Bujingai: The Forsaken City Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Bujingai: Swordmaster") In the 23rd Century, an attempt to develop a new source of energy has gone horribly wrong and 70% of the world's population is instantly wiped out. The survivors learn how to create energy from their own bodies, giving them superhuman abilities. The(Also known as "Bujingai: Swordmaster") In the 23rd Century, an attempt to develop a new source of energy has gone horribly wrong and 70% of the world's population is instantly wiped out. The survivors learn how to create energy from their own bodies, giving them superhuman abilities. The process of harnessing the power of these abilities is simply referred to as "Skill". For 400 years, the survivors transformed these abilities into a new and deadly fighting art. Now at the dawn of a new age, simply called the Age of Skill, mankind is faced with a new threat. A rift into a demon dimension has been opened, unleashing hordes of fiends on an isolated island city in Asia. One warrior, a master of Skill, travels to the city to combat this invasion. Armed with a pair of swords, and an arsenal of magic spells, Lau must combat the demons and try to rescue what's left of the survivors. [BAM! Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. A deceptively cool game in that it hooks you almost immediately with its approachable controls and intuitive building-block combos, not to mention the sheer artistry of the graphics and animation. Then once you are entranced the game gets harder, but by then your skills are more than up for the task.
  2. As cool as the sword fights and boss battles may be, Bujingai may frustrate you for hours at a time with poorly designed levels that depend too much on jumping puzzles. [July 2004, p.88]
  3. 8 / 8 / 7 / 8 - 31 silver [Vol 785]
  4. A good hack and slash title but not a great one. The lack of variety to the game hurts it in the long run.
  5. With everything from killer combos, tons of unlockable content, and a mere forty dollar price tag, what's not to love?
  6. It's all about flamboyance, stylish swordplay against clusters of spawning enemies. Anyone expecting more than the chance to concoct dazzling high-score strategies will find it a flat and empty experience, though. [Mar 2004, p.110]
  7. Even running through a level on the first try is more of a task than an adventure. And neither the gameplay nor the story are enough of an incentive to push through.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. TyroneD.
    May 29, 2005
    10
    Though Bujingai: The Forsaken City did not got get as much hype as it should, I believe that this is a good game. The gameplay is like Devil Though Bujingai: The Forsaken City did not got get as much hype as it should, I believe that this is a good game. The gameplay is like Devil May Cry however; it's it differnt which is a good thing. If you try this game out for yourself you will be amaze on how good this game is. My rating for this game is a 10. Expand
  2. J.M.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    The US version of Bujingai is not so bad... Having played the import and BAM's US version of Bujingai, I can say that the US version The US version of Bujingai is not so bad... Having played the import and BAM's US version of Bujingai, I can say that the US version keeps most all of the Gackt goodness of the import version. The only main difference are the cutscenes are dubbed in English. In my opinion it is virtually impossible to find better voice actors than they have in Japan, but BAM did manage to find some decent voice actors. The decision to dub was one that took much consideration by BAM, who did not want to offend Gackt's US fans. The choice to dub was only made because it was not technically feasible for BAM, to add subtitles and offer dual language audio. Bujingai is a single layer DVD5, and is right at the size maximum. As for the in game sound, all of the Gackt voice samples are intact, along with the rocking Zuntata soundtrack. The soundtrack, by the way, is available separately as an import on the Zuntata Records music label. The extras you ask? They are all there, including the alternate Gackt costume, and the beautifully subtitled video extras. I find that many reviewers are bothered by the rather unique storyline of Bujingai. The game's story doesn't seem all the strange, if you consider that Gackt Camui claims he was born on July 4, 1540, and yes as some have suggested Gackt didn't have a happy childhood. BAM really did a great job of preserving Gackt in all his glory. Don't get me wrong, even without Gackt this is one heck of a beautiful game, but Gackt just makes it all the more beautiful. Having purchased the import version, would I buy BAM's US version? I sure would, since you can never have too much Gackt Camui. Expand
  3. Kel
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    Two words, Kick ass.
  4. PlixikB.
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    i bought it just because there was gacktage but the game is actually pretty sweet. the camera could use a little work as well as a few other i bought it just because there was gacktage but the game is actually pretty sweet. the camera could use a little work as well as a few other things. 8/10 +1 gackt point. Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    If you like Shinobi/Ninja Gaiden/Night Shade/etc, this is the game for you! I'm not a huge fan of Gackt and his presence kind of made the mainIf you like Shinobi/Ninja Gaiden/Night Shade/etc, this is the game for you! I'm not a huge fan of Gackt and his presence kind of made the main character seem a bit "off" , however... I REALLY enjoyed the environments and battle system. Pick this up, if you see it somewhere or on amazon/ebay. Its REALLY fun :) Collapse
  6. AriS.
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    Extremely fast-paced, with an awesome combat and magic system, and great special effects. The levels encourage you to defy gravity, but in Extremely fast-paced, with an awesome combat and magic system, and great special effects. The levels encourage you to defy gravity, but in some cases it's frustrating to be prevented from running up a building by an invisible barrier. The levels are a bit too blocky, but are still well-textured, and usually allow for one or two clever shortcuts. Other than these, I don't have many complaints with the levels. The animation is fantastic, with very well executed motion capture (go Gackt!), and the moves are flashy and fun to perform. I have a bit of a problem with the enemies, some of which (like the undead) can be very easy to defeat, others (like the demon lion) very challenging, but there is very little in the middle ground. Although the overlords are quite a challenge, watching a fight between an overlord and Lau is like watching a high-adrenaline lightsaber battle in Star Wars. I bought the game with a bit of hesitation, but now that I've played for over 10 hours, I am definitely not disappointed. What the game does, it does extremely well. I personally like this game more than Devil May Cry. Although everyone's heard of that game and few have heard of Bujingai, don't let that stop you from trying this highly addicting game. Recommended! Expand
  7. Jun 6, 2013
    6
    Bujingai has great character animation and character design. But thats the best part of the game. The button mashing system is not asBujingai has great character animation and character design. But thats the best part of the game. The button mashing system is not as sophisticated as Devil May Cry. There is not any tit for tat, back and forth with the enemy. The bland levels are comparable to the bland levels in Sega's Shinobi. This game was obviously inspired by Shinobi, but it doesn't have that quaint magic or hardcore feeling. Ground textures look like a mess. Environments really aren't up to 2004 standards. What do you do? The game forces you to monotonously kill extremely lame enemies in order to progress. Thats the gameplay. While that same thing has been in other games, like Shinobi, this one feels forced, boring, and is barely a game. The music and graphics are pretty good. Some people might like this one, but I didn't. If you want a real button masher thats a total classic, get Devil May Cry 3 Special Edition instead. This game is not a classic and its not as fun as it should be. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews