Burnout Dominator PlayStation 2

Burnout Dominator Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Burnout Dominator is the next installment in the legendary Burnout series, loaded with intense racing action and dozens of retina-searing World Tour events. Burnout Dominator challenges gamers to face off against a series of hot-blooded rivals in brutal tests of aggressive driving techniquesBurnout Dominator is the next installment in the legendary Burnout series, loaded with intense racing action and dozens of retina-searing World Tour events. Burnout Dominator challenges gamers to face off against a series of hot-blooded rivals in brutal tests of aggressive driving techniques where performing burnouts gives you the advantage and multiplies your score potential. For the ultimate nerve-wracking experience, Burnout Dominator takes you to the very edge of control, punishing the smallest mistakes and rewarding drivers for taking outrageous risks. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. So fun, that you'll find yourself addicted in no time. The controls are simple, but the gameplay is complex and delightful to play. And the killer soundtrack just adds bounty to the beautiful.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    85
    May be almost too fast and furious for an arcade racing game. Although not an essential addition to the Burnout saga, Burnout Dominator definitely has its moments. Online play is sorely missed. [Apr 2007]
  3. An extension of all the things that made Burnout 3 a success (soundtrack and multiplayer excluded). The steering and speed boost mechanics, course design, and unrivaled thrill-factor come together for another addictive and surreal racing game.
  4. A fun and addicting arcade -racing game that fans of the series will enjoy, it’s just missing some key features that would make it a one of the series’ best, for that we’ll have to wait for the true sequel later this year.
  5. For $50, players deserve more than a badly-programmed mish-mash of the Burnout series. It’s easily the weakest console entry in the series yet.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    70
    It's a patchwork of old and new in which the passion only flickes. [May 2007, p.106]
  7. Hardcore Gamer
    45
    It doesn't matter how good the rest of a game is, though, if the controls betray you just when you need them most. [May 2007, p.55]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. JaredC.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    From Burnout to Burnout 2, from Burnout 2 to Burnout Revenge, from Burnout Revenge to nothing. Burnout Dominator, its no sequel, its a single From Burnout to Burnout 2, from Burnout 2 to Burnout Revenge, from Burnout Revenge to nothing. Burnout Dominator, its no sequel, its a single swashbuckling thrill of an adventure, tricky, witty, entertaining, renewed style of the worse. Its a game that the PS2 will enchant. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    I actually liked Burnout Dominator for the PS2 better than Burnout 3: Takedown. This is coming from a guy who beat both games getting gold inI actually liked Burnout Dominator for the PS2 better than Burnout 3: Takedown. This is coming from a guy who beat both games getting gold in every single event.

    Why I give Dominator my pick as favorite is because of it's new mode (the name skips my head since i beat it 3 years ago, could even be called "dominator" haha) where if good you can remain in boost an entire race. Nothing was more fun for me than mastering a track, and avoiding obstacles at high boost speeds, though yes there were many moments where I felt like throwing the controller at the TV.
    Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    INCREDIBLE! SO AWESOME that did and will always be part of my childhood! EPIC I thought those graphics, and when I was speeding, and gainedINCREDIBLE! SO AWESOME that did and will always be part of my childhood! EPIC I thought those graphics, and when I was speeding, and gained more and more Nitro Boost and the race. And when you hit on something?? I kept BEAT IN EVERY THING I was CRAZY WITH THAT REALISM OF DAMAGE!! Simply, I think, that car crash is MUCH MORE REALISTIC than GTA IV! Yes, I think much more realistic than GTA IV!! Nothing more to say Expand
  4. Andyman
    Mar 8, 2007
    7
    The 360 version of Revenge has spoiled me forever. What's the deal with not being able to check traffic in Dominator? A very rude The 360 version of Revenge has spoiled me forever. What's the deal with not being able to check traffic in Dominator? A very rude surprise indeed, the first time I tried a traffic-check takedown. Dominator will probably be welcomed by those without a next-gen console, but everyone else should wait for Burnout 5. Collapse
  5. Mar 14, 2015
    6
    This is more of the same game. I feel like the controls or cars were simplified for the PSP although it may not be true. Burnout 3:Take DownThis is more of the same game. I feel like the controls or cars were simplified for the PSP although it may not be true. Burnout 3:Take Down is a better game with better graphics (because its PS2). There are times when I can't really say a game has something wrong with it, but I can't outright recommend it either. The first level has a lot of un-skippable cut scenes and interrupting dialogue boxes. I'd rather play this series on a big TV than on PSP. The presentation of the game doesn't make it feel much different. Expand
  6. NathanJ.
    Feb 24, 2008
    5
    This game brings a lot of the fun you usually expect from a member of the Burnout series, but is seriously lacking in a lot of respects. My This game brings a lot of the fun you usually expect from a member of the Burnout series, but is seriously lacking in a lot of respects. My main gripe is with the learning curve, which is fine for the first half of the main mode. Unfortunately towards the end of the game the challenges get terribly frustrating. It feels like because they only got round to producing 5/6 tracks they had to stretch the game out by giving incredibly difficult challenges. Expand
  7. May 27, 2016
    0
    I throught Burnout 3 is worst Burnout, but I was wrong . Now I think Burnout Dominator is worst Burnout . Terrible Graphics for 2007, physicsI throught Burnout 3 is worst Burnout, but I was wrong . Now I think Burnout Dominator is worst Burnout . Terrible Graphics for 2007, physics is **** and only good Burnout Games is Burnout Legends and Paradise, others Burnout Games are **** . I hope I don't see Burnout worse . Burnout Dominator is very terrible on PS2, on PSP BD is betterthan on PS2 because screen on PSP is smaller and difficult discarn terrible graphics and physics . Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#23 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2007
#9 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2007