the rather unique storyline of Bujingai. The game's story doesn't seem all the strange, if you consider that Gackt Camui claims he was born on July 4, 1540, and yes as some have suggested Gackt didn't have a happy childhood. BAM really did a great job of preserving Gackt in all his glory. Don't get me wrong, even without Gackt this is one heck of a beautiful game, but Gackt just makes it all the more beautiful. Having purchased the import version, would I buy BAM's US version? I sure would, since you can never have too much Gackt Camui. Expand
  5. PlixikB.
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    i bought it just because there was gacktage but the game is actually pretty sweet. the camera could use a little work as well as a few other things. 8/10 +1 gackt point.
  6. Kel
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    Two words, Kick ass.
  7. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    If you like Shinobi/Ninja Gaiden/Night Shade/etc, this is the game for you! I'm not a huge fan of Gackt and his presence kind of made the main character seem a bit "off" , however... I REALLY enjoyed the environments and battle system. Pick this up, if you see it somewhere or on amazon/ebay. Its REALLY fun :)

Awards & Rankings

#81 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    As cool as the sword fights and boss battles may be, Bujingai may frustrate you for hours at a time with poorly designed levels that depend too much on jumping puzzles. [July 2004, p.88]
  2. An engaging action game from start to finish that is a blast to play. [JPN Import]
  3. With everything from killer combos, tons of unlockable content, and a mere forty dollar price tag, what's not to love?