Burnout 2: Point of Impact Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Features six new United States locations, including Miami, Los Angeles, The Rocky Mountains, New Mexico and a busy international airport; thirty new stages and fourteen all-new vehicles; seven secret vehicles to unlock including police cars, 1950's hotrods and stock cars; point-to-point races; all-new points-based championship gameplay structure; new Custom Series Mode that allows you to race modified vehicles complete with body kits and decals; and an intelligent traffic system, featuring three distinct types of driver behaviors. [Acclaim] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. There's no story line, but Burnout 2 is one of those games that's actually better for the lack of it. [28 July 2003, p.82]
  2. 93
    If "Gran Turismo 3" is Dom Perignon, Burnout 2 is Jack Daniels. While Dom may be a great guy, personally I'd rather hang out with Jack.
  3. You won't find a faster racer on PS2, and the control is simply some of the best we've ever encountered. [Dec 2002, p.43]
  4. With slick graphics, fantastic crashes, and strong replayability, Burnout 2 is more then worth a look and strong consideration for 2002’s "Sleeper" of the Year.
  5. If you don’t like Burnout 2 there is seriously something wrong with you.
  6. If the game had more depth or difficulty it would perhaps be the top arcade racer on the PS2--instead it's just a very good, though not great, game.
  7. Quick fun whenever you want it, regardless of skill or time investment.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. KyleK.
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    One of the best racing games i've played yet. Great graphics, great cars, could have been more. Also one excellent feature in the game is crashing. WICKED Expand
  2. A.K.
    Oct 11, 2002
    10
    Awesome!
  3. DanB.
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    This racer is one of the only ones so far to make me flinch while near misses occur, must be the constant 60 fps! Great game.
  4. ZiggyStardust
    Oct 20, 2002
    9
    Burnout 2 is an ultra intense arcade racer. You get to weave through traffic at ridiculous speeds, and are rewarded with boost for barely missing other cars, driving on the wrong side of the road, air time, and power slides. In other words you're rewarded for crazy, aggressive driving. Although the racing genera is a little overdone, especially on the ps2, Burnout 2 offers something others don't. Amazing crashes! One wrong move at 200 mph, and you and your car may be doing summersaults off a cliff. At these types of speeds, crashes are frequently crazy and exhilerating. Two minor complains I have about Burnout 2: Firstly, you can't save your replays. I've had several crashes that I wish I could relive. Instead they're lost forever. Secondly, while the graphics really are good (especially the lighting), there is some ps2 jaggies evident. It is like Virtua Fighter 4 in that way (as in great graphics, but some jaggies). In closing, Burnout 2 is the most fun I've had with a racing game in ages. It's intensity, and crashes are something no other ps2 racer currently has. It's definately worth a purchase, especially if you like racers in general. Expand
  5. ZachF.
    Apr 9, 2003
    9
    This is a kick azz game! The cars are hott and the graphics.If you like fast cars, this is the game for you.
  6. Feb 24, 2011
    8
    This game is pretty good. The graphics were amazing for a 2002 release and the game play was pretty exciting as well. One of my personal favorites was the police mode; this kept me wanting to play this game for hours on end while not getting bored with it. There are some issues I have with it however. One thing is the lack of a story line, I know that its not a big part of the burnout series, but it would have been nice to see one. Another is the lack of cars; it would have been good to add just a little more to the lineup. Expand
  7. JaredC.
    Aug 28, 2007
    0
    It is so much more than the first, at least its an actual game, but logically why would you enjoy a sequel when the first is terrible. Logically it makes sense why not to badly critisize and not respet Burnout 2. Collapse

See all 29 User Reviews