Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 94
    Offers up insane speed, unequaled crash sequences, and a truly new style of gameplay. It has reinvented the wheel, so to speak....Burnout 3 is astonishing.
  2. Even if driving games aren't normally your thing, Burnout 3 is still right for you. It's that good. It ranks among the best racing games ever made...An amazing achievement that anyone with a pulse will probably love.
  3. Great graphics and jaw-dropping speed, and includes impeccable interactive crash sequences that you won’t find in any other game.
  4. I absolutely hate the music which is a mix of cheap-sounding alternative and punk.
  5. With incredibly realistic damage modelling transforming every crash into a work of art fit to be framed and hung on the walls of Paris' Louvre museum, Burnout 3 is a visual dynamo that will floor players with its speed and gorgeous vistas. [Oct 2004, p.122]
  6. 100
    The new king of arcade racers. Think about everything that was brilliant about its predecessors -- the whimsical take on the laws of physics, the gorgeous graphics, and the completely insane emphasis on crashing -- and multiply it by ten thousand.
  7. 90
    To say that this game is "fast" is an understatement - it absolutely blazes, so much so that blinking becomes a liability. [Nov 2004, p.96]
  8. It feels good to turn something as hopeless as a wreck into something at least slightly useful. I’m surprised other racing games haven’t tried to employ something like this before!
  9. Damn near flawless in almost every way shape and form. Brilliant visuals, ear pleasing audio, highly addictive game play, and enough modes and tracks to keep you busy for months on end.
  10. 90
    The Takedown system is what makes the already pretty good Burnout series amazing... Burnout 3 delivers the purest hit of awesome so far this year.
  11. A wild, edge of your seat, white knuckle ride that fulfills any speed freak’s cravings. What’s more, it’s also one of the best games that’s been released this entire year.
  12. 100
    Don’t buy this one and you’re probably passing up the most fun you’re going to have on your PS2 this season.
  13. 100
    I have rarely, if ever, found a driving game that made my adrenaline pump, caused me to break out in a cold sweat and had me swearing violently at the screen while still gagging for more of the same - until now.
  14. It still possesses the series’ trademark ability to deliver Tempest-like ‘in the zone’ moments of remarkable intensity unlike any of its contemporaries, but now comes with a confidently revised dynamic, marking this as Criterion Games’ finest hour. [Oct 2004, p.100]
  15. 100
    Burnout 3 is special. It's not just another racing game, and despite lacking certain features car enthusiasts hold dear (such as customisation and ultra realism) it's easily the most fun we've ever had with any racing game. [Oct 2004, p.96]
  16. The speed is staggering, and the smashes spectacular...Burnout 3 blows the doors off its predecessors with bliteringly fast online play, a massive single-player mode lousy with unlockables, and all the right gameplay tweaks. [Oct 2004, p.100]
  17. The type of game that appeals to the very basic of collective human subconscious. It isn't just a game, it fulfills a very basic need – the need to destroy – in the same way that we need food and water.
  18. An eye-opening, awe-inspiring psychotic arcade racer with addictive, high-energy and often hysterical gameplay. EA and Criterion really hit it out of the parking lot with this one.
  19. This game takes the tried and true racing game formula and refreshes it with a system that rewards you for bad driving and poor sportsmanship. You can drive into oncoming traffic, cause accidents on purpose, and mess with anything that tries to get in your way.
  20. Burnout 3 is as pure a gaming experience as we have had the pleasure of kneeling before for longer than we can remember and we've been doing this for a long time.
  21. What is so amazing about Burnout 3 is not so much its excellent modes but instead its amazing gameplay.
  22. If you don't like Burnout 3: Takedown, there's something wrong with you...It has completely spoiled me, making it near impossible to enjoy other games in the genre. [Oct 2004, p.102]
  23. Every aspect comes together to create a gaming experience that is one of the most polished and perfected we’ve ever seen, regardless of genre – you simply need Burnout 3: Takedown now.
  24. A masterpiece that every racing game fan must own. [Nov 2004, p.80]
  25. We’ve been driving computerised cars around virtual racetracks for years now, but in Burnout 3 you do it so fast, and the enjoyment from going so fast comes so easily, that playing another racer is going to feel like driving a bus after taking a spin in a Ferrari.
  26. May very well go down in the books as the finest arcade racing game of all time, and one of the best titles the racing genre has ever seen.
  27. At the end of the day, Burnout 3 is a little too simplified for our tastes.
  28. This game does for the arcade racing genre what "Rallisport Challenge 2" does for the rally section. It's just that good.
  29. Everything it does, it does with aplomb, from kicking out graphics that just should'nt exist in this generation -- let alone on the PS2 -- to delivering a sense of speed, yet offering controls that allow you to keep up with the increasingly brilliant level design, to offering an suite of online modes that will make you fall to your knees in thanks of broadband. This is the very definition of a must-have game.
  30. The track designs are really what make this game worth playing. It reminds me of "Rush 2049" on crack with little details such as close calls and drifting that make the game a joy to watch.
  31. 88
    If your first Takedown doesn't get your blood pumping, then find a job as a bomb squad technician or try and get a spot on the Olympic Air Rifle team, because apparently nothing affects you.
  32. A strong candidate for the coveted Game of the Year award, Burnout 3: Takedown is one of the best arcade racing games to come out in years.
  33. The only missteps are a super class of cars that are almost too fast for the courses, an abundance of loading screens, and a mostly terrible soundtrack--the latter two problems solved by the Xbox version. [Oct 2004, p.111]
  34. 91
    The most intense online racing experience? You'd better believe it.
  35. The most exciting and terrifying arcade racer in a good long while. The insane sense of speed, incredible depth, and constant feeling of accomplishment via unlocking stuff every time you turn around really adds to the addictive quality of Burnout 3: Takedown.
  36. Single-player alone is so magnetic you'll be constantly drawn back. However, all the rewards, plus the technical feat of 2-8 player online really opens it up for endless replay value.
  37. The game’s controls are simplistic and some of the tightest out there.
  38. The focus on opponent "takedowns" was a smart, natural evolution for the series. The gorgeous environments and detailed cars whiz past at amazing velocity, and the fender-bending carnage is spectacular.
  39. Even without the car crashes, Burnout 3: Takedown would have been a superb arcade-style racing game. But the incredible vehicular carnage makes it a thing of profound destructive beauty.
  40. It's a game that combines gut-churning speed and beyond-recognition wreckage to make road kill out of all others in the driving genre.
  41. 95
    Criterion's Render ware engine is hardcore, with a draw distance which is jaw dropping. The frame rate in the game stays solid through out and provides a brilliant feeling of speed you can’t get in any other game.
  42. 100
    You should buy it even if driving games rank somewhere between stepping on Legos barefoot and Saddam on your list of dislikes.
  43. Takedown is nearly flawless, with crisp graphics, a rousing punk-rock soundtrack and smart level design that keeps you on the edge of your seat. It is not just the best driving game I have ever played, but one of the best games of any genre this year.
  44. Without a shadow of a doubt the best in the series and arguably the best arcade racer in history.
  45. The combo of racing and combat is brilliantly addictive. [17 Sept 2004, p.25]
  46. 94
    Burnout 3 will remind you why you started playing games – not because of the competition, or to enter into some fifty hour experience grinding session online, but because of an experience that constitutes such pure fun that it’s impossible to stop a grin breaking out on your face.
  47. 94
    Perhaps one of the most enjoyable racing games we’ve ever been given the chance to play, mainly owing to the immense rush you get from the sheer velocity of game play.
  48. Put simply, this is one of the best racing games of all time.
  49. The speed of the game is incredible and as the roads and lights blur past you, it feels more like you're flying in the Millennium Falcon than some street machine dodging through traffic.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 81
  2. Negative: 1 out of 81
  1. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    The best racing game that i have played. Many game mode, battle in the road, overtop graphics for PS2 games, excellent cars and many more. The success product made by criterion games. Full Review »
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This was the first game I got with my PS2, and one of the best I ever played on it. When I started playing this game, I didn't have a memory card yet.. but that didn't matter because along with a few buddies I could play this game the whole day (over 100 races, 3 people, the loser gives up the controller) with only the three starting cars available and a single map to race on. Treat this as an indication on how fun the game was (splitscreen road rage rox). The solo campaign was amazing as well providing challenge and various racing/crash modes (for example: normal race, time attack, road rage where you have to destroy your opponents by crushing them into walls/trafic...). Although I currently have a PS3, sometimes I still go back to play this game a little. Oh.. and I don't even really like racing games...

    Technically, from a PS2 perspective this game has great graphics, which do NOT fail (especially in single player mode) to give the sense of speed which makes this game such a joy to play. The graphics are accompanied by a fitting soundtrack, which makes you want to go faster and faster. One thing to remember this is an arcade style game, so don't expect any realism in driving your car.

    The only thing that bothered my in this game was the loading times and the enemy AI (thankfully only a little bit).

    So to conclude in my opinion this game is a "must have" for PS2 owners.
    Full Review »
  3. May 16, 2012
    10
    I love this game. Probably the best PS2 game ever. I love all the races there, and the cars. Probably the best game for your games collection! The graphics are great, gameplay is legendary and a very fun game! Full Review »